Mary Jo Workman’s Reviews

Mary Jo Workman

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A+++

    Posted by Erika, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Several years ago Mary Workman was first recommended to me by a friend after I shared with her the bullying and harassment my colleagues and I endured from my principal and area superintendent. Ms. Workman provided me with legal advice that empowered me to regain my confidence, dignity, and self-esteem as an educator. Recently I was at a loss of how to proceed after my supervisor blatantly violated my privacy thus forcing me in a battle for my livelihood. Again Ms. Workman has provided me with excellent legal advice along with concern for my well-being. She has been honest, open, and very helpful in assisting me to resolve this issue. I highly recommend Mary Jo Workman to anyone that wants an excellent employment attorney that cares about her clients. She has been a friendly voice during an extremely stressful time. Thank you.

  2. Great Lawyer

    Posted by David, a Aviation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Aviation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have had the opportunity to work with Mary Workman on several cases and have found her to be knowledgeable regarding rules and regulations. She met deadlines that were close and did a good job of informing me about how the case was progressing. Her strengths are the experience she has gained while representing various levels of society and the fact she is willing work with you regarding retainer fees. I recommend her and will use her in the future if the need arises.

  3. Excellent

    Posted by Tony, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was represented by attorney Workman in a discrimination case in Federal Court. Although I was ill at the time, Mary was insightful, kind, and compassionate. Ms. Workman, a sole practice attorney, was opposed by a law firm of several hundred attorneys and managed to out lawyer all of them! She brought superb clerical written work, attention to detail, and superior negotiating skill. I must say above all, my best experience was getting to know her as a person.

  4. Experience, expertise, and dedication

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Ms. Workman on two different cases. Her combination of experience, expertise, and dedication proved beneficial in both cases. I felt like a valued customer rather than just another case to be handled. I would recommend Ms. Workman to anyone looking for a very professional attorney.

  5. THANK YOU MARY WORKMAN FOR YOUR EXPERIENCE, EXPERTISE AND COMPASSION

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been acquainted with Mary J. Workman through a Labor/EEOC mediation representation. She came at a time when I needed an attorney to represent me with no upfront retainer fee, she allowed me to pay my retainer over the course of my case when no other attorneys would do that. Ms. Workman is an excellent labor law attorney who single-handedly took on my case with experience, expertise and compassion. I won my case through mediation, and my settlement was equitable and fair. She has firsthand experience in the practice of Labor/EEOC law. She is very reliable when it comes to scheduled dates, and with me coming from a paralegal background that leaves a lot to admire in an attorney. Ms. Workman’s honesty, integrity and compassion no matter how large or small the case stands out among the competition; and is to be commended. She has performed pro-bono services and free legal work for the needy and underprivileged...I admire that and her work; and I am confident that she will continue to do excellent legal work for others who retain her services.

  6. labor

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Ms. Workman by another labor attorney. After meeting with Ms. Workman and she collected retainer check(cash same day) I had a deadline to respond to former employer when she called my former employer and asked for extension. She never called back and never informed me she had a respone from former company attorney. I sent her a letter terminating her services and requesting statement for current charges. She did not reply. I retained another law firm and at this time discovered the former company attorney had replied to her letter with a deadline for me to accept agreement, I missed the deadline. I went to small claims court to collect retainer monies less time spent in meeting and writing letter. Workman never showed up in court and
    I won judgement plus new attorneys fees.

  7. Satisfied Client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary 1-3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have had the great pleasure of knowing Mary Workman for a little over a year now. During the time of our acquaintance, I have known Mary in many capacities. She has been my attorney and has handled my cases in a professional and responsible manner. Her responsibilities in this capacity have grown with the activity level of her growing practice. In addition, I have seen her go above and beyond for her clients.
    Mary is an intelligent, capable, dedicated, and personable woman. She is always quick on her feet, with sensible reactions in all the circumstances I've seen her in. I feel confident in saying that she is capable of handling any situation with thoughtfulness and maturity.

  8. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Thomas, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mary Workman.
    • I hired Mary more than 3 years ago.
    • Mary handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mary Workman is an excellent lawyer. She gave me excellent advice in my employment case and clearly outlined my legal options. She explained everything so that I coud understand what was happening to me. She did not try to "take over" the case because she was exceptionally aware that I am the client and she had to serve my needs.

    She referred me to a larger law firm which was able to represent me and to together we worked through the problem to a settlement. She always had my interests in mind when she was giving me legal advice, something I did not experience with the other lawyers I consulted before finding her. Without her assistance, I would have been left without proper representation.

    When our professional relationship ended, she maintained a friendship with me, which is objective and concerned in personal matters as she was in her professional dealings.

    I highly recommend Mary Workman for anybody who wants the truth of their situation.