Michael David Elkin’s Reviews

Michael David Elkin

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Divorce case lasting forever and ever and ever.....

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Elkin.

    Hired Elkin & Associates for divorce case in 2012 and still haven't been divorced. Just been asking for what needs to be done, child support settlement and case resolution. No alimony or multi-million dollar business/estate settlements. He keeps telling me how he has big cases and how he has been on TV multiple times and all that sort of things, which I personally don't care much about, but my case is still in a process and he doesn't even bother to respond to my phone calls or emails. Seems like attorney only cares about high profile cases and completely ignores everyone else, although doesn't have problem collecting my money.

  2. Divorce

    Posted by Claudia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.

    After trying to navigate the paperwork and process of a divorce on my own, I decided to reach out to michael for assistance. I was apprehensive because this was likely to be an uncontested matter where most of the details were prearranged and the additional cost of legal fees seemed unnecessary. This turned out to be the best decision I could have made.

    Even with a straightforward agreement there were so many twists and turns it would have been impossible to handle without his advice and support. He was always available and usually quite punctual when responding to inquiries. Throughout the process he always kept me in the loop of what to expect and informed of any possible pitfalls to come.

    What sealed my recommendation was the level of trust he provided. With so many lawyers willing to do anything to increase their billable hours it was obvious from the start he was only interested in resolving our matter quickly and to my satisfaction.
    contact Michael if you want great results.

  3. Caring and thorough lawyer

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael is very caring and thorough lawyer. He took the time asking us about our incident during the initial free interview. We consulted with other lawyers, but none go into details such as Michael. We have received not only legal advice, but also psycho-therapeutic session which calmed down our anxiety. Our teenage son confidently chose Michael as his legal representative.
    We definitely recommend this lawyer to anybody in need.

  4. An Attorney you can trust!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Michael is confident in what he does and is very assuring. I hired Michael around 4-5 months ago. After giving him a call, I went to his office and felt very comfortable with him and knew that he was a true professional. He kept up with me about my case and was very caring. Michael is the type of attorney that takes his time with you and takes your cases very personally and looks out for your best interest. having Michael there for me was very important due to the fact that going to court can be nerve wrecking, nevertheless, he was very professional and got best results for me and I am very thankful. I would recommend Michael to friends/family and without a doubt would call Michael again if a situation called for it.

  5. Integrity and results

    Posted by Yanni, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Integrity and results, are rarity when it comes to being effective/successful attorney but Michael manages to accomplish both. Doing what is right for client, instead just self interest which having the pleasure of working with over a dozen attorneys in various Michael stands by himself. I was facing what I thought to be an impossible situation, in the worst county and in the jurisdiction/enforcement of Illinois State Police.

    My options being limited, I could only think of one of two attorneys who could get the job done. One of them was Michael , the other was a "get it done" regardless of how he achieves the outcome with a infamous reputation in cook county. The choice was simple, go with Michael as his reputation for being an upstanding attorney , with strong moral character with integrity was the only thing could save me.

    The outcome was favorable , from a criminal offense knock down to mere moving violation conviction.

    thank you, Michael

  6. Excellent lawer

    Posted by Julia, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Speeding & Traffic Ticket matter.

    I would like to highly recommend Michael Elkin. Not only is he extrmely knowledable, but also has very good “bedside manner” and works hard to help his clients with professionalism and class. Hopefully you will not have any legal problems, but if you ever do – I can’t think of anyone better than him to help you.

  7. Thank You :)

    Posted by Angela, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mr Elken is beyond what classifies an attorney. He handled my case with ease, compassion and class. I never felt left in the dark and he always was there to answer any concerns and was very fair and knowledgable when it came to sensitive matters. My custody case was long and frustrating. Im not sure I could have survived this without him and his professionalism. Thank you Mr Elken for bringing my nightmare to such a graceful end. Of course I dont look forward to ever needing you again....but if the situation ever arises..... you will be my first call in any legal matter!!!

  8. Michael Elkin has renewed my faith in the legal system.

    Posted by Joseph, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    There is nothing worse than proceeding through the legal system feeling like things are never going to end and that you have become a victim of the process. With Mr. Elkin by my side, I'm confident that my needs and the needs of my children are being addressed.
    Having been through a 27-month-long divorce more than 3 years ago, I was hesitant about seeking legal help to deal with problems I was having with my ex-wife. I was reluctant to reengage in a system that I felt did not serve my best interests as a father. Throughout my divorce, I felt like I was no more than an ATM for the legal system.
    Mr. Elkin, however, changed my mind about attorneys as he demonstrated a desire to help me as an individual. Most importantly, he treated me with respect. He did a thorough review of my marital settlement and joint parenting agreement, pointing out areas that were ill-defined and not serving my best interests. He asked me questions and showed interest in me as a person, rather than as a case log number. Prior to working with Mr. Elkin, I felt that I was at the mercy of what my attorneys told me. With Mr. Elkin, I feel like I am an active part of the process and that both my questions and needs are being addressed. This sense of collaboration has made all the difference in working to achieve the outcome I should have received years ago.
    As an English Professor, I put a high priority on communication and Mr. Elkin has always been prompt in returning calls and messages. The nonchalant response time of previous attorneys left me feeling lost and ill-served. Mr. Elkin is articulate, detailed oriented, and his knowledge and experience are very impressive. He has always been thorough is answering my questions, making sure that I understood various options and strategies throughout various points in our case.
    No one likes going to court, but with Mr. Elkin by my side I have the peace of mind that my needs are being addressed with the utmost care and attention.

  9. My experience with Mr. Michael Elkin

    Posted by Edmon, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Personal Injury matter.

    My name is Edmon and I'm here to give great praise to Mr. Michael Elkin. I was referred to him by a close friend and went to see him. Michael took HOURS of his time to help me in EVERY way, gave me perfect and accurate advise and was sincere and compassionate of the situation I was in. His depth of knowledge is amazing and I can attest that not too many attorneys in Illinois (if ANY) are in his league.....I, with all sincerity, mean that (I've also done my research when making that statement!). I hold him in high regard, both, as an experienced and knowledgeable attorney and as an honorable person. As impressive as his credentials are, they do not do him justice until you meet and work with him. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HIM and will not hesitate to hire him if I ever need an attorney. Above and beyond all else, Michael is a genuinely good person and an asset to humanity. THANK YOU MICHAEL for all you did for me.

  10. An amazing and professional lawyer and resource!

    Posted by JP,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Elkin.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    When I met Michael he was a customer of mine, but from the moment I meet him I could tell he really cares about his clients. I was then involved in an accident and called him. Without hesitation he provided me with all the information I needed. More importantly, he provided me with the peace of mind I was looking for. His is definitely a number you want to have in your contacts!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

312-765-7788