David A. Breston’s Reviews

David A. Breston

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. This law office

    Posted by karen, a Maritime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Admiralty / Maritime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Law office of David A Brestib was amazing to me during a very difficult time of my life. Breston was able to help me solve my criminal case. They do not judge.

  2. Very Kind To Me

    Posted by shandraleemayer, a Lemon Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Lemon Law matter.

    This law office was very kind to me during a very difficult time of my life. They helped me negotiate a great resolution to my case.

  3. The best lawyer in Houston

    Posted by Katie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    This man took care of my legal issue all the way from Dallas! He had my legal situation handled in literally one day! Never have I been this impressed with a lawyer. I definitely recommend him.

  4. A Trustworthy Lawyer

    Posted by DGR, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Immigration matter.

    Gave me hope when I didn't have it. Help my husband in an immigration problem. I no trust issues with his firm. Everybody was very caring and actually felt my pain as a mother of two. Meet my expectations and kept me informed at all times. His firm is the place to go. I really wish there were more lawyer firms like this!

  5. Knowledgeable, accessible and determined

    Posted by Al, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    David Breston promptly met with me. LISTENED to me. Thoroughly reviewed the details of my case. And THEN offered his advice. Where others may have given up after the judge stated his initial decision, David did not give in. By paying attention to detail and using his experience, he was able to do away with what appeared to be certain incarceration.

  6. A job well done!

    Posted by Lynne, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We used Mr. Breston to defend our foster child in a juvenile case of assault. He was able to get the charge dismissed in a timely manner. We found Mr. Breston to be very personable and eager to help. Thank you for a job well done!

  7. You need to read this before hiring David Breston to represent you!

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired David back in November after being arrested and charged with two offenses that I didn't commit; misdemeanor family assault and felony evading arrest in Harris County. In our first meeting, David was confident that he could obtain the results that I was hoping for and even told me that he had a really good relationship with the judge in the court that my cases were assigned to. So, I hired him with confidence that he would work to resolve my cases.

    Prior to my first court date, David advised me to have my wife, the complainant in my assault case, accompany me to court to show her support for me. I questioned this because the court issued a restraining order against me as a condition of my bond. However, he assured me that it would be the right thing to do and I therefore decided to do so. That morning in court, I waited around for David to show up for almost two hours after they called docket and the judge began seeing defendants. Then two women came and called my name and came over and said they were associates of David's and that they were there to fill in because David was busy. Really, I'm paying this guy thousands of dollars and he sends me someone that knows nothing about me or my cases. So, she went up to the judge and prosecutors and came back and asked me why on earth did I bring my wife into court with me? She said the judge and prosecutor didn't take that very well because I was breaking their restraining order. I explained that David advised me to do so and she promptly responded "No, David didn't advise you"....she wanted to make sure and cover his rear. He could have been sanctioned by the courts if it came to light that he advised me to break the law. So, I go up to see the judge and she tells me that I would not be going home with my wife that day and instead I would be reporting for community supervision. So now, because of David, I've not only angered the judge but I also have to go pee in a cup, undergo evaluations and pay more money to the county each month. Strike one! David never accepted responsibility for what he did and instead stood by his advise.

    So to shorten this up a little. That day, the ADA was also upset about what I did and they started looking for a way to enhance my charge from a misdemeanor to a felony family assault with bodily injury. So, my next court date rolls around and it's for the felony evasion. David actually showed up on time this time. He goes and talks to the prosecutor and comes back several minutes later and approaches me with a plea offer. They would drop the felony evading if I plead guilty to the misdemeanor family assault and they would sentence me to 180 days in jail, fines and 3 years of unadjudicated probation. I said absolutely not and he threw a hissy fit and told me I was making a mistake because they would enhance my assault to a felony and I'd be looking at 2-10 years of prison. I told David I wasn't going to jail for something I didn't do and he sat right there and questioned the validity of my proclamation of innocence. Really, was my lawyer treating me as though I was lying. Needless to say I was done with this shyster. I fired him and hired a much more reputable lawyer and its two months later now and that lawyer attended the states presentation of my cases to the grand jury to obtain an indictment and presented my side of the story, lie detector tests and a statement from my wife, and the grand jury denied the indictments and "No Billed" both of my cases. David wasn't even going to attend that grand jury hearing...he told me there would be nothing he could do.

    In closing, David cares about nothing but maximizing his hourly rate by disposing your case as quickly as possible. He deals in high volume, so he doesn't really want to work for you. If you are facing a crime that involves possible jail time, DO NOT HIRE David Breston. You will be throwing your freedom away!

  8. Makes a Difference

    Posted by avantt, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    One person can make all the difference- and that one is David. My husband and I are so thankful to you and grateful for your persistence with the DA. God Bless you and our thanks to your staff as well.

  9. so helpful and I am thankful

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.

    He handled my criminal case and got the charge dismissed. His staff were so helpful and I am thankful for them all.

  10. the coolest and straight to the point, with class, lawyer in houston

    Posted by james m, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Breston.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    he saved my ass really he is my buddy now he has been my attorney now for 6 years and i recomend david to all my friends he is resanobly priced and he cares and wants to help you as his client. He has actully become a good friend of mine over the years and the things he has helped me throu and been there by my side fighting for me and my freedom so the court couldn't walk all over me and that happenes when your lawyer doesnt care and david really does and even if he thinks you should do something else like take deffered and stay on probation longer or taking the felony and get out the next day he told me the pros and cons and i didnt listed i sighned for the felony and now iwish i had listened but he is still working to get my felony taken off cause he cares whitch is rare with attorneys we all know that but david is different you can't help but like the guy anyway i dont want to blow his head up too big but i recomend him to anyone