Joan Marie Fenstermaker’s Reviews

Joan Marie Fenstermaker

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Joan is a very good lawyer!

    Posted by xudong, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 1-6 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have a problem with a devil and crazy landlord who not only confiscated my $900 deposit unreasonably, but also threatened to sue me for extra $50000. My friend recommended Joan to me. Joan was very professional. She explained my case so I had a full understanding of my right and violation of the landlord. She helped me to fight the landlord and finally we won the lawsuit. I definitely would recommend her to a friend.

  2. Knows Chicago Tenant Law Inside and Out

    Posted by Dan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 1-6 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Joan helped me get my security deposit back from my landlord. Since she knows the RLTO in detail, she also helped win additional damages from my landlord, which I didn't even know I was owed! Joan is great to work with; she can walk you through your escalation options, and provide you the proper info to make the decision of which action to take. I recommend her.

  3. Call Joan to get your security deposit back!

    Posted by Doug, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    When my landlord illegally withheld my security deposit, the Metropolitan Tenants Organization recommended that I contact Joan Fenstermaker. We had a short phone discussion to go over the facts of the case and she drafted a demand letter detailing all of my landlord's violations of the RLTO. Once the demand letter was received, Joan facilitated the negotiation process with the landlord and I was able to settle out of court for more than the value of my original security deposit! Joan is an expert on the Chicago RLTO and was clear, prompt, and responsive (by phone and/or email) throughout the entire process. If you want to get your security deposit back quickly, I would strongly recommend contacting Joan Fenstermaker.

  4. Great Attorney!

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Real Estate matter.

    Joan has helped my family with the purchase of two properties. We found her to be extremely knowledgeable, efficient, and responsive. We definitely recommend her to others!

  5. Smart, knows the code & practicalities, got results

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    I am so glad I hired Joan after hearing her ad. I could have burned a lot of time trying to get results myself, but it would have taken much longer to get results - and perhaps not as good of results as she produced. I’m an attorney myself, but don’t practice in this area. She handled the case professionally, quickly & got VERY favorable results. Not only does she know the Chicago LL/Tenant ordinance inside & out, her past experiences will work for you to get the best results out of landlords & their attorneys. Due to her working probably 100s of these cases, she pinpointed what problems areas my case had & what strong points it had. I lack that experience & I would have spun my wheels trying to get maybe 1/2 of what she got. Don't waste your time trying to do it yourself to negotiate w/ a landlord or his attorney; cut to the chase & end your frustration & let her work it out for you.

  6. best in Chicago

    Posted by Ryan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    Had an issue with my landlord stealing from me she was very informative and helpful she won us our case couldnt have asked for anything more

  7. Do NOT Hire Fenstermaker, She is Dishonest, Unprofessional, & Damaging

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 6-12 months ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    She stated, during our phone conversation of over 30 minutes that she would take the case (Retaliatory Eviction), she gave me legal advice, and she acknowledged how strong, meritorious the case is for me, that she will represent me, and to contact her once it got to a certain point so that she can file her Appearance and get started. Also, per our conversation, as a re-cap I emailed her a brief outline of the case (what occurred, the illegal things the landlord executed). However, once I followed her instructions/legal advice on the case, and her instruction to contact her so she can get started with the representation, she gave no reason for the following...........................her entire demeanor changed, she dropped the ball, she completely renigged, and left me hanging; of course at the most vital urgent and time sensitive point and when I needed her most. This caused severe Damages and are still to this day Damaging to me, my living situation, my career, my health, my time,my well being.

  8. true professional

    Posted by Tim, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    ..same old story. I got my deposit withheld for absolutely no reason. I consulted with 3 other lawyers before Joan. It turned out; I’m in the worst possible combination of legal formalities. All of them basically advised me to give up because neither they or anyone else will move their fingers about it, unless I give nearly 3 times the amount, I fight for, just to start a case…, so unfair and frustrating!
    One of the lawyers at least recommended Ms. Fenstermaker to me. So I called her. For the next about 2-3 weeks, we spoke couple times by the phone and exchanged couple e-mails…so – no many empty talks. She also confirmed, I’m in a bad situation but didn’t say “no”, neither “yes”. As I said, she called me couple times, asked me couple questions….the third time Joan called me, she just asked me: where to send the check with my money back!!! Thank You!

  9. Great tenant attorney

    Posted by Dan, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

    After our children were found to have lead toxication and the city inspector found very heavy lead paint all throughout the building, it got increasingly difficult to communicate with our landlord, who obviously wanted to get rid of us as soon and easy as possible.
    Joan, from the first conversation on, listened very carefully and gave us the confidence that we were going to settle our issue in a very reasonable way and for very reasonable fees. Joan was friendly, patient, and pleasant to work with. I definitely recommend her as a tenant attorney!

  10. She Made the Impossible, POSSIBLE

    Posted by Elaine, a Residential client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joan Fenstermaker.
    • I hired Joan 1-3 years ago.
    • Joan handled my Residential matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had a CRAZY situation with a Crappy ex-Landlord. they refused to give me my deposit after I moved out and then accused me of not paying the rent.

    Joan took the time to listen to my case and she helped me stay calm and strong while the opposition's attorney treated me as if I were little more than dirt.

    Long story short: Joan got them to settle and then some. She is now my first choice for any and ALL my legal matters.