Cheryl A. Carpenter’s Reviews

Cheryl A. Carpenter

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Faith Hope and a Good Lawyer!!!

    Posted by Michella, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Cheryl handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cheryl had a large part in saving my sons life!!! He was seventeen and sentenced to life on SORA. She was 4 months shy of sixteen and he was seventeen so no matter what he had committed a crime in the eyes of the law!!
    We hired a cheap lawyer in the beginning,neither one of us had a lot of money, was scared sick. and was ignorant to the law and the System!!! Worst decision I ever made!!! Cheap representation is what we received!!! So after he was sentenced we hired a local Attorney Terrance Flanagan who is also a Super Attorney!! and Cheryl who is one of the best Super Attorney,s around!!! She traveled 4 hours for us. Thanks to a amazing private investigator Rick Killips and the willingness of some Good people to tell the truth and testify!!! We also had a very tough Judge but after a long hearing and Cheryl doing a excellent job!! He was removed from the SORA list!!! That was no small thing!!!! It is sad to say but justice is not Cheap!!! As our story testifies!!! I am forever grateful !!! to Cheryl and Mr.Flanagan!! and the Good Lord!!!!!

  2. Grade A Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Cheryl Carpenter was very professional. She kept me informed and got back to me immediately with answers. When I was in a panic in court she reassured me I would be ok. She has a lot of knowledge in what she does. A grade A attorney would use her again

  3. I would not think twice about calling Cheryl

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Cheryl handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    One of the best attorneys, very insightful, and allows the client to feel comfortable every step of the way. I would recommend her to anyone. What she did for me and my family will never be forgotten.

  4. Cheryl A. Carpenter - Professional, Dependable, Efficient Attorney

    Posted by Carol,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I want to personally thank Cheryl A. Carpenter for her legal help with our case. She is extremely professional and her expertise in the field helped us get the results we needed. We can't thank her enough!! She consistently goes above and beyond to help her clients! If, you are looking for an efficient, dependable, accessible attorney that will get the job done then Cheryl A. Carpenter is the right attorney for you!! Carol

  5. Cheryl is a blessing!

    Posted by Bob, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-6 months ago.
    • Cheryl handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I used Cheryl for my case that has not been able to be resolved for many many years. With her expertise, promptness and decidation Cheryl was able to exceed my expectations with my case. Her knowledge and compassion as a lawyer restored my faith in the legal system. I am extremely grateful for everything she has done for me. I would highly recommend her to everyone! If I am ever in need of legal services again, there is only one lawyer I would use and that is Cheryl Carpenter.

  6. Gave Me Back My Life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Cheryl handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    It's hard to put into words what Cheryl did for me. She was able to have me removed from the SOR after having been on it for 10 years. We didn't have a lot of strong "slam-dunk" material but through her mastery of the area and experience, she was able to take my case, appeal to the inner human in all of us and really get people to understand my story and that I was not someone who belonged on that list. She really and truly gave me back my life. Because of Cheryl's hard work, knowledge and experience, I will now get to go to every single one of my future children's school events, including their graduations from high school. I also now never ever have to worry about someone stumbling across the worse mistake I've ever made (which was the point of my receiving of HYTA status). Working with attorneys on a daily basis, watching Cheryl work on the day of my hearing was something to behold. It was the wildest 10 minute roller coaster I've ever been on. Any time the prosecutor had a good point to make or put my case in a tight spot, Cheryl fought her way through it and got our case back on the right track. I don't think I'll ever be able to truly explain how thankful and blessed I feel to have had Cheryl in my corner in the biggest moment in my life to-date. I owe her my life.

    I was kept in contact throughout the whole process. I always knew what was going on and was a part of it step-by-step. If I knew anyone that was in my position or was in need of counsel, I would 150% recommend them to Cheryl. She is an amazing attorney who works really hard to get her clients the best outcome that she can. She promises nothing, but always expects the best. Cheryl will shoot you straight about your chances and never lead you to a false sense of where your case is. You will know if something is going to be a bit more tricky or if something really helps your case.

    In short, Cheryl is a blessing to criminal defense. Any client would be lucky to have her as their attorney. I only hope that one day I can truly repay the excellent job she did with my case. I could never thank her enough.

  7. Super lawyer / Super person

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Cheryl handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She was hired by another super attorney to work on my sons case that had media attention and serious charges filed against him. She and the other super attorney by name Shannon Smith worked together professionally and diligently to save my son from a long term prison time. My son only got one year jail time and was not placed on a sex offenders list or have any record of the charge if he completes his probation for the next three years. i can honestly tell you don't look any further than these two attorneys, together they saved my loved one to the best of their ability. Both delivered what they projected to happen with the case and the outcome in my opinion was more than a miracle. They knew how to handle the prosecutor, their approach was realistic and not a push over considering what my son was charged with. i will not be able to repay these two woman with my kindest words, but i can say they will always be in my prayers for as long as i live and i wish both of them to continue to save others to put their clients' life's back together.

  8. Best lawyer in Michigan

    Posted by Boban,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Cherly A. Carpenter is the most trustworthy lawyer.And i will refer her to most friends and family. She is the best lawyer that i had and i am so happy with her.In my case it was sex offender list and she took care of it and got me of the list.

  9. The Best of the Best

    Posted by Drew Henderson,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl more than 3 years ago.

    The the title of my review says it all. You can't get any better than Cheryl. That's not an opinion either. It's a fact. As you see from the other reviews, I'm not the only one who feels this way. Like so many unfortunate people out there, I once had to register as a sex offender. As Cheryl remembers, the repercussions for me were beyond cruel and unjust. I went for a period of 3 years in which I could not land a decent job. I was unable to live where I wanted to live; had to constantly defend myself from the stigma that was brought on by this label and of course, I even spent some time in jail because of the registry. It was truly hell on earth.

    Point being........ I would still be dealing with this today if it weren't for Cheryl. I was truly lucky to have had someone like Cheryl represent me in this matter. She knows the system, she knows, the laws, and most importantly, she cares about you. It's not about getting a paycheck for Cheryl. It's about fighting the good fight for people like you and I. She believes in us and she wants to make things right. As others stated, Cheryl builds a relationship with the client like no other. It's truly a special bond.

    Today, I am off the registry thanks to Cheryl. It's been 3 years now and obviously, life is much better. Again, I am so grateful for the opportunity to have had Cheryl represent me. Like I said, she's the best at what she does. No one even comes close.

    In conclusion, I had the opportunity to converse with Cheryl through email at the end of this summer. It had been 3 years since we spoke. Long story short, I just wanted to say hello, give her a brief update on my life, and tell her how much I appreciated her for all she had done for me. Cheryl wrote back and I remember reading the email on my phone while driving, which is never a good idea! Dont text and drive either! Her email was so kind..... I mean.... I think I about drove into the other lane because I literally just lit up from joy. It was the kindest, sweetest, most sincere email you could possibly think of. Honestly as I write this, I can't stop smiling and I totally saved the email lol. It just goes to show the person Cheryl is. Not too many people have a heart like hers. She's truly amazing . Even though this thing is over for me, I know that I have a friend in Cheryl for life and Cheryl knows she has a friend in me for life.

    Thank you again...... you will forever have a place in my heart. If for some reason I find myself up in Michigan in the near future, I will be sure to let you know ahead of time. Would love to see you. Of course, I'll keep you posted on my life endeavors. Stay in touch.

    Love Always,

  10. Oakland county removal from sex offender registry

    Posted by Matthew, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cheryl Carpenter.
    • I hired Cheryl 1-3 years ago.
    • Cheryl handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cheryl is outstanding and very Compassionate, and she treats you like a member of her family, she fought for me and now I have a second chance at life, thank you so much Cheryl!!!

248-387-9359