Malcolm Anthony’s Reviews

Malcolm Anthony

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. My Saving Grace!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 6-12 months ago.
    • Malcolm handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After a traumatizing experience in Jax Beach, being arrested for DUI, I was given Mr. Anthony's information from the Bails Bond company referred to me by inmates. Since I have never been in trouble, this experience was not only traumatizing to me but it was also confusing and difficult for me to understand and put my arms around. I immediately called Mr. Anthony's office and made my consultation appointment. After discussing my options, the process, the potential end results, I felt that Mr. Anthony was the attorney for me. After 5 months of fact finding, Mr Anthony representing me in court and negotiating with the prosecuting attorney, Mr Anthony was able to reduce my DUI charges to reckless driving adjudication withheld but I had to complete all the DUI "penalties"(court fees, DUI Level I class, license restriction for 6 months, MADD classes, probation, community service). He tried all the avenues, investigated all options to get the charges removed but the prosecuting attorney wouldn't budge. Mr Anthony was able to get the charges reduced because of my professional involvement in the community, no history of previous trouble, and I needed to keep my secret security clearance. My next step is to seal my record and then I will be complete with the process. Mr Anthony and his staff were my saving grace! They took my case and were able to get charges reduced. I would definitely recommend Malcolm Anthony and staff!! Very professional and thorough, highly qualified and knowledgeable of all aspects! Thank you again!!

  2. DUI Arrest

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 1-6 months ago.
    • Malcolm handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mr. Anthony after a relative was arrested and spent a night in jail for a DUI arrest.

    He was very clear and forthcoming about his situation and alternatives. He explored every possible alternative to help reduce or dismiss the charges. He was very knowledgeable about the law, the judicial players and appears to have good personal relationships among the prosecution/court officers. He developed innovative solutions to issues, was willing to explore every avenue of defense and didn't give up until that avenue was exhausted. Throughout the process he kept us informed and was honest (good and bad) about probable outcomes.

    In the end all my relative's charges were dismissed and I believe that Mr. Anthony deserves the credit.

    I would highly recommend Mr Anthony.

  3. Malcolm Anthony is the BEST DUI lawyer in Jacksonville

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 6-12 months ago.
    • Malcolm handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Malcolm is effective and gets the job done. He doesn't waste time or money. I thought my DUI case was hopeless and Malcolm got the charges dropped. I highly recommend him.

  4. BUI

    Posted by Chris, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 6-12 months ago.
    • Malcolm handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was arrested for a BUI on July 4, 2013. It was my 2nd DUI/BUI arrest in 3 years, so I was facing a minimum of 10 days in jail if convicted. I was referred to Malcolm anthony by a friend. I met with him the next day and he walked me through the process and let me know what to expect. His fees were very reasonable so I made the decision to retain him as my attorney. After 7 nerve racking months, he was able to get my case completely dropped. I could not be happier with the results or his representation of me. I highly recommend Malcolm Anthony if you ever find yourself in a similar circumstance.

  5. My Hero!

    Posted by Sylvie, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 6-12 months ago.
    • Malcolm handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I had a situation where I was arrested for domestic violence 12 years ago, and even though I was defending myself against an abusive husband, when they told me that if I pleaded no contest, I would be released from jail, I took the deal. Four years ago, I went back to school to get my nursing degree, passed my boards, but because of this charge, have been unable to get a job. I called several lawyers and every one of them told me there was nothing they could do. When I called Malcolm Anthony, he was the only one who gave me hope. Being realistic, he told me there was a possibility of him being able to vacate my plea, and have the charges reduced. When I told him how important it was that the charges be dismissed, he said that while the chances weren't good, that he would try his best. After his meeting with the State's Attorney', he called to tell me they agree to dismiss the charges. While I realize that my case was unusual, I know that Malcolm went in there to fight for me because he believed in me. I hope to never need him again, but if I do, he will be my first phone call!

  6. THE DUI lawyer to turn to in Jacksonville

    Posted by dbergin51, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 1-3 years ago.
    • Malcolm handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I got a DUI May of this year and we have used Malcolm once before for another case and everything went to plan. We decided to turn to him again and don't have any doubt in my mind he is THE lawyer to go to in Jacksonville. Every time a hearing went on or court or whatever it was, Malcolm wanted you in his office so he could break it down in the simplest terms possible to get a full understanding of how the court system works and where we were at in the case at that time. Malcolm is hands down the best lawyer and solemnly cares about you and your case. So if you ever need a lawyer in Jacksonviille, do not hesitate to call Malcolm or that's not the only thing you'll regret.

  7. THIS IS YOUR GUY FOR A DUI

    Posted by Jim, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm more than 3 years ago.
    • Malcolm handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was arrested for DUI after the players in May 2012 and Malcolm has worked with me for over a year to get this case resolved. I had a road side test, I admitted I was drinking and I blew. I was going to throw in the towel but God must have been with me in the jail house courtroom that day as the normal judge was out sick. My court ordered judge would not let the presiding judge decide the cases and I met Mr. Anthony in the court room that day. The deck was stacked against me but Malcolm and his staff believed in me as a an individual citizen and my case was important to them for various reason of age, current and past employment, social status and limited education. He fought for justice for me and my case was settled as reckless driving with a fine, some probation and other penalities. The important thing is that he stayed with me all the way at one point telling me I'm not ready to settle this yet you deserve better and I am going to continue to fight. He saved my security clearance, job, diginity and I am glad he came into my life. I highly recommend him "AS YOUR GUY FOR A DUI"

  8. Able to Keep my Security Clearance

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 1-3 years ago.
    • Malcolm handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In 2012 I was on out of state business travel to St Augustine Florida for my Company. Unfortunately I struck a sign post with my rental car and ultimately was arrested for a DUI. After some research and reviewing Mr. Anthony's record, I hired him to represent me. Most importantly, Malcolm understood my concern with losing my security clearance and the fact my livelihood depended on it. Malcolm succeeded in developing a strategy and managing my case such that it was reduced to reckless driving withholding adjudication. This directly contributed to my security clearance not being impacted. He kept me very informed throughout the whole legal process, represented me in court so that I did not have to travel to Florida multiple times, and provided me with his personal cell phone and returned all my calls promptly. His office support was also very helpful in answering my many questions. I would highly recommend Malcolm Anthony to anyone needing legal representation. He is an extremely skilled and seasoned attorney.

  9. Saved My Son's Life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm 1-3 years ago.
    • Malcolm handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Words will never be able to describe how much Mr. Anthony saved my son's life. I came in his office beaten, tore down, and looking for any help I could get. Mr. Anthony not only showed me compassion, but he proved that not all attorneys are about the money. His ingenuity and spunk made me feel that my son wasn't another statistic. I was treated like family and for that I will ever be grateful. If your looking for a stellar team and an amazing attorney, look no further than Malcolm Anthony.

  10. Hire someone else!

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Malcolm Anthony.
    • I hired Malcolm more than 3 years ago.
    • Malcolm handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Terrible attorney! I hired him twice in one year 2010. The first time paying around $1000 to avoid a suspension. Malcolm spent no time discussing or meeting with me on this matter. Specifically which tickets he would go after to have those points removed to prevent the suspension. He chose how to handle the matter, what ticket to have points removed, and did not do the job he was hired to do. He did prevent a 6 month suspension, but less than 6 months later I faced a 30 day suspension, because he chose an easy ticket to get the points removed on. Not one I would have had him go after, since those points were about to fall off anyway. Malcolm simply dealt with the matter two quickly, no personal service, and did not handle it properly to ensure no points suspension. Later that year, before the points suspension, I hired him again, paying $50 to have him represent me in court. Usually I go myself and plea no contest, as I have MANY times before. Which is what Malcolm did on my behalf for $50. However unlike I have ever seen before, Malcolm got the fine increased and I was ordered to go to traffic school. Not sure why I hired him at all, just wasted $50 and had my fine increased. I would NOT recommend his services at all. This attorney is in bed with the legal system. Malcolm told me he had some of the judges at his home for a party the weekend before I retained him to avoid a points suspension. Furthermore in both cases the outcome was less than desirable, no discussions on other cases. Just an all around bad attorney. Save the $50 and go to court and plea no contest yourself. If you are facing a point suspension, hire someone else who will take their time and make sure the job is done correctly the first time! Even worse I tried to take another matter to him recently to redeem himself from past mistakes, and I was referred to another law firm. What a joke, they do a horrible job, and then decline to work for you again to make up for any mistakes. No wonder attorneys get a bad name and reputation. I have hired MANY attorneys over the years, mostly in California. I have never had such poor service or as little communication with any other attorney in my life.

904-285-4529