Jesse Grant Scharff’s Reviews

Jesse Grant Scharff

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Skilled, knowledgable, and honest with effective results

    Posted by Adam, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse 1-6 months ago.
    • Jesse handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After having a few points on my driving record that are due to completely clear this coming January, I got a ticket for about 20 miles over the speed limit a few months ago and then another one for 5 miles over about a month later that Mr. Scharff combined on the same court date and got both dismissed to avoid affecting my driving record or insurance.

    Mr. Scharff takes your case seriously, is up front about everything, kept me informed along the way, and uses all the resources at his disposal to acquire the best possible result. Highly recommended!

  2. Jesse knows his way around a Wake County courtroom! No DMV hearing!

    Posted by Brian, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse 6-12 months ago.
    • Jesse handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Jesse Sharff was referred to me by another local and respected attorney to help me with getting my drivers license reinstated after a 3 year permanent revocation. While I had been expecting to handle my own DMV hearing, get friends to vouch for me there, etc Jesse took the reins. He executed on a very creative idea and through his courtroom relationships and negotiations he was successful in working out an arrangement with the Court to allow me to drive again without jumping through the DMV hoops. Absolutely awesome. I am fantastically appreciative of what Jesse did for me and highly recommend him for anyone who needs a smart advocate on your side who is an expert in the courtroom.

  3. The Best!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse 6-12 months ago.
    • Jesse handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jesse is the best! He is confident, knowledgeable and dependable.
    I hope to not need his services again, but there is no doubt that others should contact him for representation on criminal charges. Jesse will work to achieve the best possible outcome !

  4. Attorney Scharff is the best!

    Posted by Don, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse 6-12 months ago.
    • Jesse handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Jesse Scharff is the best. This was my first arrest, and it was very scary to think about what could happen in court. Attorney Scharff put my mind at rest. The day before my first court date, it became obvious that the accuser wanted to bring up other issues. Attorney Scharff assured me that he would not let that happen. That reduced my stress incredibly.
    I followed his advice explicitly, and the case turned out better than I expected. His fees are among the best investments that I ever made! Thanks, Attorney Scharff!

  5. Please call him now, I urge you to look no further! !2

    Posted by A.J., a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse 6-12 months ago.
    • Jesse handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    My case originally began with a very expensive, highly recommended attorney, rated a perfect 10 on this site, that I paid a small fortune to retain. What a HUGE mistake! I was tossed in a stack of files and only got 5-10 minute appointments, afterwards I left more afraid for my future and felt I was being forced to admit wrong doings that were completely false, all in hopes of taking a plea to something I did not do! When i tried to offer that lawyer explanations all I got in return were snide replies and told how he wanted to proceed with my case. During high crisis moments in my case I was lucky to get his paralegal, who's advice contradicted the attorney's and when he did call me back hours later, I was scolded and all but hung up on! Despite my opinion of lawyers at this point I took a huge leap of faith and contacted Jesse. I cannot express the overwhelming feeling of confidence and reassurance, without any false hope, for the first time since this began 1 year ago I could see the light at the end of the tunnel!! Our first meeting, he sat down with me and actually listened, really listened to my side. He is open, honest, knowledgeable, experienced, and just plain sharp! I retrieved my files from the so called top 10 lawyer I fired and drove right over to Jesse's office on a Friday. He discussed the details of my case in a thorough, caring manner. Explained my charges, their strengths and weaknesses, making sure I fully understood every aspect. My first meeting with Jesse lasted longer than the 6 months of appointments I had with my previous attorney. That night I finally felt relief and knew I was in competent hands, that will truly fight for my best outcome! My ordeal is still ongoing, but I feel like the weight of the world has been lifted. Jesse then continued working through the weekend on my case, he has even taken the time to contact me personally every step of the way, even on a Sunday morning, when most lawyers are off playing golf! I have become very leary of lawyers blowing smoke to get your cash and add you to their other sheep farm, right from the start, I knew this was not the case! I would hire him to defend my own child, god forbid the need ever came to be, this is my level of confidence in this bright, clever, caring man! If you find yourself in a legal bind, I highly recommend you look no further than Jesse Scharff. He will find the strengths and weaknesses in your case and has the knowledge and dedication to get you the best results possible. Finally, a real lawyer that takes his oath seriously! Again I strongly urge you to take my advice and call him immediately, I was shocked when I dialed his number and the voice that answered was his! Try calling around and see if you can find that kind of dedication anywhere else. I cannot say enough about his skills as a lawyer, his background acquiring his experience is admirable and proves true dedication, one every criminal defense lawyer should possess. My only regret is not finding him sooner!

  6. Good overcomes Bad!!!

    Posted by Benny, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse more than 3 years ago.
    • Jesse handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I don't have a reference for comparison but my charges made up for a lifetime of not getting into trouble. Jesse put me at ease and was very reassuring that everything would work out and be okay. I trusted him and he came through for me. I asked him once why he wanted to do this line of work, since the guilty probably outnumbered the innocent. His answer, "To level the playing field". I believe he felt I was innocent in my case. It was a long ride from guilty to innocent but I'm glad Jesse was at the steering wheel.
    I hope I will never need him again. But if I do or someone else does, he will come highly recommended. Thank you Jesse

  7. Best in the business

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse 1-3 years ago.
    • Jesse handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Unfortunately Jesse had to defend my daughter for a second drug incident. It didn't look good on her end. However, Jesse was able to take the facts and speak with the DA. Once the court date rolled around Jesse was able to present a legitimate defense and the case was dismissed. Jesse is a seasoned professional and is great at what he does. He was quick to return phone calls and emails. He kept calm through both events and brought a peace to both myself and my daughter. through Jesse's efforts, my daughter was still able to continue with her career and educational goals. Jesse is great. I highly recommend Jesse should you need a defense attorney.

  8. Methodical and Persistent ...

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • Jesse handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jesse explored so many angles, and was eventually able to chip away at the case enough to raise reasonable doubt and get a "not guilty" verdict. Although it was a long process, for sure, he remained encouraging but realistic, which was so very important to me. I was a newbie to all of this, and appreciated his deliberate step-by-step approach.

    The "gatekeepers" at the firm were less than ideal, however. They were often slow with correspondence, made mistakes with messages and scheduled meeting times, etc.

    1. Jesse Grant Scharff

      Jesse Scharff

      Lawyer Comment:

      Very thankful for this review. One of the reasons that I recently began a solo practice and founded the Scharff Law Firm was so that I could better manage my relationships with my clients. The Scharff Law Firm makes it a priority for clients to always have direct access to their attorney.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  9. Review

    Posted by Anna, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse 1-3 years ago.
    • Jesse handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Jesse is a very enthusiastic lawyer. It was a quick and easy process. If I did not hire him I would have probably been in a more serious issue than I already was. He was responsive to me and I was informed on every little detail throughout the case. He had helped me to see a better path and I am very thankful. I would highly reccomend hiring him!

  10. Hiring Jesse Scharff is Like Adding a Lawyer to Your Family

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jesse Scharff.
    • I hired Jesse more than 3 years ago.
    • Jesse handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I am a very honest and direct person. I really appreciated that Jesse was always honest and direct and that he was very tactful as well as highly perceptive. I know that everyone accused of a crime says that they are innocent of the charges - I truly am. He never doubted my innocence for a second and was ready for battle from day one. He always kept me informed of my plea options, but when I told him I would never plead to guilty, he never tried to push me to do so.

    We got to know each other over two and a half years and over those two and a half years, he always kept in touch. He never missed an appointment. He built a personal relationship with my family and I. He also knew the details of this case inside and out, never missing a beat.

    I'm not one to exaggerate, but Jesse truly is my hero. He's an excellent attorney, who, in winning my case, overcame very much adversity in what I would call an impossible case to win. I'm not going to sugar-coat anything. I was accused of a assault on a female. There was blood and an injured nose. There were kids on the premises. There was a police officer with false statements and no notes or records of notes taken. I am a black male. My accuser was a mixed female. This was my only dealing with the law and legal matters in general. At the time, I was a full-time graduate student and working two jobs. There is no way I would have been able to clear my name without a great lawyer. Jesse is excellent.

    Jesse is also an avid listener, great speaker, as well a family man. He built a strong connection with my family as we bonded throughout the course of this case. I genuinely felt that he had a personal investment in my case. I knew that the only one who wanted to win this case and clear my name as much as me was Jesse.

    Jesse is a master strategist and communicator who brings a wealth of experience and insight to the table. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of a great lawyer.