Matthew S. Abdo’s Reviews

Matthew S. Abdo

Average Rating

Based on 29 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Proficient & Effective

    Posted by Kelly, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Matthew Abdo is a remarkable lawyer. He is highly organized, detail-oriented and extremely efficient. In a concise and professional manner, he reduced a drinking and driving offense that seemed devastating, into a more than manageable outcome. He took ownership of my case in a way that didn't require prompting. I never felt like Matthew was just doing his job, either. He treated me as an equal and carried a sense of compassion about him. I am certain if not for him and the Abdo Law Firm, my situation would be much worse. I am grateful to have found them, and would recommend anyone needing representation to seek counsel here.

  2. An Amazing Legal Representative

    Posted by Ryan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Having dealt with lawyers before I had already formed an idea of what kind of relationship I was going to have with Matt, but from the moment I met him he completely changed my initial attitude. After being charged with DUI over .17 BAC (Super Drunk) and having a prior warrant regarding an older offense, I was convinced I would be doing jail time. Matt made it clear that this wouldn't be an easy case as you cannot by state law plead for a lesser charge with the new Super Drunk laws, without a lot of time and effort. He advised me of the steps I would have to take and what would need to be done to attempt to reduce the weight of the charges. I followed his advice and at all times was brought up to date by him on how things were going. Matt even made a follow up call with me when I was at work one day to make sure I was taking all the necessary steps to help my case. When the day came for sentencing, Matt informed me that due to our efforts I was being allowed to plead my charge down to the lowest possible offense, Operating While Visibly Intoxicated. My previous warrant was dismissed with a $200 fine, and no jail time required. Matt is the most professional legal counsel I've ever received and I would recommend him to anyone in a situation that seems hopeless.

  3. Excellent Representation

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Matthew Abdo was my legal representation for a recent OWI offense. The service he and his office provided was astounding, throughout the entire process I felt confident that Mr. Abdo would provide me the best defense in my case.

    I was originally charged with an OWI having a BAC of .19 and was facing very serious sentencing. However, with Mr. Abdo's help my final sentence was reduced to a OWVI, with 12 months non-reporting probation, and $750.00 fines/costs. This was without a doubt, the best possible outcome I could have hoped for considering the severity of my circumstances and I know that it was thanks to Matthew Abdo's excellent representation.

  4. Excellent Outcome, Thank you Mr. Abdo

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Abdo was always available for any questions or concerns I had during my case. He was extremely knowledgeable about the process and direction to handle my legal matters. Mr. Abdo was up front and honest about my situation, he did not just tell me what I wanted to hear just to get my business. He was a five star lawyer and a competitive, reasonable price. I couldn't be more happy with the outcome that we received at sentencing. I was given the minimum punishment allowed for my OWI2. Mr. Abdo gave me the resources and tools to prepare myself for the court hearings I needed to attend and was by my side during everyone of them. I definitely recommend Mr. Abdo if you are considering legal advice at this time.

  5. Matthew gets results-

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Matthew did a phoenomenal job on my case, which was very complicated. I was faced with an operating while under the influence and an accident. This was a second offense-Matthew was able to plea down to a wreckless driving charge. I would recommend him to anyone for their case. He is extremely professional and thorough. It was a very difficult time for me and he kept me very focused.

  6. Matt Abdo and Abdo Law Firm is the best in Macomb County

    Posted by RLT, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Fraud matter.

    Matt Abdo and the entire Abdo Law Firm took the time to learn about my entire case and everything that was SPECIFIC to my experience with the charge. They were compassionate, knowledgeable and MOST IMPORTANTLY respectful to the charge I was facing. I must admit that while I made a very bad decision, I never once felt less than or unequal to Matt. That was a really reassuring feeling. On the day of court, we had talked about what was most likely going to happen. While the Judge in Centerline did not agree, Matt used his experience, knowledge and legal skills to work another angle and GET A BETTER resolution than I would have EVER hoped for, He did this under pressure, performing in a way that was impressive.

    If, and I hope I do not do anything stupid again, I ever do get in trouble, Matt Abdo and the Abdo Law Firm is who I will be calling. I know attorneys are not magicians. I did what I did and I got caught. Matt did a wonderful job in court, I did what I was supposed to due for 90 days and BECAUSE of Matt's legal skills, the deal had a DISMISSAL of the original charge and I truly thank Matt and Abdo Law Firm for that. Truly. I will recommend the Abdo Law Firm first and foremost to represent criminal defense cases. Without question.

  7. Extremely Helpful and Diligent

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Visiting from out of state, I received a ticket that would result in added points on my license and increased insurance costs. Knowing I would not be available to appear, I contacted Matthew and he was extremely helpful with my situation and assured me that he would do everything he could to make sure this matter would be resolved with the best possible outcome. Matthew did not disappoint. My case was completed in a timely fashion and resulted in no points being added to my license.

  8. Over 600 Miles from Home Needing Help

    Posted by Doug, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Being from out of state with no real knowledge of the criminal justice system I found myself in need of legal counsel. After being ticketed with an OWI and a CI violation while in the state of Michigan I decided it was time to seek out a professional for help. At the time I knew no one in the area to ask so I turned to the internet to find a lawyer. After finding the www.avvo.com website it narrowed down my search to a few law firms. Since it was a weekend when I started entering in my case information I really wasn’t expecting to get any feedback until the following Monday. I was shocked to see that I got an email response back before I could go onto the next possible law firm questionnaire. After calling into the phone number that I was sent I found myself talking with a member of the ABDO law firm. After working with both Cy and Matthew I found both to be very professional and eager to assist. Both gentlemen stayed in close contact with me during my pre-trial hearings of which they actually stood in front of the court in my behalf which limited the number of times that I had to return back into the state. This alone saved me hundreds of dollars in travel expenses and kept me from having to take off work just to appear. From the first meeting I was told what to expect and how they thought my case would proceed and I found it to play out just like they said it would all the way to the last court date. While on the phone or during an actual face to face meeting I found Matthew to treat me with great respect and help me get my dignity back after being in the most embarrassing situation in my life. Matthew would take the time to answer every question that I would have about my case. Taking his advice and following his direction my charges were reduced down to only a CI charge against my record. I am so glad that I found this website and that it lead me to the ABDO law firm. I just hope everyone that is in need of help can find someone that is as willing to work as hard as this group did for me! If you are in need of legal help check into the ABDO law firm, they are true professionals and true to their word!

  9. Matt is Knowledgeable, Matt will fight, and Matt will get the reuslts that you need!

    Posted by Brian, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    On July 4th I got pulled over and was charged with a DUI and possession of marijuana along with paraphanalia charges and failure to signal. From the moment I stepped into Matt and his father Cy's office 2 days after the offense (which happenned to be a holiday weekend), I felt 100 times better. First off, they assured me I wasn't going to jail and laid out(to a tee) what I would be going through in the coming months. When I finally went to my first court date, the results were exactly as they laid them out. The DUI got knocked down to an OWI, which saved me a ton of money in fines and insurance costs and I received a deferred judgement(7411) on the possession charge, which is huge for many reasons, including future employment. The other 2 charges were dropped. Matt was with me the whole way and with limited time to talk due to work, he made it very convenient for me, always working around MY schedule. He was very informative about the process both in and out of court and made sure I knew exactly was going on at all times. When sentencing time came, I was once again very happy with the results. The 12 months of probation I was initially supposed to go through got knocked down to 6 months and the community service got taken away. I believe this was mostly due to the counseling he gave me before my pre sentencing interview because without that, I would not have answered the questions as well. All in all, Matt was there every step of the way and was very knowledgeable and will fight to get you the results that you need to make your situation A LOT more bearable to deal with. Finally, If this review isn't convincing enough for you to hire him then keep scrolling down....You WILL NOT be diappointed.

  10. Michigan SOS DLAD. License Restoration

    Posted by Matt, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Matt for my drivers license hearing. I had 4 alcohol related arrests and/or citations. 2- MIP, 1- OWI, and 1-DUI all with in a 5 year span. My license was revoked and finally decided it was time to get my driving privileges restored. I hired Cy and Matt for my case. They were both very intelligent and informational regarding the laws in Michigan for DLAD hearings. With there knowledge, information, and advice which I followed exactly like they said I should I was granted a restricted license with
    interlock system on my first hearing. Matt is an excellent lawyer who understands the screwed up system of DLAD hearings, he knows the necessary actions his/her clients have to take in order to regain driving privileges. I would recommend them to anyone in legal trouble or DLAD hearings. They are very professional, and straight to the point! Get it right and keep it tight The Abdo Law firm is #1