Thomas L. Maddox’s Reviews

Thomas L. Maddox

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Great guy and very professional with a wear your sweat pants attitude (this is a very positive comment)

    Posted by Shaun, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Well, I was given a big name attorney in Atlanta and a friend gave me Tommy's name from a church listing I went to their individual websites and really liked the more human and family side his website portrayed.
    Great job really jumped in there and got alot of this stuff knocked out pretty quick. I wish nothing but the best for his practice and pray for more success comes his way. <sidenote> My legal matter was an auto injury claim and he handled it the only way it could be handled. Thanks Tommy.

  2. The best!!!

    Posted by Ashish Abraham, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found this lawyer when i really needed someone best..He is very knowledgeable,and anytime responsive..He is more like a friend to the clients than a lawyer,I will defenietely recommend him for anyone..He is the best..

  3. So good I used him again

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is the second time I have used Mr. Maddox for my legal needs.
    He is straight forward professional and very trustworthy. Tommy is very personable and caring. He has kept me informed throughout the whole process and when I have needed to contact him he has either answered the phone or called me right back in a very timely manner.

  4. Client

    Posted by Saino, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Best lawyer I've dealt with and has integrity, that is rare to find. He's an advocate and is committed to achieving the right outcome for his client.

  5. My Lawyer, My Friend

    Posted by Tina, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I met Tommy Maddox around 1972 when he moved in across the street. We became friends and basically "grew up together." I moved away, but when I returned to Georgia, we were in touch again.

    In 2007, my mother was attacked by a pack of dogs. Much to the surprise of the medical team, she survived. However, her injuries were so extensive, she eventually succumbed to them 3 1/2 months later.

    As soon as I learned of the attacks and traveled to Georgia, I contacted Tommy. He is the only one I wanted to trust with this case, as it involved my mom who was precious to me. It proved to be the right thing to do.

    He kept in constant contact, explained everything so I could understand, and worked hard to resolve the cases (there were two). Although no amount of money could bring my mom back, the settlements we reached were acceptable.

    I will always remember his kind, caring ways and appreciate all he has done for me.

  6. Lee Wright

    Posted by Lee, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Tommy was very thorough in my divorce case with all the details needed to complete it. He kept me constantly informed as to the progress being made and what was going on with the case. On top of that, he was very down to earth and easy to get along with when it came to dealing with the client. I would strongly recommend Tommy for any other case in the future.

  7. Great Recommendation

    Posted by Shan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Tommy was recommended to us by a dear and trustworthy friend, and we were not disappointed. Tommy was knowledgable, comforting, responsive and encouraging. He was prepared to dial it up or dial it down depending on our disposition, and was prepared and competant in either scenario.

  8. Best Attorney Around - Incredible Man of Character and Values

    Posted by Diana, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    On two separate occasions over the past 25 years I have benefited from the services of Mr. Tommy L Maddox. He is one of the kindest, most thoughtful, persistent and well intentioned attorneys I have ever met. He has restored my faith in the institution of the legal field. I would HIGHLY recommend him and will use him in the future should the need ever arise!

  9. Tommy's a great attorney without the pretense.

    Posted by Bruce, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I never, before, had to hire a Family Law attorney until the father of my daughter's child filed a legitimation suit. The suit also included visitation and child support issues. I freaked! Having no idea where to turn, and like everyone else, I got on the internet in search of an attorney. I had called a couple of attorneys and, in each instance, was only able to speak with a receptionist. They did nothing but intensify the gloom and doom! Then I came upon Tommy's name and website. With his office being relatively close to home, I called. To my surprise, he answered the phone! It only took a couple of minutes of conversation for me to decide to hire him. He put me at ease immediately and we set up an initial appointment. We met and I knew I had made the right decision. He kept me updated as things progressed with the other attorney. He strongly suggested mediation, which I agreed to, and was able to keep the suit out of court. From his expertise and through his mediation efforts, my daughter was able to secure a reasonable visitation schedule for her daughter's father and more than reasonable child support payments. If I ever, again, need a Family Law attorney, Tommy's the person I'll call.

  10. The best attorney a single parent can get in Atlanta.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Maddox.
    • I hired Thomas 1-3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tommy Maddox is anything but the average attorney. He proved to me time and time again that he is trustworthy, hardworking, and dedicated to my case no matter what. Just knowing that he has been through a divorce was comforting to me, but after seeing him in action I knew I had the BEST attorney in Atlanta in my corner.
    Mr. Maddox was always patient with me and helped take the emotion out of the issues that came up. He kept striving to keep me on task and showed me how to look at things differently.
    If you need help, as a single parent, or in a divorce/custody setting Tommy is definitely the attorney for you. I owe Mr. Maddox (Tommy) a great deal more than money. If you are looking for the right person to handle your case, then look no further. Thomas Maddox is your man!