April Elaine Nelson’s Reviews

April Elaine Nelson

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Compassionate, Knowledgeable and Easy to Work With

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Nelson was very patient and listened to my every concern. She was professional yet compassionate and really made a hard time in my life a very positive experience. Ms. Nelson is knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with.

  2. Highly recommended

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 6-12 months ago.
    • April handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was very satisfied with April's advice and work with me (advising me through a mediation process). She was compassionate without sugarcoating the situation, and straightforward about what I'd have to do to get better terms in my mediation. She was willing and able to take aggressive action and yet was respectful and supportive of my eventual decision to make a choice that enabled me to avoid a prolonged adversarial process.

  3. Professional and compassionate

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 1-6 months ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Nelson continues to show complete professionalism while still being compassionate to difficult situations. She gives prompt responses and is very knowledgeable in regards to divorce (separation, child support, custody, etc.).

  4. client

    Posted by Carolyn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    April Nelson was my legal representation. At all times, she treated me with dignity and respect. She was masterful at problem solving and had the ability to anticipate the opposing attorney's gameplan. She suggested actions which she felt were in my best interest, but always allowed me to make final decisions. I would absolutely encourage every woman faced with a divorce to seek Ms. Nelson for representation.

  5. Excellent!

    Posted by Catherine, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    April Nelson represented my best interests, gathered information, filed with the courts, addressed my concerns, answered my questions and allowed me to not worry horribly about my situation. Ms. Nelson brought a human connection and empathy all the while being incredibly knowledgeable and effective. I know that no matter the outcome of my case, everything will have been done to protect and best serve my interests.

  6. Fanstastic Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Candice, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April handled my marital separation agreement as well as the subsequent divorce documents and hearing. She was friendly, sympathetic to my needs, informative, and her responses when I had concerns...timely. She made one of the most difficult situations I have ever faced.. much easier. Her background expertise in social work/counseling came in handy for a few very sensitive issues that I needed included in my separation agreement. I always felt like she had my best interest at heart and I plan to use her services again in the future. I highly recommend April Nelson.

  7. Gavin P. Meany, MD

    Posted by Gavin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April did a great job defending me in my divorce, and I ended up walking away with a handsome sum. She was very skilled in the mediation, and I was also surprised by how she seemed to know what were important points and what were not in terms of negotiating my settlement

  8. Exceptionally caring, experienced, and very professional

    Posted by Geoff, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April truly is a lawyer with a heart. She genuinely cares about her clients and did her absolute best for us in a difficult situation. I would not hesitate to highly recommend her. She was my lawyer of choice and will be my lawyer in the future should I have a need. She has heart and experience; a difficult combination to find these days.

  9. April Nelson represented me in a civil case against 2 other lawyers

    Posted by Jack, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Appeals matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    On occassion I provide expert witness work in construction disputes. Over 3 years ago I was hired by a lawyer with a lawyer client. The failed to pay agreed fees. This was the first time I had ever been burned by a lawyer. In a lower court hearing with a different lawyer I was unable to get full restitution. Ms. Nelson is knowledgeable and moves quickly and incisively in a courtroom. She won the appeal and I would certain use her again.

  10. Excellent services

    Posted by Beth,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I recently launched a consulting business with a few full-time employees. To ensure the human resource function of my company was well structured, I engaged Ms. Nelson to lead and guide me in establishing and implementing appropriate policies and practices. Ms. Nelson provided excellent services to my company including guidance in the area of Virgina employment laws, recommendations regarding benefit packages, etc... In addition, Ms Nelson prepared written documents to clearly communicate to the staff the terms of employment and human resource policies and guidelines, including an employee handbook.

    1. April Elaine Nelson

      April Nelson

      Lawyer Comment:

      Note - The service rendered here was consultation on small business development in general, not legal advice or representation. Nelson Law Practice, nor its proprietor April Nelson, is licensed for practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia, however, the firm will be happy to assist with referrals for Virginia-based attorneys.

      Posted almost 4 years ago. Flag