Thomas Wormouth Shumate IV’s Reviews

Thomas Wormouth Shumate IV

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Professional and careful

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.

    Tom provided excellent advice every step of the way. He was very knowledgeable, and kept me well informed of the applicable law, and my position during the duration of the lawsuit. I have complete trust in him. He also listened to my (uninformed) opinion, and explained the legal process very well. I would recommend him to anyone.

  2. Great knowledge of real estate law

    Posted by Warner Partners, LP,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.

    Tom helps us with our commercial lease agreements and has always been great.

  3. Tom is a competent personal injury attorney

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Personal Injury matter.

    Tom has handled several personal injury claims for me. He is such a delightful person to work with. After dealing with some of the larger firms around town, I have found him to be diligent when it comes to my cases. He doesn’t make me feel like a number as some of the larger firms around town have made me feel. I always feel as if I am his one and only client. He is always responsive with returning my phone calls and e-mails. He is very knowledgeable when it comes to litigating, mediating, and settling claims. I am pleased with his representation. I highly recommend retaining Tom as counsel on personal injury claims.

  4. Excellent experience

    Posted by Tom, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Business matter.

    As a small business owner, I need an experienced lawyer who can assist me in a variety of situations. Tom has always filled that role for me. He is very open and honest in his approach and extremely knowledgable. He has always helped me with the heart of a teacher, not only solving my current needs, but coaching me on how to avoid potential pitfalls in the future.

  5. Professional but weak negotiator

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Employment & Labor matter.

    I retained Tom primarily to negotiate a settlement with my ex-employer. These are my impressions:

    (+) Tom was very open and honest with his opinions.
    (+) Tom promptly replied to my questions.
    (+) Billing amounts were as expected based on our communication.
    (-) Tom has published papers on avoiding legal malpractice. Perhaps due in part to this concentration, he appeared to devote much of his time to "covering" his position. This manifested itself in conservative recommendations (he advised to settle earlier in the process than warranted), communication (he repeated positions he had already provided and often diverted discussion necessitating follow-up communication in order to re-focus the activity), and general lack of tactical creativity (he preferred to pass communications between me and my ex-employer's counsel rather than take steps to possibly increase my recovery). I often felt that Tom was more concerned with minimizing risk to himself or his firm as well as facilitating a professional appearance than with advocating for me.
    (-) Tom was either unaware of one avenue of law available to me or else he did not think it was relevant to negotiations. I found it during an internet search.
    (-) At one point I asked Tom whether or not legal recommendations were reviewed by other lawyers in his firm. Apparently they are not. I was not contacted at any point by a partner with his firm nor was I asked for feedback on the services provided. I presumed that I would receive some added benefit by engaging a lawyer with a firm (e.g., second opinion, review of recommendations, a wider range of experience brought to bear on my case) rather than an individual.

    In this case it would have made more sense to engage a professional negotiator. A negotiator or paralegal can pass communications back and forth at significantly lower cost.

  6. Tom did a great job as my attorney and made excellent arguments on my behalf!

    Posted by David, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tom did a great job as my attorney and made excellent arguments on my behalf! He was easy to talk to/confide in and was able to look at all of the angles/perspectives of the case very accurately in order to consistently be able to advise me throughout the process.

  7. Thomas Shumate IV was great to work with

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Contracts & Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had contacted Tom Shumate regarding an employment contract issue and had a great experience. He was quick to respond, easy to talk to, easy to work with, set realistic expectations about my situation, and helped tremendously on a resolution. It is very clear that Tom is passionate about the subject and that goes a long way.

  8. Tom Shumate

    Posted by Ralph, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recommend Tom whenever possible. Tom is always forthright and upfront about what is going on, and what our chances are in any legal situation we find ourselves in. Specifically in one instance Tom was able to get a settlement out of a Business purchase we made, even though the chances were slim of that occuring. It was more than expected, and allowed us to also keep the business ongoing. In another instance we used Tom to make sure we were getting a fair deal on several Lease agreements. Even if we couldn't change everything, we at least knew our options.

  9. Fantastic attorney

    Posted by Jude, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Thomas was very professional in all his dealing with me and my team. He not only cared about my business he went out of his way to follow up with us after the fact and see how things were going. I was so impressed by him that I now use him for all of my personal legal concerns such as my will, etc.

  10. Excellent Attorney for Professional Employment Disputes

    Posted by Robert, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Shumate.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Shumate was outstanding. Very professional, very responsive, and through. He helped me navigate through the process of non-compete provisions and the many recent Tennessee laws on this topic. He was able to win a very favorable outcome for me without the pain and expense of a lawsuit. I recommend him highly to anyone needing legal advice.

Let me worry about your legal problems so you don't have to.

615-229-7499