Matthew S. Abdo’s Reviews

Matthew S. Abdo

Average Rating

Based on 39 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exceeding expectations

    Posted by Rory,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.

    You and your father"s ability to make a very unpleasant and nerve racking situation into a workable solution was greatly appreciated. I was well informed and briefed on everything so as to make me at ease,(although it did not appear so), to give me a comfort level during my interviews. I would absolutely recommend to others to use your ervices. Thank you very much.

    1. Matthew S. Abdo

      Matthew S. Abdo

      Lawyer Comment:

      Rory your case was particularly meaningful to our Office because we were able to see your progress come full circle. As with all of our license cases we are working with clients towards our objective. You followed our advice to a 'T' and that is reflected in the outcome. We appreciate that you remained loyal to the end, Cy and I were happy to congratulate you on an result very well deserved! Thank you again for allowing us the privilege of representing you.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  2. Matthew Abdo - OWI Case

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.

    I contacted the Abdo Law Firm after doing some online research and had a returned phone call within 30 minutes. I was being charged with an OWI High BAC and this would have been a 2nd offense. I went in and spoke with Matt and Cy and they talked me through all the scenarios. I compiled some paperwork for them and they put together a great packet to send to the Prosecuting Attorney. It took a lot of effort on Matt's part to get this charge reduced, but after it was all said and done, I walked away with a non drinking related offense. My situation was slightly different because I am an Army Veteran, but i would recommend anyone to contact them if in need of a lawyer.

    1. Matthew S. Abdo

      Matthew S. Abdo

      Lawyer Comment:

      Certainly worked very hard for this particular disposition. Luckily my client was highly motivated and I believe proved he was more than deserving of such. Helping people through a difficult situation and getting results like this are one of the most rewarding aspects of my practice. We appreciate this client's vote of confidence in our practice and do our best to put forth same effort on every matter we take on.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  3. A true lifesaver!

    Posted by Victoria,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.

    I am extremely happy with the outcome of my case! Matt was very professional and caring during the whole process. He was always available if I had any questions or concerns. I definitely would recommend Matt to anyone in need of an awesome lawyer!!

    1. Matthew S. Abdo

      Matthew S. Abdo

      Lawyer Comment:

      The result we reached on this case was outstanding. The client had an excellent background and it was our goal that one small mistake not keep her from all of the wonderful things she has going on in her life. Ultimately a criminal traffic charge was reduced to a civil infraction and the case was disposed of with fines and costs. Another example of a very rewarding result and a client who was a pleasure to represent. Thank you for the kind feedback and I look forward to hearing about your future successes.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  4. Past Client and Return Client

    Posted by Ryan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.

    In 2003 I was convicted of my 2nd DUI and a marijuana possession. Matts dad Cy was my attorney and helped me get through both convictions with little punishment. In 2010 I returned to receive my license back I was awarded a restricted license and in 2014 I once again used them. This time Matt was my attorney you can tell the apple doesn't fall from the tree because I was rewarded my full license back. All thanks to Matt and his great care over my case. I highly recommend using this law firm and Matt to help you with your case. It's worked for me several times and I know they will treat your case with the most care.

  5. ONCE A DUMB IDIOT

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.

    AFTER FINDING OUT MY PROBATION WAS GOING TO BE VIOLATED FOR A POSITIVE DRUG TEST I STARTED RESEARCHING LAWYERS AND THE NAME ABDO KEPT COMING UP. SO THEN I INQUIRED ABOUT MY SITUATION AT 6 IN THE MORNING WHEN I ARRIVED AT WORK VIA THEIR WEBSITE, NOT EVEN A HALF HOUR LATER I WAS RECEIVING A CALL FROM MATTHEW REGARDING MY CASE. WE TALKED AND LAID OUT THE SITUATION FOR ME WHAT COULD POSSIBLY HAPPEN, ALL OF THIS FREE OF CHARGE. I THEN LET HIM KNOW I WOULD LIKE TO RETAIN HIM AS MY LAWYER AND HE GOT ON MY CASE RIGHT AWAY. I WAS ABLE TO STAY IN CONTACT WITH HIM BY EMAIL AND TEXT SINCE I WORK LONG HOURS, ALL OF THIS WENT THROUGH WITHOUT A HITCH. WITH MY PROBATION OFFICER WANTING TO SENTENCE ME TO 30 DAYS IN JAIL, MATT FOUGHT FOR MY FUTURE EXPLAINING TO THEM THAT THEY SHOULD GIVE ME A CHANCE INSTEAD OF SETTING ME UP TO FAIL. 30 DAYS IN JAIL WOULD HAVE COST ME MY JOB AND EVERYTHING I WORKED SO HARD FOR. BEING A RECENT COLLEGE GRADUATE THIS IS SOMETHING THAT I COULDN'T AFFORD. Matthew AND I THEN WENT IN FRONT OF THE JUDGE AND WITH THE PO SUGGESTING JAIL TIME, MATTHEW WAS THEN ABLE TO SPEAK AND SPOKE VERY FLUENTLY AND STOOD BY MY SIDE THE WHOLE TIME. . . THE RULING CAME DOWN THAT I DID NOT HAVE TO DO ANY JAIL TIME JUST 90 DAYS ADDED ON TO MY PROBATION. . I COULD NOT BE MORE HAPPY THEN I AM WITH THE RESULT MATTHEW HAD GOTTEN FOR ME. I WOULD RECOMMEND HIM FOR ANY OF YOUR LEGAL NEEDS AS HE MADE ME VERY COMFORTABLE AND MADE SURE I KNEW I WAS IN GOOD HANDS . . ALL OF THIS WITH A JUDGE THAT IS NOTORIOUS FOR SENDING PROBATION VIOLATORS TO JAIL . . . THANK YOU AGAIN MATTHEW

    1. Matthew S. Abdo

      Matthew S. Abdo

      Lawyer Comment:

      This title is a little deceiving because at Abdo Law we understand people make mistakes. It's never our goal to maximize that unfortunate fact but rather to aim at getting results. In this instance we were able to persuade the Court to see this client not for the violation but rather the progress that had been made in and out of the courtroom. We were pleased with this outcome and are always glad to see this level of satisfaction from our customers. Thank you for the thoughtful feedback.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. retail fraud III

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.

    I choose Matthew Abdo for my court proceeding strictly based on his prior reviews which rated him
    outstanding. Another factor was his graduation from law school with Magna Cum Laude honors. I received awesome legal representation and great results with Matthew. As a compromised person
    with profound hearing loss, he was able to help me get through the court proceeding without looking confused. During the proceeding, Matthew was very persuasive with the Judge and talked in a very smooth and professional manner to get the results he wanted. He has the ability to be persuasive without being argumentative or abrasive. His presentation is precise and professional. His appearance reflects confidence. He knows beforehand what he needs to do to get the best results and is very familiar with the Judge and courtroom officials. He clearly had to go the "extra mile" in my case. He really shaped the outcome which I am very happy about. I think Matthew has a God given
    talent for helping people who have legal problems. Ten stars . . . . .and highly recommended

    1. Matthew S. Abdo

      Matthew S. Abdo

      Lawyer Comment:

      These are touching words and I feel that justice was served in your case. I appreciate the thoughtful feedback. In this instance I am glad the Judge saw this isolated incident as what it was, just that. Thank you very much for the privilege of representing you.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  7. OWI

    Posted by Anthony,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.

    Matthew was an excellent and very professional lawyer. I was very nervous about my OWI that I received in St. Clair Co, I called and left a message with Matthews Firm, in less than a couple hours he called me back. I was made aware of what his office could do for me and set up an appointment the next day.

    The appointment went well, I walked away feeling more confident that I would be okay. I was of course hurting for money and he allowed me a payment plan to better assist me.

    I was told that I would be making 3 appearances in 3 consecutive months, but Matthew was so professional and dedicated to my OWI case, the judge decided to do all 3 hearings in just a little under 3 hrs...I was so thankful that I called his firm, as I walked away from court with a 400 fine, a weekend class , driving while visibly impaired.

    Thank you so much Matthew for all you have done for me and my family as he as been so helpful with our financial needs. I could not have asked for better representation!!!!

    1. Matthew S. Abdo

      Matthew S. Abdo

      Lawyer Comment:

      This was definitely an above and beyond result for an OWI. Any attorney will tell you that you typically need to appear at least twice in order for the client to be screened by probation. However, this particular jurisdiction was willing to do a same day sentencing. Though I hadn't planned on staying, I was happy to help this client put the anguish behind him in one appearance. Where possible, we will always be flexible in order to go the extra mile for our clients.

      The terms of this particular probation were appropriate for the client's outstanding character. One of many that I have been lucky enough to represent and feel that this was an exceptionally good result.

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  8. D.U.I.

    Posted by Brad, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been denied multiple times by the state but Matt got me my license back. With out Matt representing me I guarantee I would have been denied again. Good job Cy and Matt I will be recommending you to others that are in my old situation.

  9. Trustworthy and Thorough!

    Posted by Shelby Township Daniel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • Matthew handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Matt Abdo helped me along with a criminal matter. I called him immediately after being charged late one Saturday night in Royal Oak. First thing Monday morning, Matt calls me already working on the details of my case!

    Mr. Abdo was very knowledgeable of all laws in question. He presented in court on my behalf so I didn’t have to miss work. He kept me well informed every step of the way and ultimately got all charges dismissed!!!!

    I needed a hardworking and trustworthy attorney to deliver and Matt Abdo was there for me!

  10. Matthew Abdo - The Young Gun Professional Attorney

    Posted by Will, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Abdo.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would give this man more than 5 stars if I could. Being a lawyer for only 4 years, this young man's character automatically attracts respect in the court room by judges and fellow lawyers. Matt made me feel extremely comfortable with the mistake I made, and help me get through this ordeal very smoothly. My original charge of a DUI was dropped to an impaired driving, and another charge was dropped completely. I couldn't have been more satisfied with my outcome. Matt Abdo will be my lawyer for the rest of my life.

586-412-5555