Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill’s Reviews

Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best in the county.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I retained Kathy to handle my very acrimonious divorce and child custody matter. It was a highly emotional spousal abandonment situation. Kathy understood that I needed to vent, and in return she offered valuable advice. If I could give Kathy more than 5 stars, I would.

    While she's not the warm and fuzzy type, she really does have a heart of gold, and always looks out for her client. Even when I annoyed her by engaging in some drama with my ex, she maintained her professionalism and composure.

    She has the sharpest legal mind in the room, and is steps ahead of opposing counsel, holding her arguments until just the right moment.

    If you retain Kathy, the best advice I can offer, is to keep your emotions in check, and trust that she will do the best job she can for you.

  2. The best professional around!

    Posted by Karen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    The day I walked into Kathy's office, I was defeated, beaten down and afraid. After talking to her at my consultation, I realized she would have my back. She fought for me, and only had my well being as a focus. Although the process lasted much longer than I had hoped, it was entirely worth the wait. She is my hero and an amazing, intelligent, and tenacious professional! I owe her so much more than money, which she is worth every single penny. She was so brilliant and supportive in a way I never thought I deserved! Now, I have a future. If anyone ever asks me for a reference, Kathy gets my backing 100% plus!

  3. Very professional - was able guide my expectations and ultimately we won the case

    Posted by Sandy, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Child Custody matter.

    I am very happy with the process of working with Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill for a child custody case. She was very upfront with me regarding expectations and requirements of the court. She was able to connect me and my children with really good and effective support and resources. It seemed like a long and tedious process but Kathleen was able to give me the encouragement to know that this was very much worth it. We were able to acheive a trial result that was very positive to me and that would benefit the children. I hired her based on recommendation of a friend and after I read her reviews on here. I was told that she is very direct but that is something that I appreciate. I don't seek out false comforts and it would not help my case to be misled about the legal system. To this end, I would recommend her and I would hire her again. As a matter of fact, I have hired her again to represent me for the appeal.

  4. Review of Attorney Kathleen Buckley-O'Neil

    Posted by Steve, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 6-12 months ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Kathleen was my second Attorney that I retained for my divorce. She came highly recommended by her colleagues. She has worked very hard for me in what has been a difficult divorce situation for me. She is VERY prompt at responding to my emails/phone calls. She has returned my calls even after business hours and replied to emails afterhours and weekends. I do not believe you will find another attorney that can out work her. She has gone above and beyond by not only representing me as client but also listening to me as a person as I struggled through a difficult situation. I have already recommended her to other people and will continue to recommend her to anybody that needs an attorney. I felt that my previous counsel was out worked and always on the defensive. Since retaining Kathleen that is no longer the case. I know she is not being out worked and I no longer feel that I am reacting to situations but being pro active to settle my case. She is an aggressive pro active attorney that has helped me out tremendously. She definitely will fight for her clients and I am glad she was able to take my case. Outstanding lawyer that I would retain again if I ever had to.

  5. Would definitely recommend

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Complex and bitter divorce-Ms. Buckley did a great job looking out for best interests of myself and my children. I found her knowledgeable and very professional. Understanding and sharp, especially helpful with the financial side of things. Thankful she was referred to me!

  6. Kathy is the answer

    Posted by Scott, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kathy is the answer to your question of "who would best represent me?" Originally, my wife and I attempted to share an attorney, however I found myself at the end of a stick that was getting shorter and shorter. As time went on, I felt I wasn't getting the attention and representation I deserved, though I was the client. At the final stage of my divorce, I had to walk away. I couldn't live with terms that I was deemed to be responsible for. I then found my way to Kathy. She is professional, practical, tough, considerate, intelligent, responsive, swift to take action and a fighter. My fighter, enough said.

    The day after my divorce was final, I told Kathy that I couldn't thank her enough. It was the absolute truth. I couldn't be happier with my decision to retain her, or the results of my divorce. Because of her I felt relief and hope where there was none. My only regret is that I did not retain her services at my time of filing, but I finally wised up, and it was the best decision I could have made. She was my answer.

  7. K Buckley-O'neill review

    Posted by jeff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Informative. Was able to see that I needed to have a little mental support never having gone thru a divorce before. It is one of the the 5 most stressful thing that people go thru. Would recommend her services.

  8. Lawyer, Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill, HIGHLY recommend

    Posted by Joni Young, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I can not stress this enough...if you are looking for an attorney that is going to do her job, and earn what she is paid, hire Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill. She is an attorney who has been in the business for over 30 years; she knows what she's doing. I have had to deal with other attorney's throughout the years for various reasons, and I have never dealt with anyone as trustworthy and knowledgeable as Kathy. Kathy is driven, she is tough, she doesn't play games, she cuts to the chase, she doesn't miss a thing, she's always one step ahead of the rest, and she tells it like it is. She tells the truth, always, even if you may not like what she has to say. She's not going to lie to you, or "blow smoke" just to please you. She is fair. She doesn't drag a case on and on. She gets the job done. I can't stress any of this enough. I respect Kathy a great deal. Attorney's like Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill are hard to come by.

  9. An exceptional jewl

    Posted by Hassan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I was referred to Kathy by another attorney after my own attorney left my case w/o informing me and left me with very poor advice costing me thousands of dollars of damages. I admit, I disliked every attorney that came in my sight. Thanks to Kathy, I have now hope for the American justice system. Her integrity, honesty, competency and compassion has been next to non. I would highly recommend her to my close family and friends anytime!

  10. Great Attorney!

    Posted by Kristy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathleen Buckley-O'Neill.
    • I hired Kathleen more than 3 years ago.
    • Kathleen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Kathy really helped me navigate through divorce and child custody issues over the last year. This was a situation that I didn't ever expect to be in and I had a lot of emotions about it. Kathy kept the situation focused and made me get focused on the real important issues. In the end, I was able to get divorced on my terms and have my children with me 90% of the time. I spent about 1/3 of what my ex did with his Bloomfield Hills atty and the situation worked out exactly as I had hoped for.

810-694-6461