David Matthew McNamee’s Reviews

David Matthew McNamee

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. One of the best divorce attorneys ...I have recommended David to my friends and family

    Posted by Daniel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have had the benefit of having David McNamee on my side with two family law situations. After trying to finalize my divorce for over 14 months I released my previous attorney and sought out the help of Family Law Attorney, David McNamee.
    It was quite clear to me in my first divorce conference with David that he was ethical and meant business, within a few hours he made a few phone calls, sifted through a bunch a non-issues and got to the bottom of what was holding things up for 14 months and started to address the real issues. His experience in family law was very obvious.
    In my opinion David was always up front with me communicating the details of what needed to be accomplished in a timely and qualified manner. He was always considering my budget and keeping my situation affordable.
    The second time I hired David was directly related to the custody of my child and shared parenting. Most importantly, David placed my child first and fought for me as a parent. For any parent out there who has children and wants to have a fair chance at being involved in their children’s lives should consider hiring David McNamee.

  2. Best in the Area

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired David Mcnamee for my divorce after a few people highly recommended him. I have a good friend that her ex husband used David and she has now hired her 5th attorney to stick up against him. David is extremely responsive. Anytime I have a question and call him, he will call me back shortly and help keep me up to date and informed. He has also helped me by keeping me calm and helping me keep my emotions out of it. He also tells me how it is and he makes no false promises. I went thru my divorce in less than 6 months and he helped me knock it out quickly.

  3. MY Experience is quit different from others on here!

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    This will be long but worthy. I went through a horrible money hungry x-wife with a divorce 7 years ago. I original hired Chuck Lowe which at the time was suppose to be the best attorney. Chuck was the worst. He took my $20k retainer and burned it up with BS! He was the worst attorney you could find. After, firing him and hiring another attorney that didn't want to untangle Chuck's mess I fired that guy as well. Not for a bad job but he didn't want to spend the time to fight the things that Chuck got me to agree too.

    As far as Dave McNamee he was also referred to me by the Greene County Prosecutor at the time. Which was about 5 years ago when I first hired him. I have used him since for all the ongoing drama that never seems to go away. If, you can imagine the worst accusations from an X that is my case. Dave, has been an OUTSTANDING GUY! What others have said on here can only seem to be the opposing x that he represents??? My experience has been completely different from any reviews on here. I have used Dave for 6 different issues with the ongoing battle. From completing my divorce after the first experience, to winning shared custody ( I AM THE FATHER), reduced child support, domestic violence, to assault on my child, You name it. He has helped me. He has gotten me through all with treating me right. He keeps his word. He tells you how it is. Tells you when you have the chance and when you don't. Most attorney's in my eyes are liars, cheats and thieves! This is NOT Mr. McNamee.

    In fact, he has treated me very fair on fees. If, you want the cheapest fees find someone else. If, you want the highest fees higher Chuck Lowe. If, you want the best in town Hire Dave. This is my opinion and I have had lots of experience with attorneys over the last 10 years. Don't get me wrong Dave can be an ass at times but that's his job. And there were times I needed to be checked up. But, this is why you hire a smart, tough attorney that has what it takes. My x has hired 6 attorney's so far and all have been different battles and outcomes.

    I personally could not be more pleased with Dave. I just wished my X would go away and I could move on with raising my children. Hope this helps with your decision to hire the right person for your needs. I know I did with Mr. McNamee.

  4. Dave McNamee, very professional and an excellent lawyer

    Posted by Jeff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Dave knows the law and will tell you what to expect given the situation. He doesn't make false promises about how the case is going to work out. What he told me was going to happen in my case happened.

  5. HIGHLY RECOMMEND - HE'S BEEN MY ONLY ATTORNEY FOR 10 YEARS

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    David McNamee has been my only Attorney for the last 10 years. He isn't afraid to tell me what I do not want to hear if he knows the end result will be the right move. He's won every single case for me. He has always looked out for what is best for myself and my child and never sugar-coated anything or made false promises to me. He's also been very fair in the amount he charges me given my income. I highly recommend David to anyone seeking a very knowledgeable and fair Attorney! He's helped me with child custody matters, child support matters, and domestic violent matters. Don't believe the words of disgruntled people who might have walked into his office with a losing case or on the other side. I am sure he did his best with what they provided. I highly recommend David, 100%!

  6. DO NOT HIRE!!!

    Posted by Jack, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Hired this guy for a divorce. He was on the cheaper side so I thought I would give it a shot! I should have known when I was interviewing with other attorneys and I mentioned David McNamee, they just laughed and warned me! Live and learn. Not only is he non-responsive, but he CONSTANTLY delays hearings! He promised me the world at the beginning and at the end of the day, I was screwed and would have done better myself! Well, I lost the case and my ex got everything under the sun.

  7. Will not make effort, it is all about the money

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    - We made deal for pay 5K up front to take care of the case 'for ever', it was not complicated. Due to delays and lack of will/effort on his part, this dragged out for a couple of years. His profit ratio was not there, so would not file paper work or help me and my family past the initial year. Kept blowing off my emails, phone calls, said would take care of it but never would. Numerous contempt actions should have been filed, working with other lawyer or even following magistrate's direction to resolve the matter outside of court.

    - Tried to make me agree/sign deals that put me in financial ruin when we had no reason too. Again, his goal was for my case to go away. I lost 1000's in missed child support because he would not file contempt of court. Why not? I could not get an answer, I tried really hard.
    - He made crazy deal without my approval and actually stopped child support I received 2 months before he could find time to file agreement paperwork that offset the loss of child support. He tried to force me to agree to the said deal. I said NO multiple times. After consulting with multiple other lawyers, the proper deal was finally done. (thanks to those lawyers for their input)
    - Money issues have gone unresolved no matter how much I beg for his help, case is closed, I have no money for another lawyer. I have no choice to but get a new lawyer to help with the current unresolved issues, going to 'lose' that much more money.

    Most definitely avoid this lawyer, although seems like most will take advantage of you if you let them. This one will, even if you don't let him. It is about the path to least resistance for him, profit margin, will say what you want to hear to start then assume you lack will/understanding.

  8. ripped off

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    hired him on abuse custody case with pictures provided, he stated theres def molestation going on yet
    never did a thing about it nor did he report his opion to children services and once paid can hardly even get in touch with him nor did he file proper papers, once we got in touch he asked us what did he file , that is why we paid him to do the work not us...sad situation

  9. divorce is bad, this guy makes it worse

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    appropriate forms not filed in a timely manner i.e. name change form - server not given appropriate info until contacted by myself. for three weeks I have attempted to have a simple question answered by leaving a detailed message on voice mail and with office staff with no satisfaction. my fees were paid approx. 16 mos ago... it feels like a bum's rush to me

  10. Keep Looking

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David McNamee.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David McNamee touted his Degree from Notre Dam and his vast experience. The best thing he had going for him was a decent para-legal/assistant. I thought that I would have good representation, but I got taken to the bank and on the day of my divorce David McNamee appeared, but his council was absolutely forced and worthless. I would have been better off with a 2nd rate pro bono attorney. If you are getting a divorce I recommend that you do not consider Mr. McNamee. His promises are not backed up by his performance.