Modupe A. Sobo’s Reviews

Modupe A. Sobo

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Job well done

    Posted by LTanya,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.

    Ms. Sobo did an outstanding job with my case. She was very knowledgeable and compassionate about my case. She kept me informed of all documents and explained in detail all steps and procedures. She truly made this a smooth experience for me!!

  2. A thanks well worth every penny

    Posted by Randall, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe 6-12 months ago.
    • Modupe handled my Child Custody matter.

    As odd as this world would allow me to post a review, in favor of a father seeking to gain legal assistance for primary custody of my daughter. I was referred to Ms Sobo, who started a very efficient job at obtaining an understanding of my character & exactly what I was seeking but more importantly what was best fit for my daughter. Ms Sobo is a very professional, trustworthy lawyer who I've referred on a few occasions & will continue to hire when needed. Our decision to hire Ms Sobo has really help relieve my family & I of a burden we did not want.

  3. Forget the Rest...and Hire the Best!

    Posted by Peter, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe 6-12 months ago.
    • Modupe handled my Child Support matter.

    I needed to find an attorney to negotiate a settlement of my outstanding child arrears judgement. The judgement was an amount that I would never be able to pay. When I had my first consultation with Modupe I could tell that she was a caring advocate who could negotiate a settlement that would be acceptable to all parties involved. She is a very well spoken, knowledgeable and assertive lawyer. Her approach was pragmatic and efficient. She kept me informed on a timely basis by phone or email.
    She is very methodical and detailed in her billing of her time. And I found that her sevices were very reasonably priced. But most importantly, I was extremely pleased with the results . Her efforts resulted in a settlement significanlty less than the original judgement amount. I am eternally grateful to her.

    I will always be her staunchest advocate!

  4. Review of Attorney Modupe Sobo

    Posted by David J., a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe 6-12 months ago.
    • Modupe handled my Child Support matter.

    I highly recommend Attorney Sobo, her knowledge of the legal process as well as her ability to apply the law remains A-1. Attorney Sobo's responsiveness was prompt and very thorough. Attorney Sobo's communication was always precise and to the point. The legal expertise of Attorney Sobo was a far greater value than what attorney Sobo's fees were for the services provided.

  5. highly recommend

    Posted by Jerry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe 6-12 months ago.
    • Modupe handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    My name is Jerry Pierce I have known attorney Sobo for over twenty years, there are few attorneys that take make you feel confident, she's a proven leader in her profession and I highly recommend her to you, you have to check her out for yourself to see what I've been pleased with.

  6. The best

    Posted by Jephious, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe 6-12 months ago.
    • Modupe handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    She was the best lawery I have has she on time straight to the point and she knows what she's doing I would recommend Modupe sobo to any and everyone she excellent.

  7. Attorney Sobo is Professional, Aggressive, Knowledgeable, with Excellent Character. None are better in Civil or Domestic cases.

    Posted by Harith,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe 1-3 years ago.

    I am still ecstatic about the way Attorney Modupe Sobo worked on my behalf! Attorney Modupe Sobo represented me in a complicated civil case that took over 2 years to resolve - but it was resolved in amy favor. While representing me, she was aggressive, insightful, and unwavering in her advocacy on my part. She always stood up to the Assistant State's Attorneys and was expert in her knowledge of the law. Before meeting Attorney Sobo, I tried to find a lawyer on my own - without consulting anyone. I met with several other attorneys who didn't feel the case could be resolved in my favor, were negative in their attitude about my need to go to court, and lacked the passion, I as a client, want to see/feel from my legal representative. I talked to several close friends who are lawyers, but not in civil/domestic cases, and they recommended I go see Attorney Sobo. From my initial meeting and throughout the numerous court hearings, Attorney Sobo was always there, supportive and positive in her advocacy on my behalf. She saved me over $70,000.

    So, without any reservation, I would recommend her to anyone, seeking expert, professional, passionate, and caring legal representation or counsel in any type of domestic or civil case. In my opinion, you will be hard-pressed to find a better (or even equal) legal advocate in the Chicago.

  8. excellent lawyer, fights hard for her clients

    Posted by Manoel Alaba Ferreira, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe more than 3 years ago.
    • Modupe handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Modupe Sobo law firm took up my case for me and fought very hard to help me resolve my messy divorce and child custody fight in a timely manner. She was very aggressive against my opponent and was very knowledgeable about the law . Modupe Sobo firm ensured that I was not cheated and she saved me a lot of court expenses and money, despite picking up my case at a late and damaged stage because my first attorney Mr. Axelrod (who I fired) had really messed up the case and i had a judge who was biased and angry towards me but My second lawyer Ms. Modupe Sobo was able to salvage the case for me and got me a pretty good settlement. she was very good followed the letter of the law despite facing a hostile judge, i got good custodial rights for my daughter. Excellent lawyer I recommend her any day to everyone.

  9. self serving...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe more than 3 years ago.
    • Modupe handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Modupe took a significant cash retainer from a litigant with no financial resources and on public aid thru no fault of their own. Modupe did not have to pay filing fees or an appearance fee as that was already prepaid by litigant. Modupe agreed to handle the case for support and property concerns with one page certified petitions already on file. There was already a hearing scheduled that Modupe agreed to with me, the Court and the other party. Modupe then filed a petition for fees and then withdrew from the case. I had to stand trial by myself. The retainer could of been used compensate a legal aid lawyer for at least 20 hours of legal administration or to use for the basic necessities of life. if you think this is slanderous, look up case [case number removed] at the Cook County Court Clerk's office website. I question this attorney's fiduciary obligation, integrity and trustworthiness. Just another self-serving bad apple. Modupe's actions or lack thereof caused unnecessary financial losses and unnecessary delay. Needless to say, it has weakened my trust, faith and confidence in our legal system and of the conduct allowed by a licensed lawyer.

  10. Review of Attorney Sobo

    Posted by Sharon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Modupe Sobo.
    • I hired Modupe more than 3 years ago.
    • Modupe handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Sobo represented me in a divorce. I found her to very knowledgeable of the law. She was well prepared and kept me well informed and well prepared for each court date. I recommend her highly.