Eliot Jessop’s Reviews

Eliot Jessop

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Knows his stuff

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    According to our experience Mr. Jessop is a very skilled lawyer who goes above and beyond for his clients. He obviously knows the law, rules and regulations and court procedures, and knows how to help people stay afloat in the legalese sea.

    Just one conversation and one filed motion after our first appointment we already had our wrongfully blocked thousands of dollars saved, as he got our funds released. He is very professional, and he calls and keeps us regularly informed of the status of our case. He doesn't hesitate to spend his time to explain legal jargon to us common mortals and always gives us a description of different options before we make a decision for the further course of action. He's knowledgeable, he fights for the little guy, and he treats people with respect. I highly recommend him.

  2. No one better for foreclosure defense

    Posted by Rachael, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have 3 homes in foreclosure due to divorce .. business loss etc.. extensive loan modification processing times.. all are rentals. Eliot and his partner Gershon took these on with out a problem. kept me informed... REASSURED me...and low and behold TWO look like they are being "vacated'.. and the other one is being extensively delayed to allow me time to rebuild. Reasonable cost. I do not have to go to court..I am kept informed. Low stress. Perfect. I HAD tried other 'foreclosure defense attorneys'.. no one else knows what is going on.. other attorneys delay.. Eliot Jessop and Gershon Kulek FIGHT BACK and are WINNING. Only ones in Chicago area doing this.

  3. satisfied client

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Eliot has a wealth of practical knowledge about how to approach a case and what outcomes should be expected. He's willing to really try for the client. Very responsive and a decent human being too. I definitely recommend him for any case involving financial transactions. He does his homework and is fearless and creative, while at the same time being honest and ethical.

  4. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • Eliot handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would definitely recommend Eliot Jessop for any mortgage related matters. In my personal experience working with him, I was delighted and benefited from his legal knowledge.

  5. Top Notch Attorney

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Eliot Jessop an excellent attorney knowledgeable in his field of practice. I would recommend him to anyone seeking an attorney for foreclosure defense.

  6. Stay Away!!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am in total agreement with the first 3 reviews... Stay away!!! Does not return calls, emails or even faxes. i feel terrible for the woman who answers the phone and just says she has not seen him, does not know when he will be in. Except for one time she told me he had a medical issue. She knows me well, and after the 10th phone call in a week she starts telling me sorry honey!

    The best part is talking to the supposed intern and then the new partners or law clerks that seem to come and go and never handle anything.

    One even better I have no idea what the progress is on the case he is working on for me. I'm not even sure if he does.

    I feel bad for writing this, but its the truth and you need to be made aware of what you are getting yourself into

  7. GREAT HELP TO ME

    Posted by Lee, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Jessop told me the facts and went right to the point. He was easy to talk to and knowledgeable and responsive. I would recommend him, and I would use him again. His price was right. and he did a superb job with my messy situation.

  8. Sorry to Say the Truth

    Posted by a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sorry to say that it is true. This lawyer gives you the impression that he is going to give you the best service, then after you pay him, he or his wife who was acting as his assistant never call you back. Probably because they work so slow and are apparently so unorganized that they have no results for you. Now they have this other poor girl acting as receptionist who sounds like she's drowning in phone calls she cannot handle. She takes down your name and number but states that she doesn't work for either of them and so she doesn't know why they can't return a call. Yes, this is a joke of an office and law firm. Cannot recommend this lawyer to anyone unfortunetly. .

  9. DO NOT USE THIS ATTORNEY YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • Eliot handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Very unprofessional, very persistent in getting a credit card or debit card on how to charge you first, with out going over my case or explaining on how the step by step procedure of my case and final outcome would turn out! The secretary is also, very unprofessional using very distasteful language over the phone to express herself. This is truly a joke of a law firm! I would not recommend this attorney to anyone! A big waste of my day, I wish I would have checked AVVO. com in the first place to find a reputable attorney before going to Jessop office. AVVO is a good web site for us the general public to have, very informative Thanks! AVVO.

  10. NEVER NEVER NEVER USE HIM.

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Eliot Jessop.
    • I hired Eliot more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    First off he doesn't appear to know anything about law. He never returns your phone call after you pay him. He works in a shoe box office with 12 other attorneys or so, and the secratary to them is horrible. He never answers the phone, and you cant even leave him messages on his cell because the mail box is always full. He is so unorginized its a joke. In addition to all of this he is so not reliable and will lye to you about court dates and outcomes.....Not skilled, Not Trustworthy, He is def. an ambulance chaser. Joke of a law office,