Burke Smith’s Reviews

Burke Smith

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. He takes the stress out of bankruptcy.

    Posted by Ashley, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 6-12 months ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I was very nervous about filing bankruptcy (chapter 7), and nervous that I would be shamed or made to feel bad about my situation, but that isn't what happened at all. Burke really has compassion and didn't ever make me feel like I should be embarrassed or ashamed at all. He walked me through every step of the process, let me know deadlines, what I needed, what he needed, and what the next steps were. I really appreciated how dedicated he was to making sure that I understood what was going on, without ever seeming above me, or condescending at all. He's really great to work with, as is Dana, and I couldn't have hoped for a better experience. I not only would recommend him, but I already have to a couple friends who also had concerns about where to start, and how they would be treated.

  2. Client says best in Omaha, NE by far

    Posted by Ryan Deets, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 1-3 years ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Smith is amazing. He definitely knows his stuff. I came in to his office in quite the pickle. He treated me as a person and not as a customer in need of a sales pitch. This guy is very professional and straight to the point. You can be honest with him, he is a good guy for sure. Every time i was in doubt, and was worried about something as far as my debt was concerned or how this process will work, he would always make me feel like everything was OK. Now i had my doubts don't get me wrong. However he walked me through the whole process and has been their for me since then. Every time scamming debt collectors called me, he's been their for me. Even after we closed the deal on my bankruptcy. He is an amazing guy and the risk and trust I put into a guy I new nothing about was well worth it. I would trust this guy with anything his services have to offer. Bankruptcy's can be expensive sure. But he is a person just like most of us with a problem, and understands that, well if were coming to him we must be in some financial trouble. So he does accept payments. Just don't blow smoke with the guy is all I have to say. Remember when you hire him, he's working for you, not the debt collectors. He is here for us. He will work with you in anyway he possibly can as long as you are willing to do your part. Highly recommended for sure.

  3. Excellent service!!!

    Posted by Bill, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 6-12 months ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the very first meeting, Burke and Dana went to great lengths to put us at ease during this very stressful process. He was very knowledgeable when answering all of our questions and always responded very quickly, even on weekends and holidays. While I would never wish financial hardship on anyone, if you need advice, this is the office to go to!!

  4. Best in Omaha!

    Posted by Mike, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 1-6 months ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Awesome service is something that just does not happen often in today’s environment. I found Burke Smith Law to be a pleasant exception to that trend!
    I recently had an urgent need to get a CH-7 filed for a job related issue. The problem was that the issue arose on a Friday (the Friday before Memorial Day weekend), and I needed the case filed by Tuesday morning! Impossible right?

    I started calling friends that are corporate attorneys explaining my dilemma.
    After multiple calls asking who is the best and who would be open to accommodating my request, one name kept rising to the top. With little expectation of being able to accomplish my goal, I called Burke Smith late Friday afternoon and explained my problem and the need to act quickly. “Long-story-short,” Mr. Smith met me at his office on Memorial Day, no doubt, worked all weekend and helped me get done what I needed to get done. He saved my career!

    Finding yourself in a position that requires a bankruptcy is not a pleasant experience. Finding an attorney that “gets it” sure helps! I certainly hope that I never find myself in a position like this again – if I do, I guarantee you that the ONLY call I will make is to Burke Smith. You should, too!

  5. Professional Knowledgeable Understanding Patient and Exceptional

    Posted by Caroline, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 6-12 months ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Burke & Dana
    I want to thank you for your representation in my case during this difficult time for me. Both of you were very knowledgeable, straight forward, calm, helpful, and courteous with regards to dealing with me and my questions.
    I was completely overwhelmed and with your patience and understanding, the bankruptcy process went smoothly. You had the extpertise to handle any glitch that arose and your knowledge of the bankruptcy system was exceptional. I was kept abreast of everything that was happening at all times which made the process manageable and understandable. I cannot thank you enough for all your help. Your professionalism was always of high quality. I am forever grateful for your help. I will not hesitate to refer anyone who needs legal suport to your office.

  6. Burke is very easy to work with and really is looking out for his clients best interests.

    Posted by Shelly, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 6-12 months ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Burke is very easy to talk to and can guide you through a very stressful process. Filing for Bankruptcy is never easy but Burke was easy to talk to, made you feel comfortable and explained things very well. He was always available to answer any questions or issues that came up and I never felt like he was talking down to me. I am just really happy that I chose to use him for my Bankruptcy he made the process less stressful. I really feel like he was looking out for our best interest.

  7. Very Satisfied During A Difficult Time

    Posted by Darrin, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 6-12 months ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    After the loss of my job I found myself falling further into debt without any relief in sight. I relocated to Omaha from Texas after my job loss for a new start. The problem was my new job wasn't paying enough to handle my debt. After a friendly phone conversation with Mr. Smith, I decided to seek his advice. He was very informative and helpful while helping me come to the decision to file for bankruptcy. During this process he noticed some violations in a threat letter sent to me from a debt collector and he brought this to my attention with accurate detail. After my bankruptcy was final he helped me pursue a lawsuit against this particular company and a settlement was reached very promptly after doing so. The settlement amount actually reimbursed me for my bankruptcy fees. Due to his attention to detail and kind consultation I would highly recommend Mr. Smith. In fact, my partner and I were so impressed he is currently representing her. Thanks again Burke!

  8. Excellent attorney that doesn't pass judgement

    Posted by Kathy, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 6-12 months ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    At possibly the lowest time in my life, Burke and his office helped coach and direct me through a solution that allowed me to save my home and my reputation. I felt ashamed and embarrassed going into my first meeting but he and his peer made me feel at ease and were nothing but professional. I would recommend them to anyone that needs help finding there way through a tough spot.

  9. Relief from stress and anxiety due to financial situation.

    Posted by Jayne, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke 1-3 years ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Nearly 1-1/2 years ago, my life was completely upside down. I contacted Burke Smith in hopes of finding an answer to the negative financial situation I was in. Burke went through all my options and assured me that he would walk me through each and every step no matter which avenue I chose.

    After much consideration, I chose to go ahead with Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Burke provided the forms I needed to complete and went over them with me to make sure they were full and complete. He also let me make payments to him in several installments while I worked on gathering all the documents needed to file chapter 7 bankruptcy. His fee was very fair and competitive for this area. When I had questions, he was always there to answer them and always called back within 24-hours of any phone message I left.

    The bankruptcy process in the courtroom could not have been better. Burke sat with me as we waited for our turn and we were literally in front of the trustee for less than 3 minutes. Over the last year and a half, Burke has called me to make sure that I have not continued to receive letters from creditors after the filing process. There were a few instances like that and he took action immediately to have that stopped.

    If you are stressed out because of financial hardship due to medical bills or any other reason, I would highly recommend contacting Burke Smith for help. I'm so glad I did. Life is what you make of it and a clean slate gives you a chance to achieve goals that otherwise would seem entirely out of reach.

    If your credit is holding you back from buying a home of your own or keeping you from sleeping peacefully, I want you to know there is light at the end of the tunnel and relief within reach. You have a lot of choices and paths you can go down but choosing Burke Smith to be my attorney was one of the best choices I've made and I wouldn't change a thing.

    As the new year is just around the corner, I think of where I was just 2 years ago and where I am today financially. I'm very grateful for a second chance to get it right and although Burke Smith was my attorney, I now consider him a friend.

  10. Review of Burke Smith

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Burke Smith.
    • I hired Burke more than 3 years ago.
    • Burke handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Burke represented me before he opened up his own law firm but I just wanted to say what a great job he did for me. I had a chapter 7 case and had a lot of questions and he did a great job answering them during the case. Something came up during the case where the trustee wanted some money from me because of some stuff that happened earlier and I was worried that I'd have to pay a bunch of money or my case would be thrown out. Burke talked with the trustee and before to long he said everything got worked out and I didn't have to pay extra money or go back to court or anything. The nice thing was that he told me what was going on and I didn't worry to much during the whole case.

402-718-8865