Sean Joseph McIlhinney’s Reviews

Sean Joseph McIlhinney

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Truly one of Atlanta's top Attorneys (and more importantly a great person)!

    Posted by Mike,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have used Sean as my personal and business attorney for years. He has handled everything from registering our business, provided advice on real estate and financial matters as well as handled two major court cases for the organization. I deal with many attorneys with our clients etc. and must say that none of them have the knowledge, passion, sincerity AND results that Sean is able to deliver. I have also referred close to 10 friends to Sean and they all thank me after he handles their legal matters. I can't say enough good things about one of the top attorneys in the Atlanta area.

  2. Good attorney when you are in trouble....

    Posted by Jeff, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 6-12 months ago.
    • Sean handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When you are arrested for DUI, there is tremendous uncertainty surrounding your license, driving restrictions, fines, possible jail-time, community-service, DUI classes, etc... Don't have sleepless nights. Sean will guide you with confidence when you are overloaded with stress. Impactful details are his game: Mouth-alcohol levels, probable cause for the officer, rules/regulations the law must follow: these are all things I had never considered. Sean always called me back, always responded to emails and, (ultimately), assisted in getting my case reduced to reckless-driving from DUI. Nice!!!!......that's what I was looking for.......

  3. Reckless driving/57 MPH over the speed limit and DID NOT LOSE MY LICENSE

    Posted by Anthony, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    In February of 2012 I was arrested for speeding 112 MPH in a 65 MPH zone with a reckless driving charge on top of that.. That is 57 miles over the speed limit. I had already had 2 tickets on my record as well, but never been arrested before. I also was under 21 when the arrest happened. Sean got my case moved from Roswell/Alpharetta to Fulton County Court system. For Fulton Country to even issue me a court date is took almost a year and a half, come September or October of 2013 I finally received my court case for November 13, 2013, this worked out well because I was now over the age of 21 which means the penalty for this type of charge would be much less sever than if I were under 21.

    Sean kept me informed that I would not lose my license (which I was very worried about as it would effect my job) and kept me in the loop on who would meet in in the court room etc. Sean handled my case very well and his associate he chose to represent me actually worked in the same court room for the Judge I was assigned. Wow! What a relief. The judge even commented on it himself. I had already taken care of 55 community service hours before the case, so instead of charging me a $550 fee they took my community service hours. The judge accepted the plea bargain before the entire case.. They would drop the speeding charge, which would mean that I would not receive any points against my license, but the reckless driving charge would still stick on my record. Overall, the turnout of this case could not have gone any better, the speed wasn't reduced at all and the reckless driving charge is still on my license, but I didn't have to pay a dime at court and I did not lose my license for going 57 mph over the speed limit. I am still amazed.

    Thanks so much Sean for the great work. I would definitely recommend you to anyone else that is in a similar situation

  4. Excellent

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Sean handleded my case FLAWLESS he was able to reduce it from DUI to reckless driving. I had only to appear once in court. He has VAST knowledge on this field. No probation was required!. I would def recomend him.

  5. Speeding 20 over- Reduced to non reportable

    Posted by Drew, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 6-12 months ago.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Sean assisted me in getting my speeding ticket of 20 over the speed limit to a non reportable violation which would not effect my drivers history or insurance cost in Milton Municipal court before an important legal case. Sean was kind, responsive, and trustworthy. I would recommend Sean to my friends.

  6. Satisfied and Relieved

    Posted by Melinda, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 6-12 months ago.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    My daughter received a speeding ticket on her way back to school in Alabama from Florida. I was worried that she would have to appear in court to fight this ticket. Sean helped me fight this ticket. My daughter did not have to appear in court nor did she receive points on her license. I was extremely pleased with the outcome. Sean and his staff were very professional and handled my situation quickly. Sean has also helped my son with a ticket he received in Georgia. I highly recommend Sean McIlhinney for any traffic violations you may have.

  7. Sean kept me informed, was super responsive and most of all was successful

    Posted by steve, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Sean helped me successfully fight a traffic citation i received in Georgia. Being from out of state (Indiana) I was singled out by the officer while traveling with traffic and the ticket was wrote for way over what i was traveling. When I got home and researched the fine, i was blown away at the County fine and then to add a Georgia penalty on top, I felt it was not right. I researched several lawyers who didn't really take the time to speak with me about my specific situation and I thought would be stuck with Georgia's super speeder penalty. Sean and his team were different. First he responded to me after hours and actually listened to the details of my situation. Then he kept up the communication throughout the entire process. Not only was he able to get my ticket reduced, he saved me the super speeder penalty and I didn't have to travel back to Georgia to fight it. It was a WIN WIN WIN for me (fine reduced, super speeder avoided and he kept the points off my record). I would definitely hire Sean McIlhinney again! (but sorry Sean, hopefully i don't have to)

  8. Helped Me Out of a Bind

    Posted by Corrie, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean 1-3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    One day out of the blue, I received a subpoena requiring me to appear in court in Decatur. I was really frustrated at first because I stay out of state, but knew I had to start making calls to find a lawyer. After making a few calls and getting a few quotes from rude receptionists or no responses at all, I was really discouraged because I felt that I was going to have to spend a lot of money for someone that I haven't even spoken with and who does not have my best interests in mind at all, but that all changed after I called Sean's office.

    The receptionist that answered the phone was the first plus. She was very thorough in gathering my information and seemed very genuine and told me Sean would give me a call back. I was a little bit leery, however, because I was already told that before from previous calls I had made to other lawyers' offices, but later that day he gave me a call back.

    Sean was very professional and informative, but it was his kind nature that made me realize that I had made the right choice. After speaking with him on the phone, I really felt like he was concerned about my well-being and understood my situation, and best of all he quoted me the lowest price! He kept me informed throughout the entire process and I felt like I had nothing to worry about. After the court date, he sent me documentation confirming that there had been a resolution. I am so grateful, words can't even express it! I can't recommend him enough. If you're ever in a bind, please give him a call, you won't regret it!

  9. Very Satisfied and Grateful

    Posted by Melissa, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I can comment on his legal prowess, as Sean just closed a traffic court case for us last week.

    My husband received a substantial speeding ticket on 75-N. We were looking at paying the mandatory $200 Super Speeder fine, increased insurance premiums, in addition to whatever hefty fine the traffic court imposed upon him.

    Sean went to court on my husband's behalf, so my husband did not have to take off work to attend. Sean got the fine reduced significantly and also got the charged dropped to a non-reportable offense, which means it won't be reported to the DMV (no Super Speeder fine) and won't go on his driving record (no increase in insurance premiums).

    We are obviously pleased with the results of the case, but I was also very happy with the level of communication leading up to the court date. Sean's paralegal, Nilda, was very professional and very quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had.

    I cannot recommend his firm enough.

  10. Don't bother

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sean McIlhinney.
    • Sean handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I really can't comment on his legal prowess since he never returned phone calls when I left messages at his office. He advertises on his website the he can help out of state drivers with traffic tickets recieved in Georgia. He didn't help me.............he couldn't even bother with a phone call until the day of the court date. Don't waste your time.