Mary Jo Workman’s Reviews

Mary Jo Workman

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A+++

    Posted by Erika, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-6 months ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Several years ago Mary Workman was first recommended to me by a friend after I shared with her the bullying and harassment my colleagues and I endured from my principal and area superintendent. Ms. Workman provided me with legal advice that empowered me to regain my confidence, dignity, and self-esteem as an educator. Recently I was at a loss of how to proceed after my supervisor blatantly violated my privacy thus forcing me in a battle for my livelihood. Again Ms. Workman has provided me with excellent legal advice along with concern for my well-being. She has been honest, open, and very helpful in assisting me to resolve this issue. I highly recommend Mary Jo Workman to anyone that wants an excellent employment attorney that cares about her clients. She has been a friendly voice during an extremely stressful time. Thank you.

  2. Misrepresentation of a Lawyer

    Posted by Mrs. Banks, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    She agreed to represent me in an employment case 3 years ago and just as others stated, she took my money, never kept me informed and up to date about the status of my case or if and when I needed to be prepared to attend court and NEVER met any deadlines which caused me to lose a huge case that even the judge working on the case stated was a misrepresentation on the attorney's behalf.
    She is so unethical and careless in her business matters to the point that she failed to show up to court when I personally sued her for payments made to her to act as legal representation on my behalf. This so-called attorney still has an unpaid judgement owed to me and has made no attempt to pay even after my current attorney made attempts in writing to collect.
    Furthermore, when I hired a skip trace company to locate detailed information to help me locate her so that a garmishment and lien could be placed on her accounts and property, we found out that she is more indebtness to a plethora of companies and other attorneys in excess of over $6,000 each and there was more than ten judgements and liens already in existence and due in addition to mine.

  3. Damaged!

    Posted by Damaged, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Discrimination matter.

    Mary Workman caused irreparable harm in my very strong employment case.
    She TOOK my money and then disappeared. She missed every deadline
    Given by the courts including discovery. She botched my case so bad that
    No other attorney would take it until one agreed to not only because he
    Believed that it was very strong but also because he did not like the
    Black eye attorneys like her bring upon the legal profession. I was advised & intend
    To pursue action upon the conclusion of my case.

  4. How does she sleep at night

    Posted by Mary, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mary is an attorney who I found in a rush to gain legal representation. She comes across as a very compassionate attorney but once you pay her then she becomes lazy, absent-minded and violates the legal code of ethics in a manner I've only seen in movies and read about in papers when lawyers have engaged in conduct violating the very oath they take. She wanted additional money after having done NOTHING on my case. I became concerned and spoke to another attorney who stated that he knew of her, adding that she had a poor reputation among the legal circle. If you notice as one former client stated and I picked up on reading other complaints/comments, each time someone writes a negative experience, mysteriously there comes one or two clients who use the same language and rate her as being above reproach. I am sorry to the other people who have also been victimized by Mary Workman. If you also notice one of the posts talks about her "taking on hundreds of corporate lawyers " for one case (paraphrased), however that is the same statement she has on her old and new website which lets you know she hasn't had any substantial cases as of late. It is beyond my belief that she has no pending legal actions against her and God Bless to the gentleman who pursued her negligence in court. Hopefully something will be done to prevent her from harming any more people who innocently come to her for justice and are fall for her song and dance. If you look you will see the last federal case she fought was in mid 2000. MSBP cases are easy to find and I could not find her name on any but one. Shame on you Mary Workman..how do you sleep at night?!

  5. Great Lawyer

    Posted by David, a Aviation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Aviation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have had the opportunity to work with Mary Workman on several cases and have found her to be knowledgeable regarding rules and regulations. She met deadlines that were close and did a good job of informing me about how the case was progressing. Her strengths are the experience she has gained while representing various levels of society and the fact she is willing work with you regarding retainer fees. I recommend her and will use her in the future if the need arises.

  6. RUN FOR YOUR LIFE

    Posted by Mary's Victim, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mary J Workman is a joke. I hired her for a case related to an employment issue. She was very persisten about getting the retainer. Once she got the retainer she did NOTHING. She missed EVERY deadline for my case and called me once on her own. After that she was unresponsive. I put the legal work together and all she had to do was submit it. She cancelled every scheduled appointment and only wanted to meet on weekends and then cancelled. If I had trusted my case in her hands despite the red flags I would have lost out on a very important opportunity for justice. I FIRED her and retained another attorney. I could go on for ever but I will save the rest for the proper entity. Do NOT and I repeat DO NOT make the mistake I made. Thank God I was able to get help though many attorneys did not want to take my case because of the mess her INACTIONS caused....

  7. Excellent

    Posted by Tony, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was represented by attorney Workman in a discrimination case in Federal Court. Although I was ill at the time, Mary was insightful, kind, and compassionate. Ms. Workman, a sole practice attorney, was opposed by a law firm of several hundred attorneys and managed to out lawyer all of them! She brought superb clerical written work, attention to detail, and superior negotiating skill. I must say above all, my best experience was getting to know her as a person.

  8. Experience, expertise, and dedication

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Ms. Workman on two different cases. Her combination of experience, expertise, and dedication proved beneficial in both cases. I felt like a valued customer rather than just another case to be handled. I would recommend Ms. Workman to anyone looking for a very professional attorney.

  9. AN INSULT TO THE LEGAL PROFESSION

    Posted by scammed, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mary Workman after searching for an employment attorney and reading her self-written website. She represents herself as being selected as one of Atlanta's best however I could not find this any where. In heroffice she has what seems to be a certificate that you can get at Kinkos stating she was awarded for her legal work among attorneys in Atlanta, however it's behind her and you can't read it. She begged for a high retainer and once I paid it she showed her TRUE colors. She missed EVERY deadline in my case. Was not aware of ANY specifics regarding my case. I fired her and would WARN ANY ONE SEEKING LEGAL REPRESENATION TO LOOK ANYWHERE ELESE BUT TO HER.

  10. THANK YOU MARY WORKMAN FOR YOUR EXPERIENCE, EXPERTISE AND COMPASSION

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been acquainted with Mary J. Workman through a Labor/EEOC mediation representation. She came at a time when I needed an attorney to represent me with no upfront retainer fee, she allowed me to pay my retainer over the course of my case when no other attorneys would do that. Ms. Workman is an excellent labor law attorney who single-handedly took on my case with experience, expertise and compassion. I won my case through mediation, and my settlement was equitable and fair. She has firsthand experience in the practice of Labor/EEOC law. She is very reliable when it comes to scheduled dates, and with me coming from a paralegal background that leaves a lot to admire in an attorney. Ms. Workman’s honesty, integrity and compassion no matter how large or small the case stands out among the competition; and is to be commended. She has performed pro-bono services and free legal work for the needy and underprivileged...I admire that and her work; and I am confident that she will continue to do excellent legal work for others who retain her services.