Richard George Fonfrias’s Reviews

Richard George Fonfrias

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fonfrias got it done

    Posted by Diane, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was concerned I wouldn't be able to get chapter 7 relief. I did and I owe it all to Rich. He is a honorable attorney (rare in my experience).

  2. One of Chicago's Best Legal Attorneys

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Our very first meeting with Attorney Fonfrias left us feeling that we had chosen the "right" attorney. He was warm, compassionate, reassuring, and quite knowledgeable. He helped dispel the "guilt" that we were carrying, although we knew we had no other recourse due to an unforeseen and unexpected loss of income.

    Unlike what we perceived from another attorney while considering him for the job, we perceived that Mr. Fonfrias had our very best interest at heart after the very first consultation; he has been a man of his word! He did not do a "rush" job on us. He worked hard to ensure that we received the very best payment plan for our particular financial situation.

    There is nothing like honest ratings/reviews from ordinary people. We would not hesitate to recommend Attorney Fonfrias to anyone requiring his services.

    Thank you Attorney Fonfrias! Continue to serve the people "from the heart!"

  3. Professional and knowledgeable to navigate the best course of action

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard is professional and knowledgeable to provide sound advice and legal counsel. He helped me to navigate a complex set of issues that needed careful balance between bankruptcy and parallel divorce issues. Richard answered all my questions throughout the process and was a strong advocate in representing my best interests from start to finish.

  4. The Very Best

    Posted by LaVerne, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    i was in a very bad financial time. I had gone to 5 different lawyers looking for options on bankruptcy. All of them told me my only option was a chapter 13 bankruptcy. They also said I would have to make payments of six to a thousand dollars a month for the next five years. I new there was no way i could make those payments. Then I met Richard. I explained my financial hardship to him. He asked me questions over the phone so I wouldnt have to take any time off. He told me I could do a chapter 7 bankruptcy. I could always call or email him with any concerns and if he didnt answer would always get back to me within 15 min Weather it was to answer a question or just make me feel better about the situation Richard was always right there. It really amazed me how other lawyers told me i couldnt do a chapter 7 and Richard made it happen. He is a very truthful and honest lawyer. I would recommend Richard to everyone

  5. A Trustworthy And Reliable Lawyer

    Posted by Dominic, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Rich is a Lawyer you can trust. He helped me file my Chapter 7 and he gave me the pros and cons of filing for bankruptcy. He made my process pain-free and quite easy. I recommend anyone thinking of filing for bankruptcy should schedule an interview with Rich.

  6. Responsive and Professional

    Posted by Tom, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Rich gave us straight forward information without sugar coating the situation or the outcome. He let us know exactly what to expect and made sure that we had all the proper and documentation to make our case succinct and successful.

  7. Pleasant experience

    Posted by Tracy, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Bankruptcy is a life-changing event and something I thought I would never have to do. Working with Rich made me more comfortable about the option of bankruptcy which made my financial responsibilities easy to manage. Rich communicated with me in a timely manner and he definitely put my mind at ease. Even though my case has been settled, Rich continues to follow up with me to make sure everything is working out. He was, and still is, available when I have questions or concerns. I have no hesitation in highly recommending Rich.

  8. Review of Richard George Fonfrias

    Posted by Sharon, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am actively working with Rich Fonfrias at this time. I understand my Chapter 7 bankruptcy case is to be filed within days. I have been very pleased with Rich Fonfrias' services and that of his staff to date.

  9. Rich Fonfrias

    Posted by Josh, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We have been dealing with Rich for a very personal reason, and he has been nothing but the best in both his trust and commitment to us!

  10. Sincere and Honest

    Posted by James, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Richard Fonfrias.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I first met Rich He listened to what I needed, and did not mention anything about his fees! He wanted to see how he could help me first. After that was established we laid out several options for me. Rich gave me his undivided attention and answered every question I had, it was as if I was speaking with a Life long friend, and i just met the guy! My first impression was a very good one and I could not be more pleased. I have worked with attorney's in the past , but I have not met anyone as sincere and helpful as Rich!

Call now for a free consultation.

312-969-0730