Jay Bernard Ross’s Reviews

Jay Bernard Ross

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Attorney I have ever worked with

    Posted by Jackie, a Entertainment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay 6-12 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Entertainment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have much respect for Mr. Ross and contact him often. I however did not know how fortunate I was until recently. Mr. Ross has over the last year always assisted with contracts venues and discussed with me about my companies endeavors in concert and artist promotion in the entertainment fields. Always been a humble man, very receptive to my questions and eagerness to learn. I have discussed with him my ambitions for a concert, I would like to do in South Africa his knowledge is expert and honest he is currently assisting in this process as well. His guidance, honestly and humbleness make him a great choice as a Attorney. Never once being too high in society as a Music Icon's attorney, to represent a smaller just starting entertainment business. Great man both in representation, and as a all around person. I strongly recommend Mr. Ross.

  2. Music Contract Negotiations -- Helped me secure an AWESOME deal!

    Posted by Nando, a Entertainment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Entertainment matter.

    Jay is very knowledgeable, responsive, and helpful. His advice was invaluable in assisting me with contract negotiations with a music producer, and in helping me further understand the intricacies of contract negotiation. In addition to taking the time to thoroughly explain everything I was asking, Jay also went above and beyond by making sure I also understand the big picture. Finally, Jay's passion for what he does and genuine desire to help you achieve the best outcome possible, makes him by far the best layer I have had. As a result, I highly recommend Jay to anyone in need of his expertise.

  3. Saved Me 10,000 of Debt Thanks To Jay!!

    Posted by James, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I received a managerial/recording contract from a local indie label in Chicago. I was very pleased that they were offing me a 10,000 advance!! I had a few lawyers look it over and they said it was a good deal. However, I took the contract to Jay B Ross and he informed me that there were clauses in the contract that stated that any money made by me would go directly to their bank accounts; so they would be responsible for paying me for what i make. He also showed me clauses in the contract that stated that any merchandise they sold and/or gave away as promotions, i would not be making any money. Jay informed me that by the way they worded the contract, and hid these important details that it seemed like their intentions were to give away free merchandise and leave me in debt. Sadly, I decided not to sign the contract. However, a few months later, a local artists and friend of mine who had signed the deal, informed me that he was having a hard time with the label for the same reasons Jay mentioned!! Not only is Jay a great lawyer, i consider him a good friend who gives honest good advice! THANKS AGAIN JAY!!!

  4. Professional and Knowledgeable in his field

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When Warner Bros. Pictures in Hollywood called me and wanted to make a deal, I knew I needed an experienced entertainment lawyer. Jay Ross is the premier attorney in this field. He was the perfect representative of my interests to the Hollywood conglomerate, and was professional every step of the way. If not for Jay's contract acumen, I know I'd be much worse off.

    Jay is "old school" in the best sense of the term. He will actually phone all parties when negotiating a strategy rather than rely solely on emails.

  5. Fraudulent promoters are out there, be careful

    Posted by Larry, a Entertainment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Entertainment matter.

    A group was doing citywide auditions for performers/entertainers and offered me a contract to represent my talents. I brought the contract to Attorney Ross for review and he discovered the business was a fraud and that I would have to pay that firm out of pocket each month to represent me. He saved me from making a huge mistake. Thank you Attorney Jay B Ross.

  6. A Diamond in the rough

    Posted by Ms. Jones, a Entertainment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Entertainment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It was a pleasure meeting Mr. Ross; he was very professional and informative. Mr. Ross is capable of changing the negative thoughts people may have toward lawyers. His honesty and prestige demeanor has made my perception toward lawyers change in a very positive way. I appreciate the opportunity to meet Mr. Ross, and I would recommend Mr. Ross to my friends and family. Unlike most, he will let you know whether he can assist you or not which is hard to find, and you will gratefully appreciate his honesty rather than be taken advantage of. Thank you Mr. Ross for being available and giving me the wonderful opportunity to do business with you.

  7. The search for a good lawyer stops here!

    Posted by D'Wayne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.

    Very wise man! Took the time to simply help me out and give me some much needed advice. I would recommend Mr. Ross to anyone.

  8. An Excellent, Experienced Lawyer

    Posted by Terri, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Having no previous experience in this industry, I did not know where to start. Referred to me by the Chicago Bar Association, I feel that The Bar Association's referral was excellent. I found Mr. Ross to be candid, very knowledgeable and very informative. While reviewing the music contract for my son, I knew that I was speaking to an experienced lawyer. He was patient and throughly went through every detail of the contract. I would not hesitate to refer him or hire him as a permanent legal advisor.

  9. Music Contract Negotiations

    Posted by a Entertainment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Entertainment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was looking for a well versed entertainment lawyer who had a significant amount of experience within the music industry. Through word of mouth and my own personal research, I was led to Jay B. Ross.

    After, a short meeting with Jay B. Ross I was able to understand my music contract more clearly as well as renegotiate terms within the contract which were incorrect or simply unfair. Furthermore, as I had more questions the following day, he didn't hesitate to answer them over the phone and resolve all my questions and concerns.

    I had a very positive experience and recommend him highly!

  10. Chicago Bar Association Referral

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jay Ross.
    • Jay handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred online by the Chicago Bar Association on a Sat evening and I tried giving a call to leave a message. Instead Mr. Jay Bernard Ross himself answer the call and he entertained my concern and went on to spend at least 25mins on the phone with me speaking in regards to the reason I was calling. I have never had an experience that straight forward and helpful with an attorney over the phone.

312-633-9000