In Wisconsin a police report is not admissible into evidence. The facts from the drivers involved will really matter. The uninsured driver may ultimately be held responsible when a subrogation attorney for the other two cars asks the uninsured driver to pay for the damages out of pocket.
She may want to get a second opinion from a personal injury attorney. It sounds like the doctor may not want to get involved in litigation. That is not uncommon. There may be a lot that needs to be done in order to do justice for your friend. Good luck!
The big question is whether you've contacted someone to investigate and make a claim for your UM coverage. Your uninsured motorist coverage along with your med pay coverage (if any) is there to help make up for your losses - medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering. Contacting the DA is also an important step. The victim assistant coordinator will help you gather your wage loss and other out of pocket damages.
There may be a claim but it is extremely important that you contact an attorney as soon as possible. It is important to get evidence early in order to prevail in a claim like this. Contact an attorney as soon as you're able.
In my experience it depends on the insurance company. The Insurance company may ask that you take the vehicle to a repair shop of their choosing to get repaired. You may just want to talk to the insurance adjuster and see if they will cut you the check. I don't think it hurts to ask given the facts you sent forth.
A few things. In Wisconsin Small Claims is capped at either $5,000 or $10,000 depending on the facts of the case. So, I'm not sure how they could get a $13,000 judgment unless their costs are extremely high. You may want to have an attorney look at the documents that you have received so far. Are you sure you were at fault? In Wisconsin we have comparative negligence and contributory negligence that may affect how much is owed. I'd suggest you speak with an attorney to get some clarity on...
In Wisconsin a client's file is simply that - the client's file. You can take the file and go to any law firm you'd like. Your previous attorney may have a lien for attorney's fees on the case. That's only fair because they did some work for you. If you hire a new attorney that new attorney would work with the previous attorney to apportion the attorneys' fees earned between the two firms. The total fee (usually 20% for Workers Comp) would not increase. Each firm would get a portion of...
I agree that you need to speak with your Divorce attorney to get answers regarding the specifics of your risk. There are many assumptions that Attorneys answering this question would need to make. 1) We assume it was her car and NOT your car, 2) We assume she lives at your home 3) We assume that liability is clear? These are a lot of assumptions to make. Again, I think a consult with your divorce attorney or another attorney would be a good idea.