Russell Lyle Cheatham III’s Reviews

Russell Lyle Cheatham III

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Not great

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell 1-3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When in court it was almost as if I didn't have a lawyer representing me. I spoke more than he did. That could be partially due to the abrasive manner of the judge but another lawyer I had pushed matters with the judge on my behalf. He did not discuss matters with me before the hearings and I asked him about a hearing I thought was scheduled but he said it was not on the docket. Even if the judge made an error with scheduling, myself and my ex knew the date but Mr. Cheatham did not. So the judge called Mr. Cheatham and held the hearing without me so I had no say in the matter which significantly impacted my case!

  2. Prevuous Client

    Posted by BTS, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As a previous client I would never recommend Russ Cheatham to represent any individual. My divorce took three years of litigation and we had NO children involved.
    I went thru 3 different judges for some reason. One of the judges was a women who was Russ Cheatham's attorney in private practice (She is a judge now) in his first divorce (He's divorced a 2nd time now), this judge and Russ are/were friends at the time. Russ knew she was going thru marital problems. I didm't know it at the time but this judge was separated from her husband for "Cheating" on her. Russ knew this but no matter what the rulings this female judge made he never objected. The rullings that this judge made were destroying to me. Even my ex-wifes attorney said as we left the court "She really cut your balls off". Russ never stood up for my rights or what was fair to me. My case went to trial if you believe it or not, and the day before my case he went to the beach with his daughter and wife. Consequently not prepairing for trial and got handed to him by my ex-wives attorney. He had the nerve at a break to say "Hey were doing really go". So incompetent. Stay away from this guy!!!! In the end I lost everything and had to file personal bankruptcy. If you want this outcome - Use Russ Cheatham.

  3. Excellent Divorce, Business and Real Estate Attorney

    Posted by Don, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Cheatham took over my divorce case in 2005 which had been previously mishandled by a Tampa attorney and resolved the matter quickly and fairly. This was quite a task and it saved me a large sum of money. I was so pleased, that I retained Russ several more times to assist with business and credit related matters. Russ helped me with real estate deals in which he always saved me more money in reduced closing costs than he charged in fees. Russ is always available to reach with questions or concerns. I have referred friends and associates to him numerous times.

  4. Best Attorney Practicing Law

    Posted by Sharron, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I originally retained Mr. Cheatham in 1998 regarding a divorce and custody case. Mr. Cheatham has always been professional, responsive and communicated clearly with me about every aspect of my case. To date I have continued to use Mr. Cheatham as my ex-husband tends to file motions at least once a year for various reasons. It should be noted that my ex-husband is former law enforcement and is very educated in abusing the legal system in spite of the life time Domestic Violence Injunction issued against him. I have referred many people to Mr. Cheatham and would recommend him for the best legal representation available. There has been no need to seek other legal representation after hiring Mr. Cheatham.

  5. Trustworthy with everyone in my family

    Posted by Brock, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Russ has been my grandfather and grandmother's lawyer for years. My grandparents have used his services for family law and real estate issues and have total confidence in him. I was recently tasked with a family issue involving real estate and because of my grandparents positive experiences with Russ I contacted him. Russ agreed to help me with my situation and he has been 100% responsive, knowledgable and has kept me updated on the situation.

  6. He is a very compasionate and when I needed him as my attorney i could always contact him

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My divorce was very difficult and my exhusband was extremly vindictive. Russ was always there thru the whole thing acting in my behalf and keeping a buffer between my ex and I. I would not want to go thru another divorce but if I did I would call Russ.

  7. Russ saved my Daughters life!

    Posted by Bryan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My Daughter was 6yrs old couldn't read,had no electricity in their home,missed 68 days of school the last year,failed 1st grade,had very little clothes and a mother & step father that where addicted to crack cocaine . Because my ex in-laws had money I went to court and lost 3 times prior & payed $150.00 a week in child support with visitation 2 week ends a month.
    After finding Russ within 6 months I had full custody of my daughter & her mother had SUPERVISED visitation once a week only!! My Daughter is 16 now & goes to high school, she is a A-B student,a Black Belt in Tae Kwon Do,a Sgt.in the Army ROTC & is joining the Marines. There is NO doubt in my mind that with out Russ she would be growing up in that horrible neighbor hood,strung out on drugs her self & pregnant too I'm sure. He gave a 6yr old girl another chance at life by getting her out of a extremely bad situation when no one else could. I owe Russell Cheatham a debt of gratitude that I will never ever be able to pay back! He gave me my Daughter,how can you possibly ever repay that?

  8. Exceptional Service

    Posted by Gale, a Commercial client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Commercial matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I called Mr. Cheatham on a Friday night and explained my situation and the urgency of expediting the issue. Without hesitation, he requested I email the documents to him and he would call me the next day (on a Saturday!!!); his word was as good as his advice; as well, the service was incomparable! Hire him if you're seeking positive results!

  9. Do NOT use this attorney...I should have listened to the previous postings, but chose to use him anyway.

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Trying to adequately describe the frustration with this attorney, that I experienced, is useless. Long story short...I regret ever meeting with him. I chose to ignore the two previous warnings listed on this site, and I deeply regret it. I can not say anything good about my experience with this firm. I am facing serious problems with a very tangled case due to what are, in my opinion, mistakes that the firm made.

  10. I would not recommend this lawyer for any legal work.

    Posted by Brad, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Russell Cheatham.
    • I hired Russell more than 3 years ago.
    • Russell handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Cheatham handled my divorce in which major mistakes occured costing me $100,000's of thousands of dollars of which I am still paying for to this day. I have NO children and my case lasted three years. The day before my trial Mr. Cheatham went to the beach with his family.. At the trial he was totally unprepared. If i had to do it over again I would have fired him within the first month of hire. What ever you do - don't hired this guy!!!!!