Judy A. Goldstein’s Reviews

Judy A. Goldstein

Average Rating

Based on 29 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very helpful

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy more than 3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Judy was very helpful and answered all my questions in a swift and proper manner. I highly recommend her to anyone who has questions about will county court system

  2. Prompt and imformative

    Posted by Ann,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.

    I was amazed at how prompt and helpful Ms. Goldstein was in response to my question. She was knowledgeable, informative and patient with my many questions.

  3. Professional and Helpful...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Judy handled everything I needed during my divorce, and kept me up to date on everything. Even during the process when my then wife and I tried counseling some more, Judy was supportive and didn't try to push the process to quickly, or in any particular direction. The case proceeded at a rate that I needed and felt comfortable with. The separation and divorce were difficult times and I know at times, our case was delayed because I just needed more time to accept the reality. Judy was fine with this which made working with her so much easier.

    During my divorce, I did have a need for an attorney to represent my interest in a case that was taking place halfway across the state. While Judy didn't specifically handle that type of case---or the location---she was able to reach out to her network and find an attorney that could step in and represent my interests. What I learned was that the other attorney she recommended for the other case seemed to be the go to guy as well, as he was able to handle everything for me.

    So, not only did she handle my divorce, but had her network to reach out to on another matter for me. I am truly lucky to have worked with her, and thankful for her efforts on my behalf...

    Thanks again Judy!

  4. Great lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.

    Gave me great advice and very fast feedback. She answered all my questions.

  5. Justice finally!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been fighting my ex on and off for years trying to get increased child support and basic cooperation in raising our daughter. For example he has refused to obey court orders requiring him to turn over his tax returns. I couldn't afford to take him back to court until I remarried and got some help from my current husband. My ex still refused to obey the orders and our daughter has lost out on a lot of scholarship money because deadlines came up and we could not fill out financial applications. Well, we went to court after my ex and his attorney stalled everything for months. He was found in contempt and ordered to turn over his tax returns or he will go to jail. I will also get an increase in child support for the few more months until our daughter graduates and he has to pay my attorney's fees. I am very grateful I found Judy. She did a wonderful job. I just wish I had hired her years ago.

  6. Wonderful Experience. Thank you!

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We were nervous that something could happen and our adoption would not go through. The lawyer explained the whole process to us and made sure we understood each step. Everything went smooth and as described and the adoption of our child from South American is now final. We are very grateful to Judy Goldstein and her office.

  7. DOWN TO EARTH LAWYER, GREAT REPRESENTATION

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy more than 3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I originally hired Judy Goldstein because friends told me about her. It was supposed to be a simple uncontested divorce. My wife became hostile and demanding and tried to turn the kids against me so the case took a bad turn. Judy handled the change and the new circumstances professionally and with ease. She told me what I needed to worry about and what might be frivolous. I was always kept in the loop and knew the status of my case at all times. Nothing was done without discussing with me first.

    What we thought would be a quick case turned out to last over a year. The fees charged were fair and many times I was not charged for things that Judy or her office did.

    Judy’s office staff is knowledgeable and courteous. Everyone is down to earth. Judy and the others made me feel comfortable when I called or came in the office no matter how upset I was.

    I have referred several friends and family members to this office and those who have hired her are pleased. I especially like Judy’s respect for members of the military, She is always willing to help them when she can.

  8. Hire her

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The lawyer was wonderful to deal with. I understood every step of the process, even when my ex was being very difficult. We had some unique problems and Judy was able to get a result which was fair to both of us. I appreciated the honest billing. There were many no charges. The office staff was great to deal with. Overall, I could not have asked for a better lawyer for my divorce. Thank you, Judy!

  9. stay away

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    She does not keep you informed will keep pushing cases longer than need be to get more money out of you. She doesn't return phone calls, has a secretary who apparently does relay messages. Not trustworthy at all. Beware is all I have to say. She is in a hurry to bill you and bleed you dry yet she doesn't keep you informed unless you call the office and then you'll be lucky if you get a call back if you are leaving a message with that incompetent secretary...for the money she charges keeping clients posted should be a priority.

    1. Judy A. Goldstein

      Judy Goldstein

      Lawyer Comment:

      Stephanie was kept apprised of every aspect of her case. Letters went out. Telephone calls were placed. Voice messages were left. 9.5 months after her file was closed, Stephanie called at 6: 11 pm. the evening before and twice again on the Thursday before Labor Day weekend. She spoke to my assistant the first time and left a voice mail later the same day, demanding an immediate return call or she would file a police report. I was out of town and did not receive the messages until the following Tuesday but believed I would see her the following day. There was nothing that could have been done in the meantime.

      We substantially reduced Stephanie’s initial retainer as a courtesy. After her divorce was finalized, she had a relatively small balance but probably would not have had a balance had we requested our usual retainer. We billed her on a regular basis, as is our policy for all clients. Nearly 3 months after Stephanie’s file was closed, we placed our first call requesting payment of the balance due. 5 more calls went out over the next 5 months. We received no return calls. I guess that is what Stephanie refers to as “in a hurry to bill.”

      Stephanie’s divorce took about 6 months to complete which was quite reasonable considering she had children and a house which was sold. The duration of a case has no bearing on the amount of billable time spent. During the time we represented her, Stephanie called the office 7 times and each of her calls was handled but did not require a return call. Two of those calls were to schedule an appointment. Another was simply to report a change of address. Letters went out advising Stephanie of the progress of her case.

      I’m sorry that Stephanie is so unhappy with our representation. There is really nothing more we could have done for her.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Honest Lawyer

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I didn't always hear what I wanted to hear but the attorney was always honest with me. She kept me informed so I knew exactly what was going on with my case. The billing was fair. The office help was polite. I am happy with the results of my case.