John Thomas Floyd III’s Reviews

John Thomas Floyd III

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. CASE DISMISSED!

    Posted by Rachele, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was charged with unlawful carry of a weapon, a class A misdemeanor, and was looking at potentially losing my credentials from the State. Needless to say, I was so nervous that this would devastate my career. I've never needed to work with an attorney before and I had no idea where to turn. I found Mr. Floyd's firm on this site and decided to hire them after having a meeting with Mr. Floyd for a consultation to discuss the logistics of my case. Thankfully, Mr. Floyd and his team took the time to assess my case, guide me, and reassure me every step of the way. They represented me to the full extent of their abilities; I even heard Chris arguing on my behalf, something that I would not have been able to do if I had attempted to represent myself. My case was dismissed after only 3 months thanks to this amazing team. I would absolutely recommend this firm and will hire them again if ever needed.

  2. A LAWYER WHO TOOK THAT OATH--HONORS IT WITH ALL HE HAS...HE REALLY DOES WORK FOR YOU!!!

    Posted by Iliana, a Civil Rights client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Civil Rights matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ive known John as an attorney for at least 3 years, and ever since that time, I have consulted with John for everything I need. He has handled civil rights issues for me, has handled a family law case for me, has advised me on many issues in both my personal and business life. I can tell you that he is not just an attorney, he is someone who really cares and will always advise you of what is in your better interest. I dont beleive that John does this job primarily for the money, I beleive that he does this because he does wish to see justice served, his clients protected but most importantly, to become your attorney for anything and everything that may come to way in your journey of life. I would send everyone I know to consult with John first, as he gives good advice and is very reasonable with his fees. Thanks a million John!!!!! No amount of money could ever be enough to compensate what all you have done for me, my friends and my family. Too bad I could only choose one type of case that this lawyer handles....wish there was an option to pick....anything or everything I needed...

  3. Saved my life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was facing charges for an extremely serious felony. The worst possible thing a person can be falsely accused of. Even worse, the charges were filed in just about the harshest county in the United States : Harris County. Conviction statistics showed my chances were dismal. Well, John and his partner Chris reassured me that they could win this. They secured evidence to clear my name, and went to the district attorney with it. They were able to get a NO BILL, ending the matter and saving my life. It was all over with in a few months. I never had to go to trial. They even gave me warning and helped me get a no arrest bond so I spent under 20 minutes in custody w/o cuffs.

  4. Excellent

    Posted by Tom, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Floyd represented me on a serious charge of sexually assaulting a child 10 years ago. The allegations were lies, but I was scared having to prove my innocence. My case was dismissed after several months of going to court. I was glad I had Mr. Floyd as my lawyer. The prosecutor tried to bluff us several times during the process but Mr. Floyd kept asserting my case. I am so relieved

  5. Got us an Acquittal!

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John Floyd and his team represented our family member accused of indecency with a minor. The experience was horrifying but John and his colleagues guided us, informed us, kept us calm and brought home the win for us. He was extremely thorough in his research on our behalf. His style is the antithesis of a pit bull. He doesn't hammer witnesses; he lets them lie then gets out of the way to make sure the jury hears. We hope we never see John again except at birthday parties! We wouldn't hesitate a minute to recommend him to others who are falsely accused.

  6. I felt very safe working with John during my ordeal.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged with a serious felony due to an allegation from a minor. I had never dealt with the criminal justice system before so this was something new to me. I was scared and the next year and 4 months of my life were hell! John and Chris were there for me, they comforted me, answered my questions and gave me a shoulder to lean on during these tough times.

    John and Chris kept in contact via emails and phone conversations and I frequented their office when needed. I know I took up more of their time than most clients do and I was so thankful that they never gave me a cold shoulder or treated me as a "time sucker".

    I wanted a lawyer who was tough, confident, competent etc. etc. but in hindsight I am so glad John was not only all of those things but he was someone I could trust and talk to during this time of need.

    If you are looking for a lawyer, I can recommend John Floyd and Chris Carlson. I feel confident they will give you the same treatment as they did me....and trust me, during times like this you want someone you can trust and talk to. I never felt that they just wanted my money like the preconceived notion of lawyers I had in my head before meeting them.

    After a LONG 1 year and 4 months and a very stressful and emotional trial, I was given a no guilty verdict.

    My advice to anyone being charged with a criminal felony.....talk to no one and hire John Floyd immediately.

  7. John T Floyd Law firm representation in my Criminal Misdemeanor Class A case

    Posted by Rizwan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. John Floyd and Mr. Chris Carlson are extremely professional and ethical. All I have is praises for them. From day one when I spoke with Mr. Floyd and then met with him and Mr Carlson, I felt very comfortable as they exuded not only confidence, but also set me at ease. They communicated and explained every step of the process we were going through. I had met with about four other attorneys, but decided to go with Mr. John Floyd and his team. Thank you very much John and Chris for not only for your support, but believing in me and taking my case. God Blees you both and may you continue to be successful and may your practice grow and give you more opportunities to help other people like me.

  8. John T. Floyd is without a doubt the best criminal defense attorney in Texas.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The John T. Floyd law firm is AWESOME!! They are very knowledgeable and compassionate. I am facing some serious charges brought forth by a psychotic Harris County DA. I have already had two trials and both times the John T. Floyd law firm kicked butt (NOT GUILTY)! Mr. Floyd is the best... period!

  9. Anti Terrorism / National Security Federal Defense

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I first visited John T Floyd over a decade ago in his Houston, TX office located in the heart of downtown when I was wrongfully suspected of being a threat to national security. Ever since then I've met with and retained a number of other state and federal lawyers in the state of Texas related to an ongoing national security investigation. If you take your freedom and your life and the lives of your loved ones seriously, then you need to stop wasting time and immediately contact Mr. Floyd. Mr. Floyd is a top notch criminal defense attorney with strong communication skills and experience in a range of state and federal areas.
    Although I did not retain Mr Floyd when I first met him ten years ago due to what I thought at the time to be high costs, I ended up coming back to him a decade later. In the end I've realized that my life is more important that the money and I realized there was no one better qualified and sincere than Mr. Floyd. I've also realized that its not worth trying to cut corners or save money when it comes to your freedom and life. Going to a qualified attorney from the get go is the smartest choice anyone can make.
    The events of September 11th changed all of our lives, and specially mine. I was again under heavy suspicion due to community members trying to settle personal vendettas and their own scores against me. Thank God for John Floyd. He has helped me tremendously and worked tirelessly and selflessly to prove my innocence. I owe him big time.
    The only thing I regret is not retaining him sooner :)
    If I could rate him with more than 5 stars I would.

  10. Client Review

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Floyd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.