Anne Marie Gennusa’s Reviews

Anne Marie Gennusa

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Patricia, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne 1-3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Ms. Gennusa from a shelter for abused women. From the moment I met her and explained everything I had been through, including being abused by my first attorney through total neglect of my case, I felt as ease. I was so distraught and confused. After our first meeting I was able to breath. During the Injunction for Protection hearing, case management hearing, mediation and the trial before the Judge I was comfortable with Ms. Gennusas abilities and blown away by her aggressiveness while always being professional. I was proud to say she was my attorney.

  2. A Superior Lawyer, Should Have Been My First Choice

    Posted by -scott, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne 1-3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was going through a long tedious divorce, which involved other sensitive and complex issues, and had a previous attorney that was doing nothing, not to mention not showing up on my court dates to represent me, and the whole process being delayed. When I first went to Anne Marie, she asked why am i switching lawyers, i replied that "i wanted results", and that is exactly what i got.. A couple days later after retaining Anne Marie, everything started moving . Anne Marie, along with her assistant Shannon was very informative, intelligent, and professional. With Anne Marie this was a very smooth and easy process. Not only did she help me with my Divorce case, but other legal issues as well, with positive outcomes. Anne Marie has been a pleasant to work with. My only regret is that i didn't choose Anne Marie sooner. I would continue using her for future services and would recommend her to everyone seeking an attorney.

  3. Represented me in my divorce hearing

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My divorce ended up being uncontested by me against the advice of Anne Marie. I found her to be intelligent, to the point, professional, and compassionate. MY ONLY COMPLAINT with her office, is with her legal assistant/ office manager Shannon Gange. Upon my initial visit, Shannon TOLD me to have a seat in the waiting room and brought out some paperwork to be filled out by me prior to my appointment with Anne Marie. She proceeded to explain how to fill out the forms and to be sure not to leave anything out because if "I have to fill it out for you, my time is much more expensive than yours (word for word). I found this to be very unprofessional especially coming from an assistant representing a professional office but I was not there to see her so I brushed it off and proceeded. Most all communication outside of your paid time with Anne Marie is done through Shannon and the next several communications with her proved to be an extension of my initial visit. I very politely asked her if she could speak to me with the same tone and respect that I show her? She apologized and said she was just having a bad day. To sum it up, I wanted to use Anne Marie with a contempt issue I was having but the continued issues with Shannon's unprofessional ism was too much for me as I had enough stress going on to have to deal with her. I had never commented any of these issues to Anne Marie (which I should have) because I really liked her as an attorney and did not want to jeopardize anything. Although Anne Marie did not represent me in court, she appeared to be very competent and genuinely a good person. It's a shame she has someone so unprofessional representing her office. After explaining my added stress from Shannon to Anne Marie, she gave me a refund of the unused portion of my balance. If you are thick skinned enough to deal with Shannon, I really would recommend Anne Marie. My Ex wore my skin out and I just could not deal with her.

  4. Helpful, Efficient,

    Posted by Tracey, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Anne Marie is the first person I call when I need legal advice. She has helped our family in several instances, varying from child support issues, to libel/slander and a motor vehicle case. There is no price to put on sound legal advice, especially when the outcome potentially weighs heavily financially on your family. In each case, she gave sound advice, and then gave updates as they were available to keep us informed. She is aggressive when you need it, makes a plan, and then delivers. I definitely recommend her.

  5. Ms. Gennusa represented my family in a divorce proceeding.

    Posted by Peter, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    We found Ms. Gennusa to be very professional, honest, extremely intelligent, kind, compasionate and straight to the point. Answered all of our questions before they were even asked so that there were no surprises and we were well prepared during each phase.
    I would not hesitate to recommend or use her in the future.

  6. BEST LAWER EVER

    Posted by andrew, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    ANNE is the best lawyer i ever had and has always done what she said she would do , fees are very fare and would reccommend to everyone to use her. Also SHANNON her assistant is spot on , great team , ANNE has been great . Very fare with men in disputes

  7. An attorney who really cares!

    Posted by Amy, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Anne Marie Gennusa has represented me twice, first in 2007 in a contempt case related to child support I was not receiving and more recently a custody related matter. I had initially heard about her through a friend, a social worker, who was able to witness her in court on several occasions. I was not disappointed with the resolution of either case. I felt Ms. Gennusa genuinely cared for my family which can be rare to find when selecting an attorney. Even though I had moved from the area I chose to return to St. Augustine to retain Ms. Gennusa. She was willing to commute to help me and went above and beyond my expectations to represent me. Her fees are very reasonable and she is straightforward about all costs involved. I highly recommend her to anyone needing a good, smart, tough, eithical attorney for a family matter.

  8. Top Level

    Posted by Jay, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It was a real blessing when I choose Anne Marie to represent me in my DUI case. I found Anne Marie to be well informed and totally up front when it came to focusing on what we set out to accomplish as a team. The outcome was a very pleasant experience. She gives you a strong, commited effort at an extremely reasonable cost.

  9. Easy to communicate with.

    Posted by Hayward, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend this attorney to handle just about anything. She was very down to earth and to the point on how she was to handle our case. Easy to talk to and can relate to her as a professional as well as an individual.

  10. Best there is!

    Posted by Christopher, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Anne Gennusa.
    • I hired Anne more than 3 years ago.
    • Anne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Anne Marie is great. She picked up my falling apart case that had already taken two years to get where it was by another lawyer. She jumped in and had it finished in two weeks. She was also able to salvage parts of my case the other attorney fouled up. I wish I would have retained her in the begining.