John Paul Chitwood’s Reviews

John Paul Chitwood

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. John is extremely knowledgeable in the field of family law.

    Posted by Michel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Chitwood.

    I first contacted John in the spring of 2014 and by August of 2014 my divorce was complete. I was very nervous going into my first meeting with an attorney but John made me feel at ease. He asked me questions about my marriage and sent me home with a questionnaire to complete. I was bracing myself to experience sticker shock (we all know hiring an attorney can be expensive) but I was very pleasantly surprised by his affordable rates.

    Filing for divorce is a scary experience. There are a lot of unknowns, a lot of emotions, and a lot of questions. John is extremely knowledgeable in the field of family law and he spoke to me in terms I could clearly understand, he always promptly returned my calls and emails, and he acted as a median between my ex-husband and me. He really took away the anxiety I had and I am very grateful for all he has done.

    I would highly recommend John Chitwood to anyone in need of an attorney. He is hardworking, professional and extremely knowledgeable.

  2. Great Lawyer.

    Posted by Kara, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    John has helped me in so many ways. He is understanding and caring. He does his job very well. I hired John for a custody matter involving my son. I can say that I did not have custody my son and had no legal rights at that time. My son now lives with me. I will recommend John Chitwood to anyone seeking a great attorney.

  3. Effective, attentive & thorough attorney.

    Posted by Rachel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John was highly recommended to me by a close friend, and I'm very grateful for the advice. He was responsive, effective and thorough.. I'd absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for a divorce attorney.

  4. Good lawyer, bad at responding to calls and emails

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Very good at what he does in the court system, but is horrible in responding back to phone calls and emails and getting back to you in a timely fashion. I've been trying to get a hold of him for a month now just to answer a simple question and have not heard back yet and it's been 6 weeks. No one from his office has contacted me regarding my questions. Not cool. Other than that he is a great lawyer.

  5. Awesome guy!

    Posted by Jason, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.

    John helped out with a child custody battle and stuck with it, even though it took awhile. Excellent lawyer.

  6. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Francis, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Awesome Attorney would recommend him to anyone who needs an attorney.

  7. Divorce/Child Custody

    Posted by Ron C, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    John's professionalism, attention to detail, patience and "tell-it-to-ya-straight" attitude were awesome. His integrity is unquestionable. I was blown away by his valuable service!

  8. Great Lawyer! Would Recommend to anyone!

    Posted by Ahavah, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I rarely write reviews for anyone but I think John Chitwood deserves an Outstanding Review. I initially was considering tackling a custody battle without a lawyer. I quickly realized that the risk of losing custody would not out weigh the benefit of saving money. I called around and got some quotes from bigger law firms. I had to go through secretarys and leave voicemails. Once they called back, most of them wanted to do the free initial consult over the phone. Then I found John Chitwood through a small local search engine. John Answered his phone right away. We spoke about what type of service i was looking for and then he wanted to meet near my location for the initial consult.
    Our initial consult gave me such a relief... He told me what my rights are and what to expect during court.
    While working with John, I was really impressed with his use of communication. We often emailed back and forth for Miscellaneous information. When it was important information we spoke on the phone. This was great for me because I am often busy with my own clients during the day and I never felt like I had to take time out of work to attend to legal stuff. Also, email does not take as much time (for billing purposes). He is flexible with preferred use of communication.

    The custody battle ended up taking almost 2 years. Mr Chitwood had just as much (if not more) determination and stamina than myself. In the end we pulled through and became victorious.

    John Chitwood is a great man. He wont charge you an arm and a leg for his services. Calling him was one of the best decisions I have made in my Adult life.

  9. Open, Honest, Outspoken, Zealous, Excellent

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Chitwood.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my General Practice matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    John is a knowledgeable, well-spoken attorney that looks out for his clients. I know John to be on top of his game, both in the family law realm and in the criminal realm. He's fair, honest and fairly priced. John has been a resource for me with regards to family law for years and continues to provide timely and accurate information.

612-234-2112