Courtney L. Quist’s Reviews

Courtney L. Quist

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Wish I would have started with Courtney Quist!

    Posted by Kelly, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney 1-6 months ago.
    • Courtney handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Unfortunately, I had worked with two other lawyers prior to meeting with Courtney. I wish I had heard about her at the beginning of my divorce. Working with Courtney was a night and day difference from my experience with the prior two. I had hired Courtney over my second school issue (Lombardo). She knows the laws and is passionate about her work and doing the best thing for her clients and children involved. I highly recommend Courtney! She is a class act!

  2. Goes the extra mile!

    Posted by Gary, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney more than 3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Child Custody matter.

    I would recommend Courtney Quist to anyone seeking legal counsel going through a divorce. My case was extremely complex and opposing counsel had completely made a mess of the Divorce Judgment. This was a case that nobody in the legal community had really seen before and was not sure exactly how to handle or how a judge would rule. Courtney went the extra mile to research my situation seeking additional input from other legal counsel. She never made unrealistic promises and always gave me the best case and worst case senario's. She is ethical and will not try to run up the legal tab on you but instead has an interest in giving you the best representation and best possible legal outcome. She was successful in winning my case and delivering the best possible outcome I could wish for. I would not hesitate to hire her again.

  3. Courtney is an Exceptional Family Law Attorney

    Posted by RJ, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney 6-12 months ago.
    • Courtney handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When my wife filed for Separate Maintenance I was shocked. Divorce was never an option for my wife and me and her actions took me completely by surprise. I didn’t even know what Separate Maintenance meant. What I came to realize is that it was basically a divorce without the name and that I needed legal help.

    I interviewed a number of attorneys in West Michigan and felt most comfortable with Courtney from Quist Hansen. I found that there are a lot of "pit bull" attorneys out there but, my intention was to do whatever I could to help reconcile and give the best chance possible to save our family from the destruction of divorce, not just maximize my share of the marital estate. Courtney’s approach was one of congeniality but not conciliatory. She was easy to talk with, caring and compassionate, but when she needed to be firm she was, but only as a last resort. The other incredible thing was that she predicted the final outcome from the very first meeting.

    The attorneys at Quist Hansen know the law, that is without question. But as with any case, especially one rife with emotion as it relates to family, I thought it important that I work with a person who had family and children, as well as both parent’s rights in mind as well. At the end of the day however, when dealing with children and families, the Friend of the Court and the Judge’s decision plays a large part, often times using discretion to go outside of what the law states. For this reason, it was Courtney’s familiarity with the judges that made her the obvious choice for the divorce that was filed against me. Her husband is a judge as is her father-in-law and she understands the nuances and idiosyncrasies of each judge and was able to effectively and skillfully navigate me through these treacherous waters. She always listened to my concerns but, protecting me from emotional decisions along the way. When I wanted to "react" to something, she would calmly and coolly settle me down and help me "respond" in a better way.

    It was comforting to know that I had an advocate who truly did desire reconciliation and not just confrontation to rack up attorney fees, but when confrontation was necessary to protect children and assets, Courtney was also up to the task.

    Maybe I could I have gotten more money or made a “better deal” using another "pit bull" attorney. Perhaps, but our settlement was fair and I can sleep well at night knowing that I did everything I could to help save the marriage, in part by using Courtney to represent me. I cannot put a price tag on that and my peace of mind.

  4. Trusted Counselor, Knowledgale and Fair

    Posted by Lisa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney 1-3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have worked with Courtney on several divorce cases and she is not only extremely knowledgable with family law, but she truly cares for her clients well being and works hard for a fair and equitable settlement . If a case does go to trial, she will shine with her litigation skills. I would highly recommend her and her partner for family law advice.

  5. A lawyer who cares

    Posted by Sandra, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney 1-3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Family matter.

    Courtney represented me in a child custody case. She was professional and reasonable. My calls were promptly returned and emails answered on nights and weekends. She was honest and upfront and made it clear that no one wins in these types of disputes. Her honesty and frankness helped make a painful situation bearable.

  6. Caring, Professional Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney 1-3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Courtney was my attorney for my divorce in 2012. I was impressed by her knowledge of the law, and the fact that she took the time to explain how it affected my situation (custody, and parenting time). I had an extremely ugly divorce, and the attorney on the other side made things difficult and expensive. I was grateful my attorney stayed calm and "talked me down" during several heated court battles. She cared more about my children (I felt) than the other attorney. I would not wish divorce on anyone, but if you do, I recommend Courtney.

  7. Does excellent work!

    Posted by Rob, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney 1-3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Courtney and her Partner Elena handled my divorce last year. It was obvious to me that they deeply care for their clients. Custody was an issue, and I was at probably the worst time in my life. Both Courtney and Elena called me at night and on weekends during the worst part of it. At first I thought all attorneys did this, but I have come to find out they are the exception. I will tell you I did not always like what I heard, but looking back I appreciate the honesty. I highly recommend them.

  8. Do not hire Courtney Quist

    Posted by Charles, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney 1-3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I don't often write reviews but my experience with Courtney and her partner was incredibility bad and want to warn others before you spend your hard earned money with someone so incompetent as her. She didn't have any problems calling me right away to bring me into her office to collect the $3,000.00 retainer but after that day I couldn't get her to return calls or explain what she was doing with my case. I truly don't think she knows how to use a computer or email attachments. Please do not hire Courtney..There are much better attorney's in town. In fact my new attorney has done twice as much as Courtney in the 1st month.

  9. WINNING!!!!

    Posted by Sharon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney more than 3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    A friend referred me to Ms. Quist after I had hired another attorney and was unhappy. She gladly accepted my case with less than a month before we were to go to trial. She accomplished more in the 3 1/2 weeks than the other attorney I had had for over a year. While she kept saying she could not guarantee any outcome of the bench trial, she sure did well for me. I now have spousal support until my ex or I dies, and until social security begins for me in a few years. This experience has sure been tough on me as a middle-upper aged woman. I sure am glad she was available to take my case. Her professionalism, and personal attention was certainly appreciated.

  10. Want awesome legal advice during your divorce...call Courtney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Courtney Quist.
    • I hired Courtney more than 3 years ago.
    • Courtney handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Had the deck stacked against me in a little town where I did not live long during a two year divorce proceeding. Courtney went in and reminded everyone of what the law rules were for, and how they were to be used. Happy to say, she did great! Need a lawyer when you are getting home-towned, call Courtney!!! She is very knowledgeable. Happy to have moved from the small-minded town and start all over!

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

616-454-9008