Lance Newton Owen’s Reviews

Lance Newton Owen

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I cannot imagine trying to navigate this process with any other attorney than Mr. Owen.

    Posted by Stephen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance 1-6 months ago.
    • Lance handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Owen has been my attorney for over 5 years throughout my divorce and protracted custody fights. I was completely inexperienced in these matters, and Mr. Owen not only guided me through the process, but spent a great deal of time and effort explaining the law and the process. I found the depth and breadth of Mr. Owen’s knowledge and experience of the law and process to be extremely valuable in handling my case. Not only did Mr. Owen concentrate on the law and process, but also used his knowledge and experience with the personalities involved such as the opposing attorneys and the judge to craft a comprehensive strategy. Mr. Owen used his experience and knowledge to negotiate when possible, and fight when necessary to protect my children and me.

    From the very first meeting, Mr. Owen and his staff impressed me with not only their professionalism, but even more important the kind and caring way they, and especially Mr. Owen, treated me as a person and not just an abstract case to be managed. Mr. Owen spent many hours listening to my concerns, answering questions, going over the history and issues involving my case, going over documents, and building our case. Mr. Owen kept in constant communication with me, patiently listening to me as the issues evolved, constantly adapting and evolving our strategy in an effort to gain the most favorable outcome possible. In comparison to the opposing attorney, not only was Mr. Owen vastly more knowledgeable about the law, but also in his preparation in the issues of the case. Mr. Owen spent many hours insuring that he was able to present documentation and case law to support our position on every issue. Most importantly, Mr. Owen spent a great deal of effort insuring that we did everything possible to protect my children and address their needs. Mr. Owen frequently showed the courage to fight to protect my children, even going so far as to keep me focused on what was best for the children. Mr. Owen worked hard to keep us focused on what was important and not get distracted by meaningless issues.

    The simple fact is Mr. Owen, throughout the entire process, made me feel that mine was his most important case. He worked diligently to keep me informed, educated about the law and process and to alleviate the many fears I had about the process. I cannot imagine trying to navigate this process with any other attorney than Mr. Owen.

  2. Custody and Child Support

    Posted by Beth, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance 1-3 years ago.
    • Lance handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    "My situation was complex in regards to my case; paternity, legitimation, and establishment of child support for my two children. Lance took time to sit down and listen to my multiple concerns and issues. He provided answers to my questions, reassurance for my concerns and developed a plan to get my issues resolved. I was impressed by his knowledge of the law and diligent efforts to collect information and evidence regarding my case. Both he and his office staff kept me well informed throughout the course of my case. His performance in the courtroom was flawless as he quickly brought issues regarding my case to light and got the results my children deserved. The outcome of my case was outstanding and was above and beyond anything I expected. I would highly recommend Johnston, Owen & Bullard to anyone seeking legal representation".

  3. I could not have found a better attorney than Mr. Owen.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance 1-3 years ago.
    • Lance handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Over the last 6 ½ years, I have employed Lance Owen to represent my interests in no less than 5 civil matters. When I first met with him, he told me to feed him as much information as possible about the case, listen to him carefully, and follow his instructions. I can tell you truthfully that this formula works when you are working with Lance. His extensive knowledge of the law, his clear understanding of the dynamics of our justice system, and his articulate skill in the courtroom have placed him far ahead of his opponents in my experiences working with him. His staff is always very prompt, professional, and courteous, and Lance, himself, is always easily accessible. I never feel like I am more than a phone call or email message away from a discussion with him or from an answer to a question, and he moves quickly on things when it is time to take action. In my opinion, Lance sincerely takes ownership in the outcome of my legal matters, as he has immersed himself in thoroughly understanding the facts and issues of each one.

  4. Recommend Highly for Divorces

    Posted by Bonnie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance 1-3 years ago.
    • Lance handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lance Owen handled my divorce case. He was extremely knowledgeable of laws and requirements and I appreciated his complete openness and honesty about what could potentially happen. He was also very personable and seemed to genuinely care about me and my situation. He continually stayed on top of the case to ensure that processes, at least on our side, ran as quickly and as smoothly as possible. I was overly excited about the outcome of the case and I actually cried as the judge laid out what I would get in the divorce. Had it not been for the diligence and competency of Lance, I don't think the outcome would have gone as well. I would definitely recommend him to anyone seeking a divorce.

  5. Divorce

    Posted by Jenny, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance 1-3 years ago.
    • Lance handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have used Lance for my divorce and again recently for a child custody. Lance and his staff are very kind, knowledgeable, trustworthy. They made a difficult situation a little easier. I have recommended him to my sister and would to anyone else.

  6. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Jennifer, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance 1-3 years ago.
    • Lance handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lance Owen is an excellent attorney. He is very personable and showed genuine concern for me as his client. Lance helped me feel at ease and confident to get closure on my case quickly and efficiently. He is extremely knowledgeable and well prepared. He made every effort to keep me posted and stay in contact so I did not feel as if I would have to handle this “all on my own”. He was very helpful, answered lots of questions for me and was able to get a quick result regarding my case. I am very happy with the outcome and would recommend Lance whole-heartedly.

  7. Great Support!

    Posted by Laurie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance 1-3 years ago.
    • Lance handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In fact, I have recommend him and I know of 3 people that I have recommended that used him and had the same positive experience

  8. You get what you pay for!!!!!

    Posted by Betty, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lance Owen.
    • I hired Lance more than 3 years ago.
    • Lance handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This man was always willing to sit with me and really listen. If he wasn't sure about something on the spot he always took time to look it up and keep me informed. He made a very stressful situation almost calm. Always made me feel like he had my back . I would recommend this attorney to anyone who needs someone Professional, hardworking, and can be trusted. As for the money part, He only charges for what he has done, no more, no less. Let's face it, A good attorney is never cheap!