Judy A. Goldstein’s Reviews

Judy A. Goldstein

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. It's finally over!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.

    After months and months of her lawyer stalling our divorce, we finally finished the case. I got custody of my son and more child support than I expected. My ex lied about her cash income but we were able to get past that. She is also responsible for her own loans which she wanted me to pay for. I thank Ms. Goldstein and her staff for sticking it out with me and for getting me such a good outcome. I feel free for the first time in years.

  2. GREAT LAWYER!

    Posted by a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 6-12 months ago.
    • Judy handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We were concerned about getting a guardianship in place for our disabled son who was going to turn 18 in a few weeks. Judy knew just what needed to be done and the day after his 18th birthday, the guardianship was in place so we could apply for the benefits he needs. The staff was friendly and fees fair and reasonable, In fact, we even got a refund since our retainer was not used up. We have given Judy's name to several of our son's classmates' parents who need the same type of legal work. We highly recommend her!

  3. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 6-12 months ago.
    • Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am so grateful for Judy and her staff. They all kept me focused and grounded during a very stressful period in my life. Judy's knowledge and legal advice was excellent. She is very down to earth. Her staff was courteous and efficient. They kept me informed of the progress of my case. Billing was fair. I especially liked all the No Charges. Unlike other lawyers, this office does not charge for copying or travel. I highly recommend Judy Goldstein!

  4. Not for me.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was very excited to find Judy on this site and was happy to call her up and meet with her. I hired Judy in Nov '13 to help change my JPA. The first time we met she did not want my current wife to come into our consultation. I told her if she was not able to come in then we will get a new lawyer. After we meet, I retained her a few days later. I dropped off my money and they cashed the check the next day. All they had to do was write up 3 little things that my ex and I have already agreed upon. 3 weeks later I called and talked to Frank, her assistant, who informed me that my letter was never sent out After he looked into it he called back and said they "lost the file but they did find it and will send it out the next day". Once my ex received the paperwork that was 4 weeks late.... THE 3 EASY PARTS WERE WRITTEN WRONG AND NOT AT ALL WHAT WE WROTE DOWN AND I HIRED THEM TO DO. This pissed off my ex and made her not sign anything at all. After meeting Judy in court and informing her about the constant mistakes her office made she informed me that we can resend it to her correctly. She took the information down in her blackberry and I called the office the next day. I was told that they would do this after I paid her another $1100!!!! I guess the first $1100 was so they could learn how to file their files and learn to copy what the client has specifically wrote out. If she was good I did not see it. I believe she is very experienced and that she may work for some. She did not work for me and it left a very bad taste in my mouth.

    1. Judy A. Goldstein

      Judy Goldstein

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, when a client does not furnish accurate or complete information, the outcome can be different or could take longer than anticipated. That is what happened here with Mr. M. Additionally, the client decided to stop further proceedings before conclusion of the matter so his goal was never met although it could and should have been a rather simple process once the inaccuracies were cleared up. As for fees, the original retainer was reduced as a professional courtesy and based upon the client's representation that this would be completely uncontested, which was not what happened. We did not bill for the additional fees earned once the client opted to withdraw his motion. Lawyers are neither miracle workers nor fortune tellers. We must work with the facts presented and within the confines of the judicial system.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

    2. Judy A. Goldstein

      Judy Goldstein

      Lawyer Comment:

      I wish Mr. M. nothing but the best.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  5. Very helpful

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy more than 3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Judy was very helpful and answered all my questions in a swift and proper manner. I highly recommend her to anyone who has questions about will county court system

  6. Prompt and imformative

    Posted by Ann,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.

    I was amazed at how prompt and helpful Ms. Goldstein was in response to my question. She was knowledgeable, informative and patient with my many questions.

  7. Professional and Helpful...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Judy handled everything I needed during my divorce, and kept me up to date on everything. Even during the process when my then wife and I tried counseling some more, Judy was supportive and didn't try to push the process to quickly, or in any particular direction. The case proceeded at a rate that I needed and felt comfortable with. The separation and divorce were difficult times and I know at times, our case was delayed because I just needed more time to accept the reality. Judy was fine with this which made working with her so much easier.

    During my divorce, I did have a need for an attorney to represent my interest in a case that was taking place halfway across the state. While Judy didn't specifically handle that type of case---or the location---she was able to reach out to her network and find an attorney that could step in and represent my interests. What I learned was that the other attorney she recommended for the other case seemed to be the go to guy as well, as he was able to handle everything for me.

    So, not only did she handle my divorce, but had her network to reach out to on another matter for me. I am truly lucky to have worked with her, and thankful for her efforts on my behalf...

    Thanks again Judy!

  8. Great lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.

    Gave me great advice and very fast feedback. She answered all my questions.

  9. Justice finally!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been fighting my ex on and off for years trying to get increased child support and basic cooperation in raising our daughter. For example he has refused to obey court orders requiring him to turn over his tax returns. I couldn't afford to take him back to court until I remarried and got some help from my current husband. My ex still refused to obey the orders and our daughter has lost out on a lot of scholarship money because deadlines came up and we could not fill out financial applications. Well, we went to court after my ex and his attorney stalled everything for months. He was found in contempt and ordered to turn over his tax returns or he will go to jail. I will also get an increase in child support for the few more months until our daughter graduates and he has to pay my attorney's fees. I am very grateful I found Judy. She did a wonderful job. I just wish I had hired her years ago.

  10. Wonderful Experience. Thank you!

    Posted by a Adoption client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judy Goldstein.
    • I hired Judy 1-3 years ago.
    • Judy handled my Adoption matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We were nervous that something could happen and our adoption would not go through. The lawyer explained the whole process to us and made sure we understood each step. Everything went smooth and as described and the adoption of our child from South American is now final. We are very grateful to Judy Goldstein and her office.