Laurie Joseph Wasserman’s Reviews

Laurie Joseph Wasserman

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Mrs. Laurie Wasserman- My Experience Working With Her

    Posted by Kathryn, a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 6-12 months ago.
    • Laurie handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I worked with Mrs. Wasserman on a very sensitive case. She was not only professional , but also kind and thoughtful. She helped me through a case that was very hard for me and without her support I most likely would have dropped the case because of the defendant's defamation of my character. I have a friend who recently needed a lawyer and I told her without question to go to Laurie. She's met with her and so far also appreciates her professionalism and most importantly her sensitivity.

  2. Highly recommend

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 6-12 months ago.
    • Laurie handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Ms. Wasserman helped me receive fair compensation from a fortune 500 company after it dissolved the business line without warning.

  3. Outstanding Employment Lawyer and Counselor! Highly Recommended!

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I contacted Attorney Wasserman when my former firm decided to terminate my employment after ten years of service. I was given a severance agreement, but I did not like all the terms or the severance pay. Attorney Wasserman assisted me in negotiating a more appropriate severance package and more favorable provisions in the severance agreement. Additionally, she was the needed support that helped me navigate a difficult and challenging period in my professional life. Her knowledge of employment law and practical advice were incredible, and her rates were reasonable. Without reservation, I highly recommend Laurie.

  4. She will be your strong right arm

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Laurie's legal skills and guidance gave me the confidence to stand up to an employer whose dishonest actions had the potential to harm a long and healthy career. Her kindnesses to me and those of her staff were always very much appreciated. She is "good people"', and that you can't buy at any price. She was a solid right arm to me when the going got tough. Potential clients are fortunate that she is still accepting new clients with her busy schedule. She's the best.

  5. Please don't waste your time, money and efforts...no value add for the clients

    Posted by Client, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 6-12 months ago.
    • Laurie handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    I believe it was a waste of time, money and efforts dealing with her. I suggest any future clients to never fall in unlimited consultation time that her office says...unlimited time could be offered as there may not be enough clients at the first place. Her office’s only motto is to earn money no matter what value they can bring it to their client. She will not be ready for initial phone discussion whether there is a valid case or not and rather than that she will insist on somehow making the client pay for huge initial consultation fees. It's okay to take 1 hr kind of consultation fees but what value she will offer to the clients? In my case, she missed very obvious points and i need to spend time to let her understand. Most of her advices are very generic in nature and it's very easy to google them. Even government agencies like DOL, EEOC they can offer better advices than her. Her office will send you a 8 page documents to fill and even if you have prepared your case very well(documented and help her navigate each and every point)....it was utter disappointment to listen to her very generic and obvious advices. Even non-lawyers can do it better in those situations.
    In my case I went to her to discuss about my severance package and act on the wrongful termination. She took full advantage of the situation (limited consideration period) and was trying to make me sign a fee agreement where her charges were more than what she could have got for me. And most importantly she was trying to rush me up so that I won’t be able to search some other lawyers. It’s so unfortunate that I lost precious time and couldn’t consult some other lawyer.
    What I didn’t liked about her practice is that they never indicated that she will be out of country for one month(after few days) – then why they didn’t told me about that? Obviously they are unethical and greedy to somehow have the clients no matter they will be available after 5 days or not? On top of it-her office will ask you to work with another attorney(which client didn’t even knew and met) at the same rate and fees that she was going to charge you? I have never ever heard of this situation when lawyers are working as a proxy(on behalf) of some other attorney whom client didn’t even knew of and met in the past?
    Avvo.com is a good website – you can discuss about your issue and good part is that attorneys do respond to it and available for initial phone consultation. This way one can find about the quality of lawyers and go ahead.

  6. Advice that saved me thousands

    Posted by a Employee Benefits client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Employee Benefits matter.

    Laurie gave me outstanding advice regarding an employment problem. I was in a position where I was being harassed by a boss who wanted me out of his department , but knew how to "play the system" so there was no way I could prove his actions were, I believe, harassment based on ageism and sexism. She advised me to take an FMLA, and then apply for short term disability, which allowed me to get out an unbearable situation on my own terms. It also allowed me to retain my status as an employee long enough that I could retire without loosing anything from my pension or 401K.

  7. ADA Success

    Posted by John F., a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    She represented me in an ADA case successfully in 2012. She was honest, direct, fair and experienced. She was always there for me, not just on the legal issues, but for the human issues when the defense started to attack my work ethic and career. I would highly recommend her for her professionalism, sound practical advice to represent anyone in employment law litigation. I was very pleased at our success.

  8. I endorse Ms. Wasserman

    Posted by Nancy, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Discrimination matter.

    I went to Laurie with a wrongful termination / discrimination case after being terminated from my job. I had a quite unique case dealing with pregnancy. She listened to my needs and guided me along with great communication and clear expectations. Unfortunately I lost due to an EEOC ruling, but she fought for me as hard as she could. I have recommended her to friends already and will do so again.

  9. Laurie was very effective and exceeded my expectations.

    Posted by Vicky, a Wrongful Termination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Wrongful Termination matter.

    Laurie was very effective. She represented me in a claim against my former employer. She walked me through each step of the way and knew what my company was going to do and a plan for our next steps. She was efficient and warm at a time when I was distressed. I felt that Laurie was the only person looking out for my best interest.
    Initially Laurie interviewed me and set my expectations for what could happen and I immediately felt confident in her ability to help me in this situation. She was clear when she would be available and when I should expect to hear from her and what next steps were in the process . She exceeded my expectation in every way.

  10. Excellant choice

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Wasserman.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Ms. Wasserman represented me in a sexual harassment/retaliation case with a former employer. She and her staff were responsive, caring and always there for me. I was able to get quick and honest answers.The case dragged on for a couple of years and she fought for me every step of the way. I trusted her advice and sought her consul.