Jeffery Alan Rothman’s Reviews

Jeffery Alan Rothman

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. By far the best DUI lawyer I have ever encountered

    Posted by Dustin,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.

    I chose Jeff Rothman to represent me for a DUI that I had received back in mid August. I knew that if anyone could help me with this case it was Rothman, his creditable reputation thrives around the Athens community and it shows. Rothman was not only knowledgeable, but he was responsive and trustworthy as well. Jeff was able to dismiss my DUI case with only a fine. Even when things were not in my favor, throughout the case Mr. Rothman kept me on my toes assuring me that he would be able to work everything out. I highly recommend Mr. Rothman for any future DUI or criminal law suites. This man knows YOUR rights!

  2. Great Attorney!!!

    Posted by Cristina,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.

    I was represented my Jeff Rothman in a recent DUI and am so glad to say it has completely been dropped. His knowledge and his experience are apparent from watching his interaction with judges, prosecutors, and practically everyone in the room. He was very informative and I felt as if I was having my hand held throughout the entire process. At no point did I ever feel he wasn't in complete control and wouldn't provide a spot on defense. Mr. Rothman's fee was slightly higher than other attorneys in Athens, but in this particular case you get what you pay for. A good attorney.

  3. Didn't do what he said he would

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Rothman came highly recommended and I hired him in 2008 to defend me after I was charged with DUI at a road block following a UGA game. The machine at the road block would not register a reading but the officer said I failed the sobriety test and arrested me anyway (in spite of the fact I told him I had a herniated disc in my back and a former head injury). Mr. Rothman told me he would get the video of the sobriety test, my medical records to see if we could use these in my defense but I needed to pay him $4500 up front. He said after he reviewed these, he would know if i had a chance to have the charges dismissed. After I paid him, he barely communicated with me during the process and when I would ask if he had gotten the records need for my defense, he would say he was in the process of obtaining them. I told him if I was convicted, it would have a huge impact on my employment. When it came down to the day of the final hearing, Mr. Rothman had never gotten the information he told me he was going to request to use in my defense. Then In spite of leading me to believe earlier we could get the charges thrown out, Mr. Rothman told me he had a "deal" to plead down for wreckless driving & I better take it or I would be faced with paying him more for a jury trial. When he presented the case for the the plea bargain, including telling the judge that the machine did not register correctly, the judge commented it it seemed the road block had not been conducted correctly. I think if presented with the documentation Mr. Rothman lead me to believe he was going to obtain, the charges could have been dismissed. Instead, with the wreckless driving charge I still had to pay fines, probation fees and I lost my job. If you hire him, you better stay on him to do what he says he will do.

    1. Jeffery Alan Rothman

      Jeffery Rothman

      Lawyer Comment:

      We're sorry you feel like you had a bad experience with our firm, though according to you the DUI charge was apparently dismissed. We strive for the utmost client satisfaction in every case. I regret that the facts you describe do not sound familiar to me as it appears according to you it was more than 6 years ago. Because you did not leave your name, i am unable to contact you regarding this. However, feel free to contact me directly to discuss your specific concerns.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  4. Stopped at roadblock and arrested for D.U.I.

    Posted by Nicole, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 6-12 months ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was stopped at a road block late one night when I was arrested for a D.U.I. I was recommended to Mr. Rothman by a friend of my fathers- who was also an attorney. Mr. Rothman was very helpful in explaining my current standing and the actions I needed to take in order to strengthen my case. I was required to do very little but Mr. Rothman kept me informed of the important changes in my case. Overall he was very prepared in all aspects of my case and handled all court appearances professionally and efficiently. My case was dismissed and I no longer have criminal charges on my record. Highly recommend Mr. Rothman for your attorney needs.

  5. DUI Acquitted at Trial

    Posted by JT, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Its been a few days since I was acquitted of DUI and I am still at a loss of words. I hired another attorney earlier handle this case, and she just wanted to plea it out because of the high BAC number. I knew that would never be an option for me. I hired Mr. Rothman based on the reviews from this website, and I could not be more impressed with the outcome of my case. After a year and a half of trying to get the prosecutor to reduce the DUI to reckless driving they would not. I decided to take my chances at trial and Mr. Rothman was a rock star in the courtroom. Even after the officer testified about the failed FSTs and a high BAC of .146 Mr Rothman was still able to convince the jury to acquit me because of bad recording keeping by the people department, and a faulty breath machine. I would not hesitate to recommend anybody to Mr. Rothman.

  6. Best Dui lawyer ever!!!

    Posted by Randall, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Already having a Dui on my record, I knew this would be a tough one. A friend told me to use Mr. Rothman. He was very professional and explained everything, even what each little movement you did during a field sobriety test would mean. I was completely shocked when I learned that my case would be dismissed. He's an amazing lawyer, and a great guy. Give him a call if you're in trouble.

  7. The Best DUI Attorney in Georgia

    Posted by Chris, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I hired Mr. Rothman my world was spinning out of control. I had been charged with a 3rd lifetime DUI. I was driving on a limited permit so was given a felony charge for that. I was also charged with reckless driving, open container and failure to maintain lane.
    I had heard from several people I was facing anywhere from 2-5 years in prison. I was working with my girlfriend about what to do when I was in jail and how to handle the day to day things I did around the house. I even had thoughts at times that there was no reason to go on. I was hurting everyone who was close to me. I felt worthless. I kept thinking if I become a convicted felon over this and serve years in jail what can I even do with my life? I had basically given up on the business I run, because if I were to go to jail for a couple of years it would go under.
    So I met with Mr. Rothman. His rates were high, but after meeting with him and reading the reviews on here I came up with the money. From day one there was a sense of comfort with my choice of hiring him.
    Then we went to the license suspension hearing, and he destroyed the police officer in his testimony. My girlfriend said afterwards I bet a bunch of other people in court today were wishing they would have hired your lawyer...he was awesome up there!
    It took several more months, but then recently Mr. Rothman called me and told me he had a deal for me. He had gotten the felony charge dropped, the DUI charge dropped, the reckless driving charge dropped, the open container charge dropped. He said if I would agree to plead guilty to two counts of failure to maintain lane along with nolo to driving with suspended license then I would right away get my license back and only get 12 months probation and a fine. Also, I would only have to report to probation until my fine was paid off.
    After court today even my newly assigned probation officer was shocked. She kept asking me questions like “so there’s no order for you to attend dui school?” “The dui is gone?” “There’s not even reckless driving?” “There’s no community service?” And I happily said no to each question, and she just kind of stared at me and said WOW!
    Something else I should mention is he knew every tiny detail of my case. He put so much effort into my case. He worked my case like I was his own son.
    The person reviewing him before me said Mr. Rothman doesn’t stay in touch with you very well during your case. Although that was true for me, it didn’t bother me. I didn’t hire Mr. Rothman to be my psychotherapist, I hired him to work for me in regards to my criminal charges, and to get me the best deal he could get for me. He did that. He did more than I ever could have dreamed of.
    Mr. Rothman quite frankly gave me a second chance at life.
    I am setting out on a new course in life, trying to take advantage of the new opportunities that await me, and I never plan to get in trouble like this again. However, if I were to I would call Jeff Rothman, and I would have no need to even get a free consultation with anyone else.
    I have dealt with another DUI lawyer. He just took my money and plead me out guilty to the charges while working out a deal. He put forth little to no effort for me. Mr. Rothman is not like that. He will fight and fight and fight to get the DUI charge dropped. He will fight like crazy for you.
    It’s like someone who was born to play baseball and has all the talents to be a superstar. That’s Mr. Rothman. He was born to do this job. He has all the talents. What really sets him apart is he works so hard on every case. He puts so much effort and energy into every case. He knew tiny little details about my case that I didn’t even know. He had studied it from every angle to work out this deal. I could go on and on and on all day if AVVO would let me.
    I HIGHLY suggest that if you get a dui anywhere in Georgia you call him and see if he will take your case. There is no better DUI attorney in this country. Thank you Mr. Rothman!

  8. too busy to be effective

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jeff was too busy to keep me informed throughout my 2012 case. Regardless of the outcome of my case, it was extremely difficult to get a hold of him. Despite having an office in downtown Athens, he was often unavailable for in person meetings, calls, even emails. Jeff is professional, but only when you can get a hold of him. I considered several Athens attorneys, many of whom were less expensive. I figured for the premium I paid, Jeff would be very attentive. Unfortunately he was not, so I cannot recommend Jeff as an attorney.

  9. Athens Best DUI Attorney

    Posted by Jordan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery 1-3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jeff handled my DUI case from 2008 that was extremely complicated due to previous offenses. I went in thinking all hope was lost and that I was going to suffer major legal consequences. From the beginning Jeff was working out possible solutions and he made me feel like I had a chance of beating this charge. In the end my case was dismissed thanks to Jeff's vast knowledge of the law. I cannot express how grateful I am to have had someone of his caliber on my side and for the positive outcome. If you get charged with DUI in Athens there is no question that Jeff Rothman is the attorney you want to handle your case.

  10. DUI Case Dismissed

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jeffery Rothman.
    • I hired Jeffery more than 3 years ago.
    • Jeffery handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested and all of my friends recommended that I use Mr. Rothman. They had not personally used him, but knew of his great reputation. He fought for my probation violation case and got a better sentence for me since I was in school, and when it came time for my court date he proved himself a great attorney. I was schedule for jury trial, but in between court dates, the motion to suppress my case was granted.

    I would have paid him double. I would recommend Mr. Rothman to anyone and everyone. Hopefully, I will never need another defense attorney, but if I do, I know who I will go to first.

706-208-1169