Duane A. Kees’s Reviews

Duane A. Kees

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Invaluable attorney, simply the best

    Posted by Rebekah, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane 1-3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    DAK helped our family through a legal battle that was nothing short of a nightmare last year. His intelligence, determination, and professionalism make him the best attorney anyone could ask for. He understands the military court martial system well, and he does everything he can to explain the process to his clients and ensure their peace of mind. He didn't mind phone calls on the weekends if we thought of something pressing to our case or had a question that was driving us crazy. He did his best to prepare us for what was to come so we were rarely caught off guard by the legal system. And most importantly, his skill level was excellent in the hearings and trial itself. He got the results we needed. I would absolutely recommend him.

  2. Simply an Outstanding lawyer

    Posted by Terry, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    A superb lawyer who saved my military career and retirement. I faced an almost certain court martial on a multitude of charges, my situation looked bleak and dire at best. But Mr. Kees experience and tenacity coupled with a keen understanding of military law allowed him to out maneuver my local SJA. Not only did it NOT go to trial but the agreed upon punishment (an ART 15) was thrown out through his meticulous and steadfast negotiating. His diligence, hard work, and attention to detail ensured I retired at my current grade (E9) with a tarnish free military record. My family and I are indebted to this, not only superb lawyer but wonderful and caring individual. The fees I incurred were negligible compared to what he saved me, worth every dime and then some. Neither my family nor I will ever forget what DAK has done for us. If in the future I have the need for a lawyer, I will not hesitate to call Mr. Kees. Thanks again DAK for all that you have done.

  3. AMAZING

    Posted by Maribel, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My boyfriend was facing a Article15 in Iraq and Mr.Kees returned my call within the first 30minutes of my message. I never felt hurried or that our case was less important then the next. We always received one on one attention from him, even after office hours. A couple of words that describe him, along with the office staff are: Professional,Personable,Caring,Honest. We faced horrible times during the process and Mr.Kees explained step by step exactly what to expect and the reason behind it all. After winning the Court Martial, I feel that we now have a life long friend and Attorney to turn to no matter what the issue be. Mr. Kees will definetly be referred to all that mention the need of a Terrrific Caring Attorney. Thank you for the excellent job and all your time and dedidication. May God continue to bless you and your family.

  4. ABOVE THE BEST.

    Posted by SSG Desmond Levar Anthony, a Government client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Government matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    There aren't enough words in the english language to describe Mr. Duane Kees. I called Mr. Kees while deployed in IRAQ. He advised me from my Article 15 to the last day of my Court Martial. He always kept me informed on what was going on. He even went as far as explaining to me what to expect, knowing this because of his knowledge and history being a former Commissioned JAG Officer himself. I went through a horrible time with my Court Martial. Mr. Kees was not only my lawyer, but he became family. I highly recommend him. THX

  5. Simply the Best

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Duane A. Kees defended me in a military court martial in April of 2009. Through his knowledge, professionalism and diligence I was able to maintain my rank and retire from the military as a Staff Sergeant. I was facing both going to jail and being kicked out of the military after having served 18 years in the military. He made it possible for me to retire. I would recommend Duane Kees to represent anyone. He is a lawyer who is very passionate about his work and does the best job to represent you no matter if you were a Private in the military or a General.

  6. not guilty on 12 specifications and charges

    Posted by Brennan, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr kees is a very personal, smart, and just an overall great guy, he kept me informed on a daily basis and put everything he had into my case. He filed 3 motions in which all were suppressed. I had 2 confessions about drug use, possesion, and distribution, and one search and seizure that were supressed on motions and couldnt be used in court. I also had 5 people coming into court to say what they could on me to get me sent away, Mr kees proved through my testimonial immunity grant that 4 of them shouldnt be able to tesify and they couldnt. Mr kees saved my life, career, and i was able to see my first baby born and continue on in the military. Could look for a better lawyer, I also cannot thank him enough!!

  7. Art. 15 proceeding, acquitted of all charges (cocaine positive and violation of GO1)

    Posted by a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Duane is not only professional, but personal. I count him as a friend. He was dependable, punctual, knowledgable, and his personality goes a long way. Specifically, his personality makes him easy to interact with, work with, and Most Importantly, it gave him the ability to EDUCATE the prosecution to my innocence without coming across as arrogant, pushy, or domineering. These traits are important in Article 15 proceeding because a 1 on 1 setting is totally different than courtroom presence (which i'm sure he is great at also, but my experience was Art. 15 proceeding)

    Duane listens to you, works WITH you, values your opinion, values your input. I recommend wholeheartedly.

    Thanks Duane!!

  8. Not Guilty

    Posted by Christopher, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Duane Kees helped me through one of the toughest years of my life. Through his legal council I was proven innocent on two charges of assault with a deadly weapon. He then followed up to make sure that I was being treated properly and looked out for my best interests after his legal obligation to me was over. Thank you

  9. Outstanding Lawyer

    Posted by Larnelle, a Military Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Military Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Duane is a outstanding lawyer who knows both military and civilian law. Without the help of Duane I would not be where I am today in my military career. He is an outstanding lawyer who has a great concern for justice being upheld and will go to whatever means necessary to make sure that justice is served. He is the best lawyer that I have ever worked with. He told me what outcome he was going for and he got and did exactly this I cannot think of a more professional lawyer. If you are a soldier looking for a lawyer with experience in the Military Justice system this is your lawyer you will not find another that has the knowledge and expertise in the Military justice system. He kept me informed on each and every step he was taking and he continued to fight to ensure that I did not get something I did not deserve. I cannot say more than without Duane's help my life could have went down a totally different path but he ensured that I didn't have to go down that road. I am very grateful to Duane's services as is my family.

  10. Court Martial Acquittal

    Posted by Matthew, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Duane Kees.
    • I hired Duane more than 3 years ago.
    • Duane handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Kees kept me informed through my entire ordeal. He believed in me when no one else did and in the end I was acquitted of all charges. Have a lawyer that you believe and who believes in you is the difference between freedon and a jail cell. Thank you Duane,