Back to Richard’s Profile

Client Review

Richard has received 19 client reviews

Highly Recommend for Chapter 13

Posted by: a Chapter 13 client 19 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I found Rich Fonfrias here on AVVO and feel compelled to review him to share our experience. I went to 3 different highly recommended attorneys before finding Rich on this website. With each of those consultations I felt an impending feeling of doom. When I left Rich’s office after my consultation, it was the first time I felt like everything would be okay and the reason I felt that way was because Rich said it would be okay and I genuinely believed him. All 3 attorneys I had visited before Rich said my husband and I would without a doubt be in a 100% payback because we made too much money. We knew this was something we could not afford and that’s why we were filing Chapter 13. I kept telling these attorneys that but was told there was no way around it, 100% was the only option. To quote one of the attorneys he said to get rid of cable tv, that would save us $80 a month – really? Rich on the other hand was a bit more optimistic and did say 100% payback could be possibility but very highly unlikely. He was also the first attorney to mention that in all likelihood not all of our creditors would make a claim so for example if we had $100k in unsecured debt maybe ¾ would file a claim. This was true for us only about ½ of our creditors filed claims. None of the other attorneys even mentioned this to us. We choose Rich to file our Chapter 13 and I’m so happy we did. He was also very reassuring and optimistic at our 341 hearing. I don’t know how he managed to do it but was able to get us a payment of 4% instead of the 100% all the other attorneys said we would be paying. I can’t tell you the relief of knowing we will be able to live through the next 5 years and be okay. Rich is very knowledge about the in’s and out’s of bankruptcy law. I sincerely can’t recommend him enough. He has saved us a fortune. 4%! Thank you Rich!

The very best bankruptcy/financial attorney one can get, EVER.

Posted by: John A, a Chapter 13 client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Richard Fonfrias is nothing less than a platinum/diamond class attorney. I went to several lawyers and none could come close to match this mans skills in being a lawyer. Rich knows how the laws work, what you are TOTALLY entitled to and treats you like a client, not cattle. When you see Rich, he will be the most calm ezzz going layer you will ever meet. Yes a layer who meets you in jeans and casual shirt. NO gold cufflinks or $1,000 suit here, just a great ezz going well versed attorney. Of the three lawyer I had seen for my chapter 13 with HELOC loan and house underwater. NOBODY could even match his negotiations with the courts Chapter 13, best thing I ever did. My wife and family are now secure and we sleep very well these days. Would I hire him again? ABSOLUTELY, without any exception. Recommend to others? Every time I get. Remember any bankruptcy is not a failure but is financial responsibility through a benefit your US Govt provided for you to use and banks to obey. Do not be afraid, life after is all good. Thank you Rich John A

Responsible & Reliable

Posted by: Dennis & Deborah, a Chapter 7 client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard 1-6 months ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

My wife & I had to make a very difficult decision regarding Bankruptcy and did not know where to turn or who we could trust with such life changing matters. We came to know Richard Fonfrias after hearing him on a local radio program designed to help people get the right information about money matters. We contacted Mr. Fonfrias by phone and were very impressed by the quick response to our voice message, it was less than an hour when he returned our call. He was very polite, caring compassionate and gave clear easy to understand explanations and information about Bankruptcy, during this phone call we received a lot of information and felt very comfortable with this attorney. We then made an appointment to meet with him and were greeted and treated with the same kindness & courtesy we experienced over the phone. He made us both feel very comfortable and addressed all of our concerns, and answered all of our questions, in fact he spent more time with us than the usual hour consultation time allotted. Mr. Fonfrias is an experienced, seasoned professional who is passionate about what he does, he's compassionate and caring and treated us with kindness and respect. In this most difficult time, here is someone we were able to trust and would highly recommend to anyone who is having money problem for whatever reason. Thank you Richard.

Fonfrias got it done

Posted by: Diane, a Chapter 7 client over 3 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I was concerned I wouldn't be able to get chapter 7 relief. I did and I owe it all to Rich. He is a honorable attorney (rare in my experience).

One of Chicago's Best Legal Attorneys

Posted by: a Chapter 13 client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Our very first meeting with Attorney Fonfrias left us feeling that we had chosen the "right" attorney. He was warm, compassionate, reassuring, and quite knowledgeable. He helped dispel the "guilt" that we were carrying, although we knew we had no other recourse due to an unforeseen and unexpected loss of income. Unlike what we perceived from another attorney while considering him for the job, we perceived that Mr. Fonfrias had our very best interest at heart after the very first consultation; he has been a man of his word! He did not do a "rush" job on us. He worked hard to ensure that we received the very best payment plan for our particular financial situation. There is nothing like honest ratings/reviews from ordinary people. We would not hesitate to recommend Attorney Fonfrias to anyone requiring his services. Thank you Attorney Fonfrias! Continue to serve the people "from the heart!"

Professional and knowledgeable to navigate the best course of action

Posted by: a Chapter 7 client almost 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Richard is professional and knowledgeable to provide sound advice and legal counsel. He helped me to navigate a complex set of issues that needed careful balance between bankruptcy and parallel divorce issues. Richard answered all my questions throughout the process and was a strong advocate in representing my best interests from start to finish.

The Very Best

Posted by: LaVerne, a Chapter 7 client about 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

i was in a very bad financial time. I had gone to 5 different lawyers looking for options on bankruptcy. All of them told me my only option was a chapter 13 bankruptcy. They also said I would have to make payments of six to a thousand dollars a month for the next five years. I new there was no way i could make those payments. Then I met Richard. I explained my financial hardship to him. He asked me questions over the phone so I wouldnt have to take any time off. He told me I could do a chapter 7 bankruptcy. I could always call or email him with any concerns and if he didnt answer would always get back to me within 15 min Weather it was to answer a question or just make me feel better about the situation Richard was always right there. It really amazed me how other lawyers told me i couldnt do a chapter 7 and Richard made it happen. He is a very truthful and honest lawyer. I would recommend Richard to everyone

A Trustworthy And Reliable Lawyer

Posted by: Dominic, a Chapter 7 client about 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Rich is a Lawyer you can trust. He helped me file my Chapter 7 and he gave me the pros and cons of filing for bankruptcy. He made my process pain-free and quite easy. I recommend anyone thinking of filing for bankruptcy should schedule an interview with Rich.

Responsive and Professional

Posted by: Tom, a Chapter 7 client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Rich gave us straight forward information without sugar coating the situation or the outcome. He let us know exactly what to expect and made sure that we had all the proper and documentation to make our case succinct and successful.

Pleasant experience

Posted by: Tracy, a Chapter 13 client over 4 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Richard Fonfrias

I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.

Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Bankruptcy is a life-changing event and something I thought I would never have to do. Working with Rich made me more comfortable about the option of bankruptcy which made my financial responsibilities easy to manage. Rich communicated with me in a timely manner and he definitely put my mind at ease. Even though my case has been settled, Rich continues to follow up with me to make sure everything is working out. He was, and still is, available when I have questions or concerns. I have no hesitation in highly recommending Rich.