Daniel G. Galivan’s Reviews

Daniel G. Galivan

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great Attorney, made the whole process easier

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Dan Galivan was referred to me as an excellent and fair attorney. He was always very responsive and made time for me and any questions I had. Very knowledgeable on the process and explaining to me what to expect, good and the possible bad. I was happy with the ultimate outcome.

  2. Knowledgeable and Savvy Attorney

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Juvenile matter.

    Daniel handled a case for my son, and the whole time he reassured my son and I we had nothing to worry about. Our case was a joke and eventually was dismissed. His overall demeanor and professionalism was exactly what we needed in our time of need.

  3. Dan is on my speed-dial for a reason!

    Posted by Chad N.,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.

    Dan made me feel at ease over my case. The first time I had a consultation, he agreed to meet me at his office after hours as I couldn't get out of work early enough. He listened to my side and clearly explained to me what to expect regarding my case, how he planned on approaching it and also provided me with regular updates. It truly is great to have someone passionate about their work on your side. Even after my case was dropped, he also helped me expunge my arrest record as well. I highly recommend Dan for his professionalism and love for his work.

  4. "Worst Attorney you could ever hire"

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Originally called him because of a recommendation from someone that said he would handle our case inexpensively with payments and we were looking for an attorney for a civil case also , we had an ongoing criminal case and he wanted to hear about that instead said he would do it for a certain fee and then each phone conversation he upped the price!!

    He Never followed through with anything involving the civil case after he found out he would not make much money with that apparently, so he kept talking about the criminal and wanted to do the criminal because he knew there would be more money involved, he never sent out any letters keeping us informed to what was going on with the case. If you called him during the day you could never get a hold of him he would return calls at 10 o'clock at night, he didn't show up for court one day because his car broke down an then he was late another Court date by two hours!!

    Totally unprofessional, look elsewhere for a more reliable on the ball Attorney!! One that doesn't quote you a price and then up it at each conversation!! We actually had to fire him what a waste of our money! Warning he does not carry the insurance more reputable Attorneys carry either. We had to hire a new reputable insured Attorney one that is doing a better job!

    1. Daniel G. Galivan

      Daniel Galivan

      Lawyer Comment:

      This review is not from a client of mine.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  5. Not Happy with services at all!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel 1-3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had a Order of protection case that I had Dan taking care of. At first I felt comfortable with Dan, but as the case moved forward, I felt less and less happy with him. The only regret I have at this point is ever hiring him in the first place. I would never recommend him to anyone!!!

    1. Daniel G. Galivan

      Daniel Galivan

      Lawyer Comment:

      This post is from a client who already the Emergency Order of Protection (EOP) entered against him when he retained me. As is always my practice, the objectives of the representation were clearly established at the initial consultation. They were: Defend or vacate the EOP, protect the client from entry of a Plenary Order of Protection, secure access to the Petitioner's home to retrieve all of his personal belongings, secure the release of the client's rifle and FOID Card that were seized by the police, and avoid or defend any separate claims for back rent by the Petitioner. Every single objective, without exception, was achieved. We ultimately signed an Agreed Order disposing of the case by way of a Civil No-Contact Order that would not be entered against his record. The EOP was vacated, no Plenary Order was entered, I secured his repeated acess to the home (well beyond the limited period prescribed in the statute), all of his personal property was retrieved, as were the gun and FOID card, and he paid nothing to Petitioner on her separate claims for back rent. As I believe input from all clients is important, and in keeping with my efforts to always meet client expectations, I emailed a request to find out why he was dissatisfied with my services. No reply was ever received.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Very Knowledgeable

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Galivan is an excellent, honest lawyer. He was always accessible to answer any questions that I had throughout the process and always kept me informed. He handled several different matters for me that demonstrated his broad knowledge of different areas of the law.

  7. Traffic Violation

    Posted by Jim, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Galivan was recommended to me by a trusted friend.
    He has gone out of his way to assist me and my family while I was in the hospital due to an automobile accident and unable to communicate.
    My case has been going on for some time only because he is not satisfied with the lack of information and missing police reports from the accident.
    He has been very helpful keeping me informed and advising me of my options and their consequences.
    I am confident I will have had every opportunity provided to me by him enabling us to possibly win my case.

  8. Above and Beyond

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I can't Thank Dan enough for everything he has done to help me. With hardly any notice, he was by my side in court(in McHenry) and was prepared and able to successfully defend me. I am forever grateful for the time and trouble that he saved me with his over-the-top service.

  9. Truthful, trustworthy, and timely

    Posted by Brooke, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have used Daniel Galivan for legal advice as well as traffic violations and a contract dispute. I have also recommended him to numerous people that has had a legal issue and they have felt that he had their best interest at hand. He has also helped my family with other violations and has proved very effective. I highly recommend his legal services to anyone who is seeking a lawyer.

  10. Client

    Posted by Dan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Daniel Galivan.
    • I hired Daniel more than 3 years ago.
    • Daniel handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Galivan was by far the best lawyer I have ever had to deal with. From promptly returning my calls, to filling me in on my case status. I was charged with a DUI for not taking the breathalizer, and he clearly explained to me my options. When all was said and done the case was dismissed, and I had my license back in no time. I highly recommend Mr. Dan Galivan.