Bruce Edward Poston’s Reviews

Bruce Edward Poston

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent attorney with proven record.

    Posted by Mark, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Poston.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Bruce defended myself, my dad, and my uncle against assault charges. By the letter of the law, the charges were completely legitimate. However, through Bruce's unique style of case management and legal defense prowess, he managed to allow us all three to walk away with no permanent damage. Bruce is not a magician, however, if you trust him, are honest with him, and allow him to do his job, there is no better defense attorney in East Tennessee.

  2. Stay away from this man.

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Poston.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Federal Crime matter.

    I hired Bruce Poston over a year ago for my uncle. I kick myself in the ass for this. My uncle has been back in prison for over a year we cant get his case heard. Everytime I have tried to talk to Bruce since the initial interview. NO LUCK!! HE DOESNT ANSWER HIS PHONE CALLS!!! WILL NOT RETURN FAXES!! HIS SECRETARY AND THE YOUNG GUY WHO HE HAS WORKING FOR HIM NEVER KNOW WHERE BRUCE IS. What a joke!! I have driven to his office several times. Hes never there. There is always some excuse from his staff. I gave him 10,000 dollars up front.

  3. Excellent Representation

    Posted by William, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Bruce Poston.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Bruce Poston. I had another attorney who postponed court dates for 4, yes 4 years, racking up thousands of dollars of fees and court costs. With the previous attorney I sat in Jail for almost a year. When I hired Mr. Poston I was released back to probation on the next court date. I did have to plead guilty to class E felonies but with his representation I was sentenced as a level 1 rather than a level 2. I would absolutely recommend Bruce Poston for anyone who is looking at multiple convictions or numerous years in prison. He is an excellent litigator.

  4. Beware!

    Posted by Ken, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Poston.
    • I hired Bruce 1-3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Bruce bailed on my son just a few days before criminal court. He may have been top notch back in the day, but not currently. Poor choice for a lawyer. Buyer beware!

  5. attorney Bruce Poston, should never be practicing.

    Posted by Kathey, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Poston.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He never returned calls. Never visited the jail until the night before the hearing. Posponed the hearing 7 times or more for several reasons and never told anyone causing us to travel to the court and back. Made promises that he will get probation or just a couple of months sentence, have the case moved close to home, get a judge we could know and get most of the charges dropped down to missdeameanors etc. DO NOT USE THE LAWYER unless you want prison for 20 years....

  6. allalonethanks

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Bruce Poston.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He left my husband sit and wonder. Did not return calls. Sometimes he would show up the night before court. Needless to say it wasn't a good outcome. Thanks Bruce

  7. Intelligent and witty lawyer

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Bruce Poston.
    • I hired Bruce more than 3 years ago.
    • Bruce handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    A few years ago, I was involved in a rather horrific physical altercation and Mr. Poston represented me, my father and my uncle. After the DA throwing around terms such at Attempted Murder and sentences as long as 12 years, Mr. Poston succeeded in getting us all a plea with judicial diversion, which means I was never convicted of any crime and was able to keep a clean criminal record. Mr. Poston is now busier than ever and is not the best at returning correspondence, but you will not find a better lawyer anywhere. I trusted my life to him and would do it again.