Scott Paul Davis’s Reviews

Scott Paul Davis

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Child Custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 1-6 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Single dad's should definitely be weary of this attorney. Although he is very knowledgeable, it does seem his main objective is concerned with BILLING. He doesn't hesitate to bill unsightly fees without fair warning or explanation...(including) racking up on every single phone call made by either party (down to the minute) and even billing emails necessary and pertinent to your case.

    1. Scott Paul Davis

      Scott Paul Davis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am truly sorry that this person feels this way. At my law firm (along with any other firm that charges fees on an hourly basis), we bill for the time that we spend working on each case. Our fee agreement is very clear regarding our billing practices and explains in detail that we charge for time spent working on a client's case, which includes telephone calls and emails. We never look for ways to over bill clients. However, as any other entity that preforms professional services, we operate our business by charging fees for the services that we provide.

      We presently do not charge for an initial consultation and we always make sure that potential clients understand our fee agreement before signing same and becoming our client.

      Posted 19 days ago. Flag

  2. Excellent Attorney - Scott P. Davis

    Posted by Jay, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have hired Mr. Davis for several different issues over the years and have found him to be honest, knowledgeable, and extremely hard working. One was a divorce case where my ex had hired a team of lawyers. Mr. Davis got the me the result I wanted - because he worked for me and on my behalf - allowing me to get on with the rest of my life. The second was a child custody case - the feeling of being on equal terms with my daughter's mother is the best feeling in the world and Mr. Davis was wholly responsible for that.

  3. Hard Working & Helpful!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Scott Davis was very helpful during a stressful and depressing time in my life. He worked hard to make me feel calm and very prepared for court. He always kept me informed of all aspects of my case, always returned my calls quickly, and never seemed irritated with me when I didn't understand something. I was very happy with the work Scott did for me both in court and outside of court. I will hire him again if I ever need to and definitely recommend him to anyone in need of a family law attorney.

  4. I am fortunate to have met Mr. Davis

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 6-12 months ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have never worked with an attorney until my divorce last year. I was very fortunate to have Mr. Davis represent me through this long, difficult, and emotional process. Mr. Davis patiently guided me through every step of my case and always made me feel like my case was very important to him. Mr. Davis was compassionate, patient, and easy to talk to. He kept me informed with all aspects regarding my case and returned my calls and emails in a timely manner. He was relentless in his negotiations with the other attorney and did an amazing job in court when we were unable to settle out of court. I highly recommend him.

  5. never showed up to my court hearings and was very unprofessional!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This attorney is very unprofessional, he never showed up to court hearings and ended up withdrawling from my case as well as charged me over my retainer fee. He showed the least bit concern to my case and his staff had no clue what was going on. would not recomend him to anyone!

    1. Scott Paul Davis

      Scott Paul Davis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I have no idea who posted this review; however, the allegations simply are not true. Not appearing for court appearances can (and often does) result in problems with the judge and/or The Florida Bar. I would never fail to appear for court absent an emergency situation.

      As to the remainder of the issues: 1) my staff and I are fully aware as to the status of each of our pending cases; and 2) our fee agreement clearly addresses the possibility that our fees may exceed the initial retainer depending on the work performed in that case. Each family law matter is unique and by nature of the industry, we charge attorney's fees for the time that we spend representing our clients in their respective cases.

      Posted 19 days ago. Flag

  6. Caring & Confident Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Divorce is never an easy situation. For me, it was overwhelming and raised so many concerns -- about my kids, finances, quality of life, etc. A close friend referred me to Scott, and I can't imagine there's a better, more thorough, confident, and empathetic lawyer out there. He always made me feel like I was important and remembered facts and details from my case that most would have forgotten. He had a perspective that made me feel reassured and decreased the enormous anxiety I was feeling. I had a great resolution to my case and would highly recommend Scott to anyone.

  7. Exemplary Service

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met Mr. Davis at one of the worst times of my life, but I can't thank him enough for making a painful period better through exemplary service throughout my divorce. Aside from being extremely thorough and responsive, he had a great way of guiding me through the process. He helped me to not overreact to requests from the other attorney and told me exactly what to expect at each hearing. He is a very trustworthy straight shooter who you want in your corner. I highly recommend him and will definitely use him again if necessary.

  8. Disappointed

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In general, Mr. Davis was too wrapped up in his own problems to be an effective lawyer in my case. He can be callous and hard to reach. His services are pricey. At times he seemed more attentive to his billing and collecting his fees than anything else.

    1. Scott Paul Davis

      Scott Paul Davis

      Lawyer Comment:

      As I stated in another review, I am unsure as to what "personal problems" this reviewer is referring to. I have a wonderful family, fantastic friends, and a very satisfying career where I am able to help people every day that I go to work. Moreover, the absence of any Florida Bar disciplinary history for the past 10 years can be verified on the Florida Bar's website. Here is the link directly to my page:

      http://www.floridabar.org/names.nsf/0/99B13BA9E99D4CA785256A8300257D93?OpenDocument

      Posted 19 days ago. Flag

  9. Honest, Smart, and Reliable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Divorce is not easy and sometimes the protection of the law does not seem fair. Scott was a constant professional throughout my case. He is honest, smart, reliable, respectful and compassionate. He made me feel like someone understood my problems and would zealously defend me. I strongly advocate securing his counsel in divorce matters. His conduct inspires confidence and admiration. I cannot say enough good things about him.

  10. Has too many personal problems

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Scott Davis.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Scott Davis has entirely too many personal problems to handle anyone's case. He rarely responded to my emails and when he did he was callous and almost angry that I bothered him. He was always complaining about Bar complaints filed against him and dealings with his wife. Needless, to say, I moved on.

    1. Scott Paul Davis

      Scott Paul Davis

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am unsure as to what "personal problems" this reviewer is referring to. I have a wonderful family, fantastic friends, and a very satisfying career where I am able to help people every day that I go to work. Moreover, the absence of any Florida Bar disciplinary history for the past 10 years can be verified on the Florida Bar's website. Here is the link directly to my page:

      http://www.floridabar.org/names.nsf/0/99B13BA9E99D4CA785256A8300257D93?OpenDocument

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

813-251-6222