Steven H. Phelps’s Reviews

Steven H. Phelps

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Steve made it so easy.

    Posted by Alex, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I was laid off, we got behind on our bills. We were getting harassing calls everyday from our creditors who were not particularly interested in our problems. They just wanted their money. Although the thought of bankruptcy is a scary thing, it became a real option for us. Steve and his staff took away the scariness. They walked us through each and every step. If we had questions, they were always easy to reach - explaining things in a way we could understand. We recommend him and the entire team wholeheartedly. Thanks, again, for your great service, Steve.

  2. Medical bills we couldn't pay

    Posted by Clairesse, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    When my husband got sick, the medical expenses were more than we could handle. We were sued by a credit card company because we couldn't pay our bill. When we went in to see Steve, he had us bring all of our bills with us so he could really understand our situation. Steve explained about the different bankruptcy chapters and made sure we understood what the requirements were for each option. There were no surprises. We chose to go with Chapter 13 which let us restructure our debt into affordable monthly payments. Steve and his staff were there for us throughout the process. Steve basically took care of us. He's the best.

  3. Steve helped restore peace to our home.

    Posted by Ramiro, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    We were behind on our credit card payments and under a lot of pressure and stress because we were getting harassing calls all day.
    Steve sat down with us and explained the bankruptcy process and answered our questions. He also gave us paperwork that helped to explain our options. The explanations were very good & we made the decision to file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy so that we could erase all of our debt and start fresh.
    The office staff was very helpful. Also Steve gave us an opportunity to pay with a payment plan.
    Now our phone is quiet and we owe that to Steve. He helped restore peace to our home.

  4. Steve made our bankruptcy process easy and painless.

    Posted by Michael, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Steve and his assistant Kim were very helpful and efficient in handling our case. Thank you both for helping us through our bankruptcy and making it easy and painless for us. We had a great experience and appreciate the way that the process was explained to us. Steve was very down to earth and made us feel comfortable.

  5. Steve explained all of our options

    Posted by Pam,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

    My husband and I were having trouble paying back loans and we were scared to death that we might have to file for bankruptcy. We received a letter from Steve and from several other lawyers. We were attracted to Steve because he wrote with such sincerity and seemed to understand our fears. I could tell that he really wanted to help us, and so we called him.

    Steve sat down with us and explained what would happen and what all of our options were. He made us comfortable and was always available if we had questions. He explained bankruptcy to us in ways that were easy to understand. The terminology can be confusing, but Steve went over things as many times as we needed. He is very good at explaining the law in simple language.

    I have one friend who filed bankruptcy with a different lawyer, and she did not have an easy time. Our bankruptcy went very smoothly. Steve’s background as a CPA was helpful in making sure we had all of our papers in order. My friend was still getting calls from creditors and bills in the mail even after her bankruptcy was final because her paperwork was not as well-organized and complete.

    I’m so thankful for Steve. His kindness, support, and thoroughness put us at ease and helped us to get a fresh start.

  6. I highly recommend Steven H. Phelps and here is the reason why

    Posted by Tim, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I talked to several lawyers before I hired Steven Phelps and I must say, Mr. Phelps did an awesome job for me. He not only was very honest from the beginning but very reasonable and not only met my expectations be succeeded them far and above what I had anticipated. Always kept me informed and gave me an outcome that was much better than expected. I would highly recommend Steven Phelps to anyone. Excellent lawyer.
    Tim

  7. Exceptional work!

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I use Steve for all my real estate law needs. He is knowledgeable and works well with clients. His staff are courteous and extend customer service beyond expectation.

  8. Steven H. Phelps

    Posted by Susan, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steven H. Phelps worked very hard on our bankrupcy case. We had all kinds of problems and somehow God Love Him he worked above
    and beyond to get us our discharge.
    His assistant Jen Rubio was available 24/7 ready to answer any question you needed answered. It was a nightmare case and they both made it stress free for us. I am greatful to both of them! Finally
    we didn't get ripped off. I highly recommend Attorney Steven Phelps and Miss Rubio.

  9. GREAT BANKRUPTCY ATTORNEY WITH GREAT STAFF!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Phelps.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I came in a nervous wreck about a lawsuit and overwhelmed with debt. I called and spoke with Jen who made me feel better right away and set up an appointment. She told me what I needed to bring and the appointment went very well. They were patient with me as I did not have the funds to pay the fee right away. Case went very smooth. I was confident in every way from phone call to finish. Jen even sent me a congratulation card when I was discharged. Highly recommend Phelps lawfirm!