Tamara Kulyk Holden’s Reviews

Tamara Kulyk Holden

Average Rating

Based on 41 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Be aware of what you are getting. Read all the reviews first!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tamara Holden.

    Poor communications, constant follow up, extremely difficult to get a hold off, her staff being rude, I could go on and on. We had to write many of the motions or correspondences ourselves. She was more focused on obtaining retainers from us than finding an end to the stressful situation we were going through. She would file motion after motion but never pressed to get in front of the courts to resolve. She would tell us that she couldn't control how the courts set dates. This may be true, but you got to request the dates to find out. We learned this after hiring a new attorney. We followed her instructions with blind faith. Do not do the same. She cancelled or rescheduled hearings or mediations dates without our knowledge or agreements. At the end of two years and thousands and thousands of dollars we ended up firing her. Our new attorney looked over binders of documents and was honestly taken back with the lack of follow up. With the new attorney, we were able to get more done in 45 days than Tamara did in two years. Look at all the reviews. There are many who have felt the same as we have. I just wished we read them first. We would not have hired her.

  2. Professional and reasonable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 6-12 months ago.
    • Tamara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I am appalled with the reviews on this website. My experience with Tamara was professional and I am happy to have hired her as my lawyer.
    I just closed a nearly 2 year divorce with Tamara representing me from the beginning and I could not be more pleased with her work and assistance. I had to battle my ex tooth and nail and Tamara was aggressive when needed and calm when needed. The Judge knew she was professional and actually complimented her for not going off on my ex's lawyer in a hearing when he was out of line. Overall, I think I got a better result because of her approach with my case. There were some frustrating moments but I misdirected my anger to Tamara instead of my husband, who was really the problem.
    Tamara's fees were fair and she worked with me when she was able to. She balanced my interests with running a business.
    I will undoubtedly be back in court with my ex and I plan to use Tamara again.

  3. DO NOT USE THIS LAWYER!

    Posted by Regretfull, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 1-3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I really wish I found this site before retaining Tamara. Has NO idea what my case was about. Her staff is rude and treats the clients bad. They never return phones and when you are at the point of begging to speak to someone at the office Tamara sends you nasty emails. She was worse than the person she was suppose to defend me from. In the end, I never got to court, out thousand and thousands of dollars and nothing to show. When she drew up my divorce papers, she had things in there where my wife can take my children without my permissions and run away anywhere she wants!! Obviously her receptionist drew up my divorce papers and not Tamara. It took her 4 drafts and even then it wasnt correct. She is so out of touch with her clients and totally does not care. She just wants your money!!!! There are so many more issues. I did all the work and paid her for the work I did and when I asked for my case file, she could not give me anything because all the work I did and gave her .... God knows where it went. HORRIBLE LAWYER. Please do not get caught up in her sweet talk in the consultation.

  4. Be warned. Please do your resesearch

    Posted by Ivette, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 1-3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Does not return any calls. Answers emails when ever she feels like it. Has no clue on your case. Always ask to refresh her"memory". She charged me 10,000.00 for just mediation and no court. I am a mom with 3 kids and no full time job. Tamara doesnt care. I showed my case to 2 different lawyers and they all agreed she could have done more. 1 year later still no child support and 10,000.00 grand out. Shes intimidated by other lawyers. Tamara does seem to care during consultation but once shes gets your money, your done. She also knew my ex-husbands lawyer and was very apprehensive on what I needed and wanted. Do your research before retaining anyone.

  5. This is the laziest all about money untrustworthy lawyer I have ever met

    Posted by David, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara more than 3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Please don't make the mistake of hiring her, she never returns calls and she will lead you up to your court hearing and then just before court ask you for more money if you are unable to pay it she will go reschedule your case and then try and bleed you more money every time, very very low .

  6. Divorce Case

    Posted by Brittanyp, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 1-3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My daughter had a problem with her divorce case, and her divorce attorney was not doing a good job. I enlisted the help of Tamara Holden to take over the case, and she won the case for my daughter. Ms. Holden is a very compassionate lawyer. She was very caring and she made sure she did what she could to help my daughter. If you need help with family law matters, you will definitely not regret choosing Tamara Holden as your family attorney.

  7. Great Lawyer

    Posted by TimC, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 1-3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    One of the most professional and ethical Lawyers I have dealt with. Her advise was sincere and too the point . A person of high morals and someone that I will always recommend and use if ever needed again. I give her 5 stars!!!

  8. Fantastic-Recommended

    Posted by Linda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 1-3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came to the Tamara Holden emotionally drained and broken dealing with my husband's third divorce petition. Ms. Holden listened to my emotional out pour and discussed strategies for moving forward with representing me. She was very professional, and sympathetic to my case. She assisted me in getting this case resolved while being honest and upfront regarding ALL possible outcomes. She did not badger me about fees, but worked to bring resolution to an emotional journey for me. I would recommend her to anyone. Thank you!

  9. Good lawyer

    Posted by Richard, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 1-3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tamra Holden did an excellent job in negotiating my request to decrease the amount of child support I was required to pay. She explained my options thoroughly and assisted in making the correct decision. She was with me the whole time at the court house until the new court order was written and accepted. I would strongly recommend Tamra Holden to any father needing legal services.

  10. Can NOT recommend her.

    Posted by PJ, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Tamara Holden.
    • I hired Tamara 1-3 years ago.
    • Tamara handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I really wanted to like Tamara. My wife and I were initially impressed with her attentiveness, attitude and confidence, but that soon changed. My case was regarding child support and change of custody. My 2 children came to live with me and my ex wife didn't want to modify the original child support order. Based on her advice I stopped paying child support (since the kids now live with me). The state ended up garnishing my wages, yet Tamara did nothing. Tamara canceled a hearing without my knowledge. She was slow to respond to my emails and phone calls, except when it was time to pay more retainer!

    My messages were not being conveyed accurately by one member of her staff, and she also took her time signing the paperwork when I sent her the signed Attorney withdrawal order. (15 days during which she was still my official lawyer, yet she would not do anything for me.

    Very disappointed with her. Like I said, I wanted to like her, but have never had such an unprofessional experience. Since then, I have come across several people whom have shared similar stories. Be warned.