Todd Lewis’s Reviews

Todd Lewis

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by Gary, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd 6-12 months ago.
    • Todd handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    The most difficult decision I have ever had to make in my life was filing for Bankruptcy. After I made the decision to go through with it, I asked my foreclosure attorney who was finalizing my foreclosure case who he could recommend as a bankruptcy attorney. He recommended the Bankruptcy Law Office of Mr. Todd Lewis. Todd did not disappoint. He thoroughly schooled me in the bankruptcy process, all the while reassuring me when I became anxious or concerned during the process. He was extremely organized, thorough, and as the end result of a successful Chapter 7 filing proves, extremely knowledgeable in all the aspects associated with bankruptcy. Although the technical aspects of the filing were important, the human aspect of Todd’s services is what I appreciated the most. He was not cold and aloof like many attorneys I have dealt with. He was personable and showed real concern over getting me through one of the most difficult stages of my life. I am forever grateful to him and his firm. I can say with confidence that when you hire Todd, you are implicitly hiring a “personal life coach” too. He took the time to listen about how my situation evolved, which helped alleviate the sense of failure that seems to come with making these difficult decisions. The result was more peace of mind during and after the process. Many thanks for everything you did for me Todd and I wish you the best of everything.

  2. Knowledgable and Hard Working

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.

    Todd is a knowledgeable Attorney who works hard on his client's behalf. He communicates clearly and his background lets him envision a variety of scenarios and case outcomes.

  3. Cheap But Inconsistent And Unreliable Response Times

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Lewis is a personable and he appears to be well meaning but his disorganization and lack of response are the main reasons I give him 2 stars.
    He was over 45 minutes late for our first meeting. He shares office space so there was no receptionist to let me know why the office was locked and Mr. Lewis was not there. He eventually called me 20 minutes after the scheduled start time to say he would be there in 20 minutes.

    A young lady called me two weeks after our initial meeting to schedule a telephone conference with Mr. Lewis which I did. Three hours after the agreed call time the young lady called to reschedule the meeting. The rescheduled meeting time came and went with no response from Mr. Lewis or his office.
    The next time I heard from him was two weeks later on the 1st of the month asking for $500.00 to keep “working on the case”. I told him nothing had been done so far and I could not afford him anymore. He promised to e-mail me a termination statement for signature. Two months later I called him asking to have a mediator discuss with us the return of the original deposit. He called me to rant for 45 minutes and he then sent me the termination papers in the mail.
    I am out the $500.00 and my condo was foreclosed on without legal representation for myself. I am very disappointed with Mr. Lewis lack of professionalism.

  4. "Holistic Approach"

    Posted by Jay, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Lewis because he specializes in multiple types of Law. I was facing the loss of my home to foreclosure and the one of the easiest way out is bankruptcy. Mr. Lewis listened to my story and "heard" what I had to say (no bankruptcy).. I wanted to approach my dilemma in a certain way and he was able to do do just that. In fact I will be using Todd in helping me restore my credit and basically rebuilding my life. Have an attorney to be able to work in so many areas, is very reassuring. His "Holistic Approach" to law was new to me, but it helps clients like me with multiple, interrelated problems at once.
    He made me one promise- that I would not lose my home; and he accomplished it without bankruptcy. Amazing, I highly recommend him.

  5. Wonderful experience

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Todd was took on our case quickly, continued to keep us informed during any/all changes to the case, and always took the time to hear our concerns. He answered all questions we had and gave us many options in how to utilize his services.

  6. Todd Helped through a Crisis

    Posted by Carlos, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired a "well known" law firm to handle some critical issues. My family and I were posted against the wall and time was of the essence. The "firm" did nothing for months. That's when Todd came into the picture. He handled our case aggressively and decisively. Not only were we able to pass this situation but he also got the other party to release extra funds we desperately needed to recover. I highly recommend him.

  7. Todd saved me from foreclosure

    Posted by Annie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Lewis.

    After my husband passed away I thought I was going to file bankruptcy or foreclose on my home. Todd was very sensitive to my situation, kind to me and I found him to be very sincere and trustworthy.

    Todd explored all options and suggested a short sale.He knew the market environment and how to deal with the mortgage lender. Within 4 months we got an offer, the bank accepted and I closed on my home.

    Todd was very thorough and worked judiciously. He was a pleasure to work with and I would use him again if I have any legal issues in the future.

  8. Todd provided excellent service

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Todd provided excellent service and worked hard as our attorney.

  9. With a lawyer like Todd, you won't even need an opponent.

    Posted by David, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Todd Lewis.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Todd Lewis by the Virginia Bar Association. That isn’t a recommendation – it only means no complaints about his conduct have been upheld (so far).

    When I met Todd, it was in his office in Alexandria. There was a paralegal/admin assistant in front and another attorney working as part of the firm. It was a going concern.

    Seven months later, all that is gone. He doesn’t have an office, the paralegal quit, and the other attorney left too. I now know why.

    From the day he got my money, working with Todd was a constant exercise in trying to get him to produce. The days, the weeks, and the months ticked by – and Todd procrastinated; talking and talking but rarely working.

    The day I hired him, Todd promised to have a letter to our opposing party in two days. Ten days later, after I called and emailed him repeatedly, he actually got that one-page letter done. And that was by far the fastest thing he ever produced.

    Following that (with my $2500 retainer in his pocket) he settled down and did… nothing.

    I waited… and waited… and waited. Finally, after months of him ignoring my emails and calls I got so fed up that I decided to fire him.

    But Todd is a great talker. And if that was what being a lawyer is, then he’d be awesome. He swore that his lack of diligence was the result of temporary circumstance and a crush of deadlines; that now he’d get in the game, take care of business.

    Of course, he wanted more money, too. And like an idiot, I gave it to him.

    Now he had $5000 of mine in his pocket. But since I had actively threatened to fire him, he finally produced the complaint – THREE MONTHS after I hired him. It wasn’t very good, but at least it was movement.

    Then… well, you know already. He went back to doing nothing. Only that was a problem, because opposing counsel (gasp!) actually responded. Not that I knew, since Todd didn’t tell me about it until I called him again – a full month after we filed the complaint.

    Oh yeah, said Todd, they responded, but don’t worry about it. It’s easy.

    Except, guess what? Todd didn’t do anything.

    I called back after a couple weeks. He promised to answer them. Gave specific dates that he would respond. Then, like always, failed to meet them.

    I called him back again. He gave more dates, failed to meet those too, duh.

    Then he went on vacation. Probably used my money.

    Six weeks after filing their pleading, the opposing lawyers set a date to have it heard in court, stating that they couldn’t wait forever for Todd to answer them. I was now looking at losing on a technicality.

    I called Todd again. And he gave me a speech about how he would read the case while riding the metro on the way to court, and come up with a brilliant strategy in those final moments. Then he whipped up a blustery email, devoid of facts or research, and sent it to their lawyers. In which email he acceded to their primary, and easily rebutted, demand.

    Consider... the other side provided a standard operating procedure softball response. They had the burden of proof and didn’t come anywhere near providing it. But rather than do his job, Todd was going with it. And he wanted me to buy into the fantasy that he didn’t need to work or prepare like regular lawyers do, that somehow he would magically pull victory out of the air at the last second.

    That was enough. The impending disaster was way too clear. I fired him and stuck to it.

    When I asked for a refund of half my money Todd’s reply was that even though we had a flat fee agreement, he was now going to put together an invoice billing me by the hour; that I owed HIM more money.

    Consider that. His response to my pulling out before he could throw my case away wasn’t to show integrity and refund my retainer balance – it was, instead, to threaten me.

    So here’s some advice. If you find yourself headed to Todd for legal help, turn around. And don’t walk away…

    RUN!

    1. Todd Lewis

      Todd Lewis

      Lawyer Comment:

      First, let me start by saying that on behalf of my firm and myself that I am very sorry that this former client did not receive the level of customer service, support and the results that we pride ourselves on providing to our clients. As a whole, I have successfully found solutions to hundreds of individuals' and business' legal issues for over seven years and while one bad review doesn't stand for the majority of happy clients, for me, even one unhappy client is not acceptable. I have styled my practice and my methods to ensure that any work that I perform on a client's legal matter is performed in a prompt and efficient manner and that I manage the case in a way that not only saves money but obtains results, I strive to handle every case as if it were my own legal matter.

      Second, while I believe that many of the facts outlined in the review are wrong, what I found most interesting by the review was that the reviewer used a false name. Using a false name is very reflective of the character and general intention of the reviewer and should give any reader pause. The fact is that my firm chose to discontinue working with the reviewer because, as you can clearly see from his review, he is not reasonable and we questioned his sanity. What's more, this particular client believed that his trial strategy (a strategy that he had developed by watching lawyer shows on television and reading stuff on the internet) was more sound then that of his attorneys. As my grandfather always said, it does not make any sense to reason with an unreasonable person. In this case, I stand by my firm's decision to discontinue working with the reviewer on his legal matter.

      Furthermore, my door is always open, I answer my own telephone and I stand by my actions because I use my real name at all times. While I may not agree with what the reviewer wrote, it is the comments of former clients, which is what helps me sharpen my skills and to develop better, more efficient methodologies in my practices. I honor any comment left by a former client and look forward to receiving many more positive reviews from happy, reasonable, former clients.

      Sincerely,

      -Todd Lewis, Esquire

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

Call toll free for a consultation.

855-550-9898