Elizabeth B Carpenter’s Reviews

Elizabeth B Carpenter

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Diligent

    Posted by Ken,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.

    I received a DUI in New Orleans, Louisiana. My brother had contacted Elizabeth Carpenter prior to my release from prison. I had my first phone conversation within 20 minutes of my release. Immediately she steered me through the necessary procedures of my case. She successfully had my charges reduced to Reckless Driving of a Motor Vehicle.
    The unique aspect of my case is that I was out of state in California. Nevertheless, we kept in constant contact through email and text. I completed all requirements necessary to have the charges reduced. I scanned and sent the completed documents. Elizabeth handled the processing of all the completed documents with the proper court personnel.
    I am extremely grateful to have Elizabeth represent me during this difficult time. I would strongly recommend Elizabeth to anyone.
    Ken

  2. Review For Elizabeth B Carpenter

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Elizabeth did a very good job of representing me during my legal process. She provided good information and was able to get my case dismissed altogether. I would recommend her.

    1. Elizabeth B Carpenter

      Elizabeth Carpenter

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you. I was very pleased with the result in your case.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  3. DUI False Arrest

    Posted by Colleen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    She was very helpful and answered all my questions. She helped me understand the law and kept me informed. I would highly recommend Ms Carpenter.

    1. Elizabeth B Carpenter

      Elizabeth Carpenter

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you very much. I was pleased with the way your cased was resolved. Thank you for taking the time to review my services -- it means a lot to me.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  4. Probation

    Posted by Allan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Elizabeth to help me with a probation problem in St Tammany. I am so happy that I did. My PO asked the judge to revoke me. Elizabeth knew exactly how to fight for me and her efforts paid off. My probation was not revoked. Judge told me to do some community service. I recommend her to anyone needing legal help. I feel like she kept me out of jail.

    1. Elizabeth B Carpenter

      Elizabeth Carpenter

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you. I was very pleased with your case. Thank you for taking the time to review my services.

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  5. Did not pay traffic fines on time; unresponsive.

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I engaged Ms. Carpenter to handle a speeding ticket I received in New Orleans based on her reviews on this website. Our initial conversations were brief which led to some confusion (e.g., was I supposed to appear in court with her? ) but eventually she was able to get the charges reduced to a non-moving violation. I immediately sent her a money order for the fine in mid-October, as requested, so that she could pay it on my behalf on or before the court date of 1/7/14.

    Shockingly, on 1/11, I received a notice from the court stating the fine had not been paid and thus I was in contempt of court and that my license had been suspended. I emailed Elizabeth immediately who responded on 1/13 stating that the fine had indeed been paid on 1/9 (after the court date) thus the contempt notice was in error and she would email me the receipt ASAP. On 1/15, she emailed me the receipt which stated that the fine had been paid on 1/10.

    When I asked her about the inconsistencies in her statements to me, she admitted fault by her staff and essentially implied "no harm, no foul" to be quite frank, in a very curt tone. I, obviously, did not appreciate the tone but also dispute that there was no harm as I indeed was in contempt from 1/7-10 and since I did not receive confirmation of payment until 1/15 did only limited amounts of driving from 1/11-1/15 as I was unsure of the disposition of my contempt charge and did not want to risk arrest.

    I subsequently inquired about the contempt charge that was listed on the court records (reference that she previously stated there was no contempt charge). 9 days later I've not received a response, so today called the court myself today and was told me that there was indeed a contempt charge but that it was waived.

    1. Elizabeth B Carpenter

      Elizabeth Carpenter

      Lawyer Comment:

      I disagree with many of the facts that you assert. Nonetheless, I apologize again for any confusion.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  6. Legal Advocate

    Posted by April, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Ms. Carpenter as a legal advocate and was very pleased with all the services she provided. She is always available to answer questions and returns emails promptly. She did a better job explaining the law and the legal process to me than the District Attorney's Office handling my case. I would not have been well informed if it wasn't for her helping me during the whole process. I would recommend her services to anyone looking a compassionate and very competent attorney.

  7. Elizabeth Carpenter

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Elizabeth Carpenter helped me get the best outcome on my legal problems
    Just when things were looking bad and I had no hope her expertise helped me
    In the end. I recommend her to anyone who needs legal help.

  8. Excellent Service

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Outstanding service. She knew exactly how to handle my case. She was very contactable through both her office and cell phone. If she couldnt answer a call she would always make an attempt to reply. Ahe was available at times both after hours and on the weekends. She even took a few extra steps for me.

  9. Nice,professional, would use again!

    Posted by Blake scott, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I contacted Elizabeth, she immediately responded back. She was timely. She seemed connected and like your go-to girl

  10. Case Dismissed

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elizabeth Carpenter.
    • I hired Elizabeth 1-3 years ago.
    • Elizabeth handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family contacted Ms. Carpenter on a Saturday morning because I was arrested for Domestic Violence the night before. She kept my family informed of my status the whole time I was being booked. This was much appreciated because they were so scared and stressed out. This was all new to us. Monday morning sharp she was in the court ready to fight for me. During the entire process, Ms, Carpenter kept me informed about the status of the case. She was available by phone, text and email. Outstanding service! She did not stop working until we got the results that we wanted. She is smart, attentive, and kind. I am so thankful.

    1. Elizabeth B Carpenter

      Elizabeth Carpenter

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you! I, too, was pleased with the results of your case.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag