Edgardo Rafael Baez’s Reviews

Edgardo Rafael Baez

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Law Firm Practices

    Posted by Ada, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo 1-6 months ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm sure he's a very nice man, but he does not respond to emails or phone calls. I have been trying to contact him for weeks because one of his lawyers, Kimberly Q-Smith, owes me at least $500. Since his name is the one on the law firm entrance, he should take an interest in his attorney and take responsibility for her unprofessional and questionable tactics. Not doing that only encourages such behavior.

  2. I am no longer homeless thanks to Mr. Baez

    Posted by Brent Richardson, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo 1-3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Personal Injury matter.

    My daughter and I were homeless after a car accident. We were living in a shelter. After Mr. Baez and his lawyers took my case, and settled it, I am now able to put a roof over our heads and have food in the table. Thanks to The Baez Law Firm's legal team for a fast and great results. Mr. Baez, I am a current client and I am forever thankful for your law firm, your attorneys, and your legal team. Thanks from the bottom of my heart.

  3. A great attorney with a great heart

    Posted by Roberto Alvarez, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo 1-3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Personal Injury matter.

    I say that Mr. Baez has a great heart because his law firm handled a personal injury case for me and a criminal case for my son, both with great success. Because we chose his law firm, he did not charge me a dime for either one of them. Once the personal injury case settled, I was able to pay them in full. No other lawyer would do that for my family. When I needed someone to help me, Edgardo Baez was there for me and mines. Thanks from the bottom of my heart!

  4. Best Lawyers in the business of Personal Injury

    Posted by Michael Scott, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo 1-3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Personal Injury matter.

    After other lawyers had my case, The Baez Law Firm took my case and settled it within months. We did not have to go to trial because Mr. Baez put pressure on the insurance company. Mr. Baez, thanks for assembling such a wonderful team of professionals.

  5. Please Read Before Hiring

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo 1-3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Family matter.

    The Baez Law Firm was a disappointment. Please note that my intent is not to defame anyone. My goal is to simply use my rights as a consumer to warn people. Ultimately you need to decide who will be the best fit for you and your situation.
    In my opinion the Baez Law Firm is all about your money and the retainer.
    I called the Baez Law Firm to determine if they would be a good fit for me. I was given the opportunity to speak with Mr. Baez. He said he would call opposing counsel and assured his firm takes care of Service members (it appears this phone call never took place). Mr. Baez served in the US Army which made me trust in him. In my opinion, I assumed incorrectly – it appears he only used that piece of information to get a contract.
    I lost out on thousands of dollars in items because the Baez Law Firm sent me the wrong list of requested items from opposing counsel for my telephonic mediation. I had to keep asking for the list of items. If you hire the Baez Law Firm, be ready to make/send numerous follow up calls and emails. Just be aware that you WILL be billed for those attempts to get what is rightfully yours. Following mediation, my calls were not returned by an attorney until I stated my intent to file a grievance with the State Bar of Texas. Mr. Ellis called almost immediately thereafter.
    Following my mediation I was sent on temporary duty outside the US. When I returned I received an email stating I owed money to the Baez Law Firm. They threatened to notify my supervisor of my delinquent account after a few days of being notified. I was overseas with no communication and was told they made ‘numerous’ attempts to contact me. It is in my experience that the Baez Law Firm WILL notify your supervisor or manager before working with you or making direct contact with you. This is an important point. Prior to hiring the Baez Law Firm, I asked that this be handled as a civil matter and specifically asked for them not to contact my work center. After all, divorce in the military is a civil matter and I requested it stay that way. For that reason I was shocked when the Baez Law Firm strongly mentioned the intent to call my leadership...which they eventually did anyway.
    I had to request my final file numerous times. When I finally received it the Baez Law Firm made major mistakes on the address. If it weren’t for our professional USPS workers, I most likely would have never received the file. My perception is the Baez Law Firm wanted to lose my file because I’m looking into filing a grievance through the State Bar of Texas. If you feel you have been a victim of the Baez Law Firm or any Firm – rest assured you have rights.
    When I contacted the Firm to dispute my balance and share my intent to file a grievance, Mr. Baez made me an offer that would forfeit the fee. The offer would be contingent on my never contacting his staff. If I complied, he would cease collection efforts and would not contact my commanding officer. It was also based on no outside sources contacting the Firm regarding my case. Basically, if I don’t file a grievance against his attorney (Mr. Ellis) he would forfeit the balance owed.
    My response to Mr. Baez was refund the cost of my lost items due to the Firm’s major mistake and lack of representation and I would consider his offer. He revoked the offer. Note: I immediately paid the fee.
    Lastly, I received a ‘thank you’ letter from Mr. Baez. Unfortunately for other clients, their letters were included in my envelope. Their names and address along with draft letters that appeared to be ‘signed’ by Mr. Baez were also in the envelope. I immediately emailed Mr. Baez about the mistake so they could notify their clients of the error. My question is why does a prominent attorney sign ‘draft’ letters? It appeared that some of the signatures didn’t’ match up.

  6. I was honored to have Mr. Baez represent me and my family!

    Posted by Erick, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo more than 3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was a difficult medical malpractice case that other lawyers would not touch. I read about Mr. Baez been a super lawyers, so I wanted to meet him. I did! Mr. Baez explained to me the difficulties of the case but we proceeded to file the lawsuit. The insurance company tried to pull a fast one over us, but ultimately, we won. My family now can move on with our lives. Thank you Senor Baez for your care and concern. But most of all, thank you for doing what you do for the community.

  7. Top lawyer indeed!!

    Posted by LouisPhelps, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo more than 3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first came to meet with Mr. Baez at his law firm, I was impressed by his professionalism and knowledge. I retained the law firm and I was always informed of the status of my case. My case was a difficult one that had many facets to it. We won the trial and now, I am able to move on with my life. Thanks for your efforts Edgardo! You, and your team really minimized my legal worries.

  8. Awesome legal representation

    Posted by David, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo 1-3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    During one of my visits to San Antonio, I was a victim of police excessive force. I search for months for a competent lawyer and finally I was referred to Mr. Baez. I arranged a meeting and from the moment that we met, I new he was the right attorney. I searched his accolades and found out that he is considered an expert in this area by other attorneys. When it was time to go to court, his opponents feared him. The jury loved him, and they saw the injustices of the police department. Thank you Mr. Baez for fighting for me.

  9. Wonderful Lawyers that get results!!

    Posted by Richard, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo more than 3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Baez has assembled a great legal team. We were preparing for months for our tial and we won! Mr. Baez cross examination of their main witness was superb. Thank you for all that you do for our community Mr. Baez.

  10. Super Lawyer indeed!

    Posted by Brian, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Edgardo Baez.
    • I hired Edgardo more than 3 years ago.
    • Edgardo handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had another attorney before hiring Mr. Baez and his lawyers. Mr. Baez could not talk to me since I was represented. I decided to fire my former lawyer and hire his law firm. First he said we have a tough case, but here is what we are going to do. He prepared me. We had a mock trial at his law firm. I was prepared for my trial. I won! Not only is the law firm beautiful, the staff members are awesome and the lawyers are great. Mr. Baez has assembled a great team of lawyers. Thank you Mr. Baez you were worth every penny.