James L. Bargar’s Reviews

James L. Bargar

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Separation with Child out of Wedlock

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Having a 3 year old out of wedlock and facing certain separation really scared me. It was the full intent of my son's mother to move out of state and in no cirumstance settle out of court. She made this very apparent upfront.

    Mr. Bargar walked me through every possibility and was honest and open about my situation. Sometimes it took longer for him to respond than I like, but he has other clients as well and his performance was second to none.

    He provided advice on how to handle every possible piece of the case and got complete joint custody without even stepping foot into the court room (Even though she swore she would not settle). The whole case unfolded just as he said it would. It became blatently apparent during the deposition that he had the upperhand and was in complete control.

    Bottom line, Mr. Bargar's definitely knows what he is doing. If he advises you to do something, I suggest you do it. I could not have been more pleased with the outcome.

  2. Excellent Attorney!!

    Posted by Crystal, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Guardianship matter.

    Mr. Barger recently handled my guardianship case. He was a godsend! He was extremely kind and, although it was NOT his job, provided emotional support! He made an unbearable situation bearable. Whenever I contacted him, I ALWAYS received a prompt response. I would highly recommend him!!

  3. relocation case

    Posted by Sarah, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.

    James Bargar was very thorough and knowledgeable when handling our case. If I emailed him he was very quick to respond, and always had answers right away. I had to hire an attorney previously for child visitation issues, and didn't have a very good experience. He never kept in contact with me. If I had any questions, it would take him a week or longer to return my call. I was very surprised when James was quick to respond to our questions. Both my husband and I had never been to court before, so we were very nervous. James Bargar explained things to us very well. He made us feel very comfortable and at ease.

  4. Exceptional and impressive in the field of law.

    Posted by Trixie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.

    I would highly recommend this attorney! He worked with myself, in Pennsylvania and my son and his wife in Arkansas. He was extremely informative and spoke in language that we could understand. He was quick to respond to emails and phone calls. He was always encouraging and confident. I deal with attorneys in my work and I could only wish that they were all as precise as he is. His fees are very reasonable and he is worth every penny! Thank you Mr. Bargar!

  5. Knowledgeable attorney willing to work with a long-distance client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My father originally hired James Bargar to help resolve a messy divorce. Dad had worked with two other attorneys who were not responsive and failed to keep him informed about his case, so I found Mr. Bargar's ad in the telephone book and asked my dad to make an appointment to see him. My dad was not an easy man to work with (he's in his late 80s) but James treated him respectfully and kindly, listening to my dad vent about his anger and keeping him on track. He went through boxes of case files from the other two attorneys, and was able to sort out what had, and had not, been done. While the divorce was progressing, my father's health declined rapidly, and James helped me handle the necessary paperwork to become dad's guardian and I became James' client. When my dad passed, he then helped us settle the probate and estate--a lengthy process that took months because my dad had failed to get his affairs in order.

    Keep in mind that my dad lived in Mayflower, James' office is in Conway, and I live 2000 miles away! All of this work over the course of several years was handled via long distance, almost entirely by e-mail. This doesn't mean that James is impersonal--quite the opposite! E-mail allows the client to get answers much more quickly than snail mail, and I often received responses right away. This is so important because I would have been unable to fly to Arkansas to handle this on my own.

    James' fees and billing procedures were very reasonable and transparent, and I feel confident that I was not overcharged for his services. If anything, he probably did not charge as much as he could have when there were times my dad just wanted to talk to him because he was angry about the courts. Sometimes there were lapses in between communications, but I think that was due to the slow process of the judicial system and the courts, not to inattention from James.

    Lastly, I think I need to mention that James is a kind and caring man. When it became clear that my dad was never going to come home from the hospital, and that death was near, James pushed aside other clients to meet with me when I unexpectedly had to fly into town. He told me funny stories about my dad, and treated both of us extremely well during difficult circumstances.

    Yes, I would definitely recommend James to anyone who finds themselves needing his assistance with a divorce, separation, or other family law situation. I would also recommend him for anyone who is out of town and needs legal help, or someone needing assistance because of an aging family member. He is a gem in a profession often criticized for its lack of compassion.

  6. One of the good ones

    Posted by Marie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Bargar recently wrapped up a divorce for me. I really appreciate how quickly he would get back with me when i'd email him questions (which I did frequently) and he never acted as though it was a bother to him. He was also quick to give me advice on things that I could do that would save me money as well as instruction on how to do them. Unlike some attorneys that will just run your bill up higher and higher. When you hear "attorney" jokes and bad stereotypes about attorneys, James is NOT one of the guys that those apply to.

  7. James's crazy case

    Posted by Shelley, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The case that James won for me was morally and legally challenging. James was never judgmental and was up front about every issue. James was on top of the facts of the case; he had a thick folder full of evidence for court. He always got back to me in a timely manner anytime I had a question. James has one of the nicest assistants in Conway. She was always friendly and willing to help me when James was not available. I will use James again.

  8. One of the best in Conway.

    Posted by Rodney,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very professional during the whole legal process that I went through. Would use James again.

  9. Very Pleased

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I live out of state and needed a lawyer in Arkansas. I found Mr Bargar online. He made me feel comfortable about any questions or concerns I had. He was honest with me. He made it possible that I did not have to travel like I thought I might. He was always prompt in returning any calls. As far as his fee, lets just say he didnt try to break me and if I need another lawyer in Arkansas I wil call Mr. James Bargar. Thank you Mr James

  10. fast turnaround on divorce

    Posted by Rick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Bargar.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hired this attorney to handle divorce, and he got everything done fast. Shot us straight, and kept us informed about everything that was going on. Good guy to use in Pulaski County, Arkansas.