Carmen Mae Roe’s Reviews

Carmen Mae Roe

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    This was my first offense and I hired Carmen through a recommendation and I am very glad I did. Carmen was very helpful and sincere when it came to my case. She listened to everything I had to say and then gave me a breakdown of the situation that I could easily understand. She is very easy to reach and you can always expect a reply back from her as well. She clearly knows what she is doing and is very knowledgeable. She is very hardworking and is persistent! Expect great results with Carmen!

  2. Best attorney ever

    Posted by Diane, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 6-12 months ago.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Carmen was able to actually work my husbands case , no other attorney we hired did.a single thing but take our money and reset the date !!! Carmen was honest , got us help as well as all probation and other stipulations stopped in less then 30 days she is wonderful

  3. Tenacious!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I use the term "tenacious" to describe Carmen M. Roe, personally and professionally. While it may seem your defense attorney's personal characteristics have no bearing on the case, nothing could be further from the truth! Unfortunately, this was not my first time in legal trouble. Though I had never served jail time before, the courts had decided it was time to change that! I knew I needed an EXCEPTIONAL defense attorney- if only to get the least amount of jail time possible. After researching, talking to several attorney's- who thought getting the "least" was a great idea- I talked to Carmen on the phone. We met in her office the next day and not only did my outlook on my case change, my outlook on my situation as a whole changed. She listened, she understood, she passed no judgement and she saw OPTIONS... because she took the time to go below the surface. Is this a "requirement" of defense attorney's, obviously not. Does it benefit YOU when you're the defendant, ABSOLUTELY! She promised me NOTHING, other than to tenaciously defend my case, while keeping in mind the impact of the sentencing on my future... No tricks, no lies, just legal acumen and a great rapport within the courts/DA office. I received NO jail time, a VERY short diversion program (that I'd never been told about and certainly not offered) and most importantly- my life back. I am not trying to make her sound like "Saint" Carmen, but I told her at our first meeting (where I was so embarrassed I could barely look at her the first 5 minutes) I appreciated the personal touch she brings to her work ethic and potential clients should know as well. She goes above and beyond and she thinks outside and all around the box and when she says she thinks you've got the best offer going... YOU CAN BELIEVE HER.

  4. Excellent

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am a first time offender. I have never been in any serious trouble and I was not only embarrassed but also very intimidated when this occurred, especially because I felt I had done nothing wrong. I did a lot of research to find a lawyer and after seriously considering a couple, I had a gut feeling I could find someone better that really cared. Then I found Carmen Roe on this website! When I spoke to Carmen and told her the whole situation, she listened attentively. She scheduled to meet with me right away. When we met she gathered all of the details I had prepared. She valued the time and effort I had put into getting my side of the story to her. She was very sympathetic about the situation. Rather than settling for the diversion program, she knew I had a chance and she fought for me. She made sure my side of the story was heard, and hounded the DA non-stop no matter how much he tried to put my case on the back burner. After a couple of months, my case was dismissed. I am so thankful and do not regret holding off to find the right lawyer for my case. Carmen was amazing and I can tell she really enjoys her job. I am so happy to have found her and had her defend me.

    In terms of the nitty gritty details: Carmen is competitively priced. She is always available via email and returns calls promptly. If she says she is going to call or email you, she keeps her word. She is honest and always tells you what's going on in the case. (Even if I live outside of Houston, I never felt out of touch with the case.) She keeps her cool and she does not back down.

    Thank you Carmen for your patience and for your excellent service.

    Side story: Before finding Carmen, I was going to go with an attorney who only considered the Diversion Program no matter how much I thought I had a fighting chance to get my case dismissed right away. It seemed like what I said went in one ear and out the other. I soon realized he was just plain lazy. I am very happy I did not settle, and found a lawyer that believed in me.

  5. Excellent Attorney!,

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Carmen. She helped me out beyond my expectations. I hired her for an expunction case and out of all the layers I consulted to do this job she was the only one who promised me to do it in the time frame I was requesting, but not only that; she did everything on her hands to meet this deadline.
    I'm very impressed with Carme's professionalism and the way she handle things to help me and get the job done on time. Aside of being a terrific lawyer, Carmen was also very friendly and honest with me all the time, and very approachable and willing to answer any questions I had at any time.
    Excellent job Carmen!

  6. Review of Carmen M. Roe

    Posted by Sam, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Carmen to represent me for two cases and she was able to get me a good result in both with minimal extra costs (court fees, probation, etc.), including a dismissal of the charges. As my attorney I felt that Carmen always had my best interest in mind and was determined to get me the best result possible. I found her very trustworthy and comfortable to be around. She regularly kept me up to date with my cases and promptly returned my calls and emails. I was very impressed by Carmen’s legal prowess during my pre-trial hearing where she picked apart the arresting officer’s actions and credibility as well as and the DA’s argument. I would highly recommend Carmen Roe for anyone who needs an attorney that will fight for them and go the extra mile.

  7. Awesome Attorney

    Posted by Ronnie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I called Carmen on a recommendation from a friend and it was the best recommendation ever. Carmen is incredibly knowledgeable and treated my minor case as if it were the most important case she had, which honestly made the whole experience go more smoothly and less stressfull which helps a lot. She answered all of my questions and explained everything to me to where I can understand everything that was going on at all times. I highly recommend to everyone who is in need of a great lawyer that will do above and beyond what is needed in order to get the job done to use Carmen Roe!

  8. Carmen Roe Review

    Posted by Brian, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Carmen to represent me in a criminal case (posession of marijuana). She always handled me, my case, and herself with the utmost professionalism. From our first conversation to our last conversation, Carmen was always kind, and most importantly incredibly knowledgable. In court situations, I was always one of the first to get in and get out, and never had to wait around for her. As a traveling, busy business professional in the oil & gas industry, she understood my situation and was very understanding of my schedule. She worked with the court and I to make sure my work schedule wasn't hindered, and more importantly to make sure my job went smoothly. On one occasion, specifically, I put the wrong date for court in my calendar and ended up missing my court date as I was traveling for work. She made sure nothing happened to me and she and her associates stayed late at the office to receive my documentation and physically take it to the courthouse herself as she knew I wasn't able to get out of meetings until late in the day. As a person who wasn't familiar with the court system, she went out of her way to explain and make sure I understood what was going on at all times. There was never a moment I felt confused or out of the loop on anything. I bugged Carmen many times with even the simplest of questions, and unlike other attorneys, she was always very prompt with a response, and happy to answer or help me. Carmen is never hard to get ahold of, and like previously mentioned, never was bothered by even the simplest (sometimes dumbest) of questions. She worked with the prosecutor & judge to get me a deferred judgement, and significantly reduced my probation, court costs, and community service, and to make sure this charge would dissapear from my record. I would, and do, HIGHLY recommend Carmen to any of my family, friends, coworkers, or business associates. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with my selection of attorney, and will, without hesitation, use Carmen for the remainder of my years in the state of Texas.

  9. Great attorney, great person

    Posted by James, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • Carmen handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have called on Carmen several times over the last 3 years for legal advise in the running of my business. Carmen has given me insight and solutions in every instance. No matter how busy Carmen is when i call she always takes time to help and offer what turns out to be sound advice and council. I will continue to call on Carmen knowing i can rely on her advise.

  10. Great, aggressive, Knowledgeable attorney

    Posted by Latoya, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Carmen Roe.
    • I hired Carmen 1-3 years ago.
    • Carmen handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I've never been in any criminal trouble before in my life. I took time out to find the best attorney that would help me resolve this issue. She accepted my case and told me that she would work hard in order to get the best outcome of this case. Carmen's fee is reasonable compare to some of the other attorneys that I spoken to. I was very nervous about the case and Carmen was there to help ease the nervous/anxiety feelings. She did great research on my case and found information that would help me. Carmen look at all the possible options for the case. The DA offer several plead deals and attempted to pressure me into accepting it. Carmen was there to tell me that I shouldn't take the deals and that the DA often use these tatics to pressure people into taking deals that they shouldn't. I trust Carmen and knowledge of the criminal courts. Finally, Carmen was able to get the case dismissed and I will be able to have this expunge from my record immediately. I am a graduate school with a promising future and I serious can say that thanks to Carmen Roe that my future is still secure. I am able to put this incident behind me and move forward. I feel truly blessed that I was able to find Carmen and she was able to help me in my time of need. I would strongly recommend Carmen to anyone who needs a great, aggressive, knowledgeable attorney!!!! Thanks Carmen