Elmer H. Young III’s Reviews

Elmer H. Young III

Average Rating

Based on 43 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Extremely grateful client - Thank you Mr.Elmer!

    Posted by AG., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 1-6 months ago.
    • Elmer handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I found myself facing a DUI charge for the first time, scared and confused I searched for local Augusta attorneys and came across Mr. Young. His numerous positive reviews led me to consult him about my case. He was very informative and told me the positives and negatives to my case and did not pressure at all to hire him, instead, he told me to take my time and think about my decision. I decided to trust him with my case and hoped that he would help me. I remember him calling him one day after work and I broke down in tears (the whole process was very emotionally charged for me) Mr.Young calmed me down and helped me see the light, I knew right away I was in good hands. Fast forward to my dreaded arraignment day, I was utterly shocked at how smooth and fast the process was. The judge reduced my charge then to a reckless driving on that day. I was given hefty fines but at least I am free of a DUI conviction. Mr.Young had warned me that a quick charge reduction was not very common, but he was able to make it happen for me. I would not expect the same speedy resolution for everyone as all cases are different, but I would definitely recommend him to anyone facing the same dilemma as I was. I am very thankful to add one more positive feedback for Mr. Young. He saved my career!

    Thank you Mr.Young!

  2. Not a "Waste of Money"

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 1-3 years ago.
    • Elmer handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    If you are reading this you probably made the same mistake I did so no need to tell you not to drink and drive at this point, but you will want Mr. Young in your corner. I am not being paid to say this but actually had to pay to say this. First of all, if you get to speak with Mrs. Young, that is a blessing in itself because she is such a sweet and true person, acts like she has known you your whole life and is truly sincere. I received a DUI in Chatham County and am an out of state client that did not look forward to returning to Savannah for anything other than sight seeing or vacation and Mr. Young made it possible for me to never see the inside or outside of the courthouse. Mr. Young is a very straight-forward man that will not tell you what you want to hear but will give you the reality and possible outcome for the best or worse side of your case so he is definitely worth every penny in this stressful time in your life. I don't want to give details of my case because it is complicated, but this is where Mr Young specializes. I also read these reviews for over a year wondering if I could be one of the fortunate ones to have a positive ending and at the last moment I received a plea agreement that was phenomenal ( this means very good) and I, not Mr Young, plead guilty. If you put your trust in this man he will not steer you wrong nor give you false info and his character is nothing short of wonderful. Don't listen to your instincts, but rather listen to this man and you will not be disappointed. Good Luck and DONT drink and drive, ANYWHERE or ANYTIME

  3. DUI attorney

    Posted by Fred, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 1-6 months ago.
    • Elmer handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Look, bottom line, I have dealt w attorneys at all levels of business and personal.
    Pete Young is one of the best attorneys I have ever hired. He is the most effective, responsive,
    And integrity driven people I know.
    Not only was my case dismissed, but my fee was
    Very competitive . Don't be fooled by your attorney , hire one who cares. Elmer "Pete "
    Young.
    Thank you for hearing me.
    Fred

  4. Waste of Money

    Posted by Sherry,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 6-12 months ago.

    This guy threw me under the bus...He had told me that he was a fighter...Wrong
    He did show up in court in Port Wentworth twice representing me in a DUI...There was No breathalyzer (I know enough to refuse)....No video...When we got to State court...the new young DA....handed him my arrest report...I went by the police dept and I had picked it up months earlier, but he had never seen it...Why...because he never asked for it....basically it said I had been rude...I don't deal with authority well......I would not have disagreed with that...but that was not the Charge...DUI was...when we stepped outside of for discussion...he told me it didn't look well and that I did not appreciate what he was doing for {Which was nothing, except costing me $625.00 for every time he showed up)...but if I wanted to give him another seven thousand dollars...he would fight it...then he advised me just to plead guilty...When I got up before the Judge...he left...He didn't even stay...This man did nothing but take my money......It has taken me a year, to get over the extreme anger that I was left with....DUI examiners could not believe that without a breathalyzer or video that I would have been found guilty...obviously, they're used to better lawyers.

    1. Elmer H. Young III

      Elmer Young

      Lawyer Comment:

      Wow! Sure took a "dunk'n with this one! I first want to say how surprised I am.Our written fee agreement called for 2 things: !.Represent you at the License suspension hearing and 2. Attempt to negotiate in the lower court for a non-DUI disposition. I appeared for you at the first hearing and got your license suspension rescinded. I further got the arresting officer to agree to a reduction. All that was in 2012. When the new DA came into office in January of 2013 routine reductions of all DUIs in Chatham County came to a screeching halt. I explained that to you, but you did not like hearing it. Nor did you like that additional fees that would be expected where a trial is required. I quoted you my usual fee. You did no want to spend the money. I explained the options as I am required to do. You chose to plead based upon fees. Not only did I not recommend pleading Guilty, I NEVER do! I would rather try the case. Sometimes clients can't afford it, but you knew that because it too was contained in our written fee agreement. Additionally at the sentencing not only did I not "Walk away" (something a judge would never allow) but you swore under oath to his question that you were "satisfied with the services of your attorney": That's part of the public record. I'm sorry you feel the way you do. I wish you had made me aware of it and at least given me an opportunity to provide you with some satisfaction. I will have to take this slap, move on, and let my record speak for itself. I hope you anger does take up too much space in your head, it hurts a lot. Be well.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  5. Grateful RN

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 1-6 months ago.
    • Elmer handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    If you are a medical professional & find yourself in legal trouble, CALL MR YOUNG. I was speeding on I-16 (as most do) was stopped & ultimately arrested for DUI. I will spare the personal details (because everyone's story is unique) & space here is limited. After days of crying, worrying not only about the driving consequences I faced, but my nursing license, my career! I began my research & found Mr Young. Made the call to his office, expecting to get a secretary, receptionist or even a recording, but was astounded...Mr Young answered the phone! Still in shock...he began by listening, gathering information & questioning the DUI circumstances. After 45 mins, he explained the pros & cons of my case to me & I was eager to go the next step. Hire him, sign the paperwork, & pay him. I couldn't believe what he said next, " I want you to take a breath, take a few days to take all the information in, pray about it and let me know if you still want to hire me." AMAZING!! Needless to say he was able to negotiate my case & I kept my driver's license, my charge was reduced to failure to exercise due care, he got my probation waived & the DUI was not reported to the state of ga. That was a good day! I will be honest, in the negotiations, there were some hoops I had to jump thru (DUI & DDC class, victim impact presentation,& a hefty fine) but the consequences would have been devastating had I not found Mr Young. He's not a magician but he's a lawyer who will look at every angle of your case & put tremendous thought into his every action & give you peace, respect, and the best results possible. I am a forever indebted, grateful nurse who gets to continue a career & appreciate the lesson learned. Thank you Mr Young

  6. great attorney thank you

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elmer Young.

    I Went To Mr Young With A Case That Could Cause Me To Loose My Job In LAw Enforcement. He Helped Me Greatly. I Didn't Do Anything Wrong And He Helped Me Prove That To The Court. Would Recommend Him In A second To Anyone Who Needed Help. Thanks Again Mr Young

  7. Highly Recommended!

    Posted by Kenneth, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 1-3 years ago.
    • Elmer handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Young helped me out of a very "sticky" situation that was clearly manipulated by authorities. I would highly recommend Mr. Young for any case related to an alleged "DUI". His fees are very reasonable and Mr. Young is very professional.

  8. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 6-12 months ago.
    • Elmer handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    We hired Mr. Young after our son was arrested and charged with some serious drug charges in Effingham County. After reading all the reviews on this site, we knew with certainty that he was who we wanted to represent our son and we are very happy with that choice. Mr. Young was great about telling him things that he could do to possibly help with his case. After several months of court appearances and negotiations, Mr. Young was able to get the original offer of 10 years down to 90 days and probation. This was an outcome that at the onset of this entire ordeal, my husband and I never thought would be possible. We cannot thank Mr. Young enough and we highly recommend him!

  9. DUI reduced and kept me out of jail

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 6-12 months ago.
    • Elmer handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Young was able to have my DUI reduced to a Reckless Driving and not have my license suspended. He was very easy to talk to and did what he said he was going to do. I just made the phone call and placed all of my trust in him.

  10. Great lawyer

    Posted by spowers9, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Elmer Young.
    • I hired Elmer 6-12 months ago.
    • Elmer handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I got a DUI down in savannaha in June when I was n town for a wedding. I got there at 12am at night and went to meet our friends downtown. We met them had a drink and me and my girlfriend left to go back to our hotel. I got pulled over on the highway for failure to maintain lane, I was using my gps on my phone for directions, and denied the on site breathalyzer so they took me to station and I blew a .081 (.001 over the limit). The officer arrested me and charged me with DUI but she said she would try and have it reduced but I didn't count on it because it was my 2nd DUI. Thankfully with Mr. Young's help he was able to work a deal to where I got it reduced to reckless driving and kept my license with no restrictions. I ended up with 2 yrs probation, 40 hrs community service, DUI school, drug and alcohol evaluation and a $1000 fine. But no second DUI on my record which is huge especially with me about to get a new job. Mr. Young saved my future.