Jeffery Alan Rothman’s Reviews

Jeffery Alan Rothman

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI Acquitted at Trial

    Posted by JT, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Its been a few days since I was acquitted of DUI and I am still at a loss of words. I hired another attorney earlier handle this case, and she just wanted to plea it out because of the high BAC number. I knew that would never be an option for me. I hired Mr. Rothman based on the reviews from this website, and I could not be more impressed with the outcome of my case. After a year and a half of trying to get the prosecutor to reduce the DUI to reckless driving they would not. I decided to take my chances at trial and Mr. Rothman was a rock star in the courtroom. Even after the officer testified about the failed FSTs and a high BAC of .146 Mr Rothman was still able to convince the jury to acquit me because of bad recording keeping by the people department, and a faulty breath machine. I would not hesitate to recommend anybody to Mr. Rothman.

  2. Best Dui lawyer ever!!!

    Posted by Randall, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Already having a Dui on my record, I knew this would be a tough one. A friend told me to use Mr. Rothman. He was very professional and explained everything, even what each little movement you did during a field sobriety test would mean. I was completely shocked when I learned that my case would be dismissed. He's an amazing lawyer, and a great guy. Give him a call if you're in trouble.

  3. The Best DUI Attorney in Georgia

    Posted by Chris, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I hired Mr. Rothman my world was spinning out of control. I had been charged with a 3rd lifetime DUI. I was driving on a limited permit so was given a felony charge for that. I was also charged with reckless driving, open container and failure to maintain lane.
    I had heard from several people I was facing anywhere from 2-5 years in prison. I was working with my girlfriend about what to do when I was in jail and how to handle the day to day things I did around the house. I even had thoughts at times that there was no reason to go on. I was hurting everyone who was close to me. I felt worthless. I kept thinking if I become a convicted felon over this and serve years in jail what can I even do with my life? I had basically given up on the business I run, because if I were to go to jail for a couple of years it would go under.
    So I met with Mr. Rothman. His rates were high, but after meeting with him and reading the reviews on here I came up with the money. From day one there was a sense of comfort with my choice of hiring him.
    Then we went to the license suspension hearing, and he destroyed the police officer in his testimony. My girlfriend said afterwards I bet a bunch of other people in court today were wishing they would have hired your lawyer...he was awesome up there!
    It took several more months, but then recently Mr. Rothman called me and told me he had a deal for me. He had gotten the felony charge dropped, the DUI charge dropped, the reckless driving charge dropped, the open container charge dropped. He said if I would agree to plead guilty to two counts of failure to maintain lane along with nolo to driving with suspended license then I would right away get my license back and only get 12 months probation and a fine. Also, I would only have to report to probation until my fine was paid off.
    After court today even my newly assigned probation officer was shocked. She kept asking me questions like “so there’s no order for you to attend dui school?” “The dui is gone?” “There’s not even reckless driving?” “There’s no community service?” And I happily said no to each question, and she just kind of stared at me and said WOW!
    Something else I should mention is he knew every tiny detail of my case. He put so much effort into my case. He worked my case like I was his own son.
    The person reviewing him before me said Mr. Rothman doesn’t stay in touch with you very well during your case. Although that was true for me, it didn’t bother me. I didn’t hire Mr. Rothman to be my psychotherapist, I hired him to work for me in regards to my criminal charges, and to get me the best deal he could get for me. He did that. He did more than I ever could have dreamed of.
    Mr. Rothman quite frankly gave me a second chance at life.
    I am setting out on a new course in life, trying to take advantage of the new opportunities that await me, and I never plan to get in trouble like this again. However, if I were to I would call Jeff Rothman, and I would have no need to even get a free consultation with anyone else.
    I have dealt with another DUI lawyer. He just took my money and plead me out guilty to the charges while working out a deal. He put forth little to no effort for me. Mr. Rothman is not like that. He will fight and fight and fight to get the DUI charge dropped. He will fight like crazy for you.
    It’s like someone who was born to play baseball and has all the talents to be a superstar. That’s Mr. Rothman. He was born to do this job. He has all the talents. What really sets him apart is he works so hard on every case. He puts so much effort and energy into every case. He knew tiny little details about my case that I didn’t even know. He had studied it from every angle to work out this deal. I could go on and on and on all day if AVVO would let me.
    I HIGHLY suggest that if you get a dui anywhere in Georgia you call him and see if he will take your case. There is no better DUI attorney in this country. Thank you Mr. Rothman!

  4. too busy to be effective

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jeff was too busy to keep me informed throughout my 2012 case. Regardless of the outcome of my case, it was extremely difficult to get a hold of him. Despite having an office in downtown Athens, he was often unavailable for in person meetings, calls, even emails. Jeff is professional, but only when you can get a hold of him. I considered several Athens attorneys, many of whom were less expensive. I figured for the premium I paid, Jeff would be very attentive. Unfortunately he was not, so I cannot recommend Jeff as an attorney.

  5. Athens Best DUI Attorney

    Posted by Jordan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jeff handled my DUI case from 2008 that was extremely complicated due to previous offenses. I went in thinking all hope was lost and that I was going to suffer major legal consequences. From the beginning Jeff was working out possible solutions and he made me feel like I had a chance of beating this charge. In the end my case was dismissed thanks to Jeff's vast knowledge of the law. I cannot express how grateful I am to have had someone of his caliber on my side and for the positive outcome. If you get charged with DUI in Athens there is no question that Jeff Rothman is the attorney you want to handle your case.

  6. DUI Case Dismissed

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested and all of my friends recommended that I use Mr. Rothman. They had not personally used him, but knew of his great reputation. He fought for my probation violation case and got a better sentence for me since I was in school, and when it came time for my court date he proved himself a great attorney. I was schedule for jury trial, but in between court dates, the motion to suppress my case was granted.

    I would have paid him double. I would recommend Mr. Rothman to anyone and everyone. Hopefully, I will never need another defense attorney, but if I do, I know who I will go to first.

  7. DUI case won - dismissed completely

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Jeff Rothman took my DUI case and got it completely dismissed. He was on top of things throughout the entire process. I had to do very little and he kept me updated with what he was doing. When it came to the courtdate, Jeff was very prepared. He had obviously done his research and prepared the necessary case law, police report information, and knowledge about the arrest, to win the case. There are plenty of great reviews for Rothman around other sites. Rest assured, they are from real clients, like myself, who were very satisfied with Jeff's work. Don't forget to contact Jeff as soon as possible of your DUI (if that is relevant to you) Jeff made sure that I kept my license between the arrest and the final courtdate. I highly recommend Jeff Rothman.

  8. Don't hire another attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are arrested for DUI in Georgia this is the attorney you want. From the initial consultation I left his office with peace of mind. He got me great results and was available to discuss my case when I needed him to. He made sure I was 100% comfortable with decisions pertaining to my case and thoroughly explained the pros and cons of different scenarios. If you find yourself in the unfortunate position of having to find a DUI attorney, make life easier on yourself and hire Jeff Rothman. You'll feel as if you have someone who cares about his clients and works extremely hard to get the best possible outcome.

  9. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Mike, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would STRONGLY recommend Jeff Rothman for D.U.I. defense in Athens.

    I was referred to him by another attorney. It was obvious from our first conversation that Jeff was extremely familiar with D.U.I. cases, and he immediately had ideas for my defense. My case eventually ended up in front of a jury, and Jeff proved to be a skillfull trial lawyer. Even the judge was impressed with his diligence in gathering evidence on my behalf. I was found not guilty of the charges against me.

    I would definitely recommend Jeff Rothman and his team to anyone facing a D.U.I. in Athens.

  10. Highly Reccomend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently was arrested for a DUI and of course I was unsure who to hire. Being that Athens is a college town there is certainly not a shortage of DUI lawyers, but I was lucky that I was given the name of Jeff Rothman. My one regret is that I didn't get to experience first hand Jeff's courtroom skills (charges were reduced to reckless) but I've heard nothing but great things and fully expected him to win the case for me at trial if it got to that point. Being that this would have been my second DUI I had a lot to lose but Jeff got me a deal that prevented me from having a DUI on my record, spending any time in jail, or losing my driver's license. Aside from his legal skills, Jeff is a likable guy and I could tell that he really cared about my case. I was worried that someone who came as highly recommended as Jeff would have too many clients and not pay the appropriate amount of time to my case, but I am happy to say my worries never came true. I once hired a lawyer with a great reputation, however, that lawyer gave minimal effort to my case. Jeff is not that guy. He has tons of DUI cases but he is not one of those lawyers that wants to plea his clients out. He wants to fight every case, and he'll fight for you. You will not regret hiring Jeff.

706-208-1169