Deanna Lynn Whitley’s Reviews

Deanna Lynn Whitley

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Blessing to My Family

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Ms. Whitley to handle an ongoing (8 years) custody battle with my son's paternal grandmother. My case was so confused and complicated that I thought there was no way to correct it; however, Ms. Whitley stepped in and we got a final order that my family can live with. Ms. Whitley is a very strong and knowledgable attorney. I have recommended her to others already! I feel blessed to have found her.

  2. Answer to my Prayer!

    Posted by Deborah, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 6-12 months ago.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was on the verge of giving up and giving in to my abusive ex's demands....until I met with Deanna and her team. She is strong, encouraging, and most of all gives you hope when you are hopeless. I could never have imagined how quickly things would change after she took over my case. I really have no words to express my gratitude, but I am forever grateful. And to those out there at their wits end----CALL HER NOW. You will not regret it!

  3. compassion, deeply concerned excellent legal skills with a carrying legal staff.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 6-12 months ago.
    • Deanna handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I want to whole heartily endorse Deanna Whitley and her whole legal team. I came to Deanna with a desperate need to legally change my name and gender. I have a career that I have devoted more than 30 years to and after medically changing my gender I was in a difficult place legally. I was a woman with a male identity. Deanna's team assured me and encouraged me right from the start. It was so much more than just a legal representation, it was Deanna and her whole staff immediately embracing my delima and setting a legal strategy, advise and to correct my problem. Every person I spoke with at the law firm was deeply concerned and actively involved in presenting my case as soon as possible. The compassion, care and kindness combined with the excellent legal skills resulted in my problem being resolved in a very timely manner

  4. Grandparents win custody of grandchildren

    Posted by Veronica, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 6-12 months ago.
    • Deanna handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My experience in the past with attorneys left me believing they were not trustworthy and a waste of money. When I met Deanna I quickly changed my attitude. She met with me on a Sunday because I had less than 2 weeks to appear in court to battle out with my granddaughter's father for custody. We lost that day in court the judge ruled against me but Deanna didn't give up. She fought to the end and I didn't lose custody of my granddaughter. As anyone knows it is very hard for grandparents to fight for custody of their grandchildren but Deanna was very knowledgeable in this field and I would highly recommend her to anybody for any family legal issues.

  5. Not just another attorney...

    Posted by Ann, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    The day I met Deanna and her team changed my life. I was broken inside, frustrated with my previous attorney and wondering if I would ever have peace in my life again. Within 15 minutes of that initial meeting I knew that I had walked through the right door for the first time in a very long time. I left her office with a confidence I had never had before. She wanted to not only help me but ensure that my children were safe as well. We became family that day as that is how I see Deanna and her team. This was 10 months ago. She listened to my concerns and spelled things out that I really needed to understand while handling the legal side with great efficiency. She held my hand in the courtroom reassuring me that it would all be over soon. Each time the bat was swung at us, she held us strong and we took each blow in stride never letting me or my children down for a second. She and her team took me through this process and today I am a strong, confident, whole person again. Deanna is the cushion still today between myself and the abusive ex. I have no doubt that she will be by my side no matter what. Her knowledge of the law goes above and beyond but her heart is what makes this journey. Having her and her team backing me and my children I know without a doubt we will always be safe. Not only her but her team were outstanding and their ability to laugh and lighten the situation even just a bit was awesome. I will never forget the way I was treated and cared for nor will I ever be able to repay them with any amount of money. What they do is not just a job but their way of life. Thank you team Whitley for showing me there are still great people out there and for teaching me once again that I am one of them and I deserve to be!

  6. .Awesome attorney and knowledgeable staff

    Posted by Tanya, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I asked Mrs. WHITLEY to represent our family after one of her junior colleagues did not fair too well. Immediately, she jumped in and really took care of our immediate needs. Ms. Whitley is caring, attentive and personable. She really practices law the way it should be done-by caring about HER client and their interest.
    Her staff is the best, they are diligent, loyal, attentive and respectful. I would recommend Mrs. Whitley to anyone.
    In my younger days, I worked for two of the best attorney's in San Antonio, one is now a judge and the other retired, in my opinion Deanna is right up there with them when it comes to practicing law.

  7. Domestic Violence Issues

    Posted by Kevin, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna more than 3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When the situation was out of control and I had nowhere to turn I found Mrs. Whitley on the internet. The legal system is very difficult and cumbersome but this lawyer was able to help me navigate my family to a sensible outcome.

  8. Smart, Strategic and Realistic Attorney!

    Posted by CRYSTAL CHACON, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I stumbled across the Vance and Whitley law firm through a google search of "best divorce attorneys in San Antonio." Vance and Whitley was the first firm in my search results but I called a few others to compare before choosing Vance and Whitley. From the beginning I felt like they listened to my concerns and gave me realistic advice, no sales pitch. I had some main concerns that other attorneys seemed to think were unrealistic, however when I spoke with Cait (one of the paralegals) she validated my concerns and gave me solid legal grounds to base my concerns on. My biggest concern was custody of our child. Deanna Whitley took my case. She listened to my concerns and developed a plan and a strategy that would yield the best outcome. She also discussed all other possible outcomes with me and made sure any compromises on the issues of the divorce did not negatively effect the custody arrangement that I was most concerned with. The retainer fee and billing were explained to me in great detail which I appreciated as this was my first divorce/custody case. I never had any billing issues and knew exactly what was going on with the financial aspects of my account. I was well informed and felt like I was a priority. The case was finalized with an outcome that is better than I could have expected. Deanna also took the time to explain the final decree to me, along with my rights/responsibilities and how the language used protected my child and myself in the future. I would highly recommend Deanna Whitley as I have had a wonderful experience with her as well as her amazing paralegal staff.

  9. Genius and Attentive representation. My life changed the moment I made contact with her firm.

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My experience was life changing once I fired my old lawyer and hired Deanna and her trusty (and tough) assistant Cait. I can't say the fear from my estranged and abusive husband went away but I knew I had a smart, effective and attentive lawyer that was going to work hard for me and my baby to keep me safe. On January 29th my divorce was finalized with sole management of my baby. The relief is unexplainable. Retaining Deanna enabled me to re-gain control of my life and look beyond the immediate. Her assistant Cait is wonderful; she was always there for me 24/7. I could count on her. She always gave me the right advice. I am grateful for their hard work and dedication to my case. I could tell that they understood exactly how important this case was for my safety as well as the safety of my child. I trusted Deanna and Cait and they came through for me when I needed it most. Deanna is an excellent lawyer and wonderful person. I would recommend her to anybody I know who needs an excellent and effective lawyer in the San Antonio area.

  10. Excellent!!!

    Posted by JC, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Deanna Whitley.
    • I hired Deanna 1-3 years ago.
    • Deanna handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My case was a complete nightmare, starting off more like a criminal defense case than a family case. I walked into Deanna's office with two police reports from false allegations of child abuse made by my ex-wife, who had made terrible allegations about me, and then had taken all three of our children and fled the state. My ex-wife had successfully alienated my oldest child from me and used the child to make allegations against me in an attempt to gain an advantage in court. As a member of the military with conservative beliefs I was an easy target. Deanna didn't know me from any other person off the street, but she trusted me and took my case. Over the course of about 15 months, my ex-wife's tactics and lies were exposed. Deanna is an absolute wizard! She truly works magic both in and out of the courtroom. She always knows what to do, and she will be honest with you about what to expect. From the beginning she was up front and told me that the outcome of the case would be based on the facts, and sometimes the facts can be hard to obtain. If I wanted to make a poor decision, she would be tactful and explain why a different strategy would work better. And always, ALWAYS Deanna and her staff had the best interests of the children in mind as the eventual goal. The end result? The three children were separated (the oldest child was too far enmeshed with my ex-wife), and I was awarded custody of the younger two and the marital home. Without Deanna, I would have lost my job, the home, the children, and would probably be in jail because of false allegations. (how do you prove that you did NOT do something?) After reading the negative reviews below, listen: when your children's welfare is at stake you can't get into the race with a Pinto and expect to get the results you need for your family...you must have the attorney equivalent of a Ferrari. You want a world-class attorney like Deanna. Over the past year, with her guidance, I have learned how to deal with an unreasonable ex, how to discern between important life events and what only seems important at the time, and how to protect myself from being taken advantage of again. She has the strategic and tactical expertise that will let you sleep at night knowing you did the absolute best you could for what matters most: your children. You will not regret retaining Deanna and the firm of Vance & Whitley.

210-679-2610