April Elaine Nelson’s Reviews

April Elaine Nelson

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. client

    Posted by Carolyn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    April Nelson was my legal representation. At all times, she treated me with dignity and respect. She was masterful at problem solving and had the ability to anticipate the opposing attorney's gameplan. She suggested actions which she felt were in my best interest, but always allowed me to make final decisions. I would absolutely encourage every woman faced with a divorce to seek Ms. Nelson for representation.

  2. Excellent!

    Posted by Catherine, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    April Nelson represented my best interests, gathered information, filed with the courts, addressed my concerns, answered my questions and allowed me to not worry horribly about my situation. Ms. Nelson brought a human connection and empathy all the while being incredibly knowledgeable and effective. I know that no matter the outcome of my case, everything will have been done to protect and best serve my interests.

  3. Fanstastic Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Candice, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April 1-3 years ago.
    • April handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April handled my marital separation agreement as well as the subsequent divorce documents and hearing. She was friendly, sympathetic to my needs, informative, and her responses when I had concerns...timely. She made one of the most difficult situations I have ever faced.. much easier. Her background expertise in social work/counseling came in handy for a few very sensitive issues that I needed included in my separation agreement. I always felt like she had my best interest at heart and I plan to use her services again in the future. I highly recommend April Nelson.

  4. Gavin P. Meany, MD

    Posted by Gavin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April did a great job defending me in my divorce, and I ended up walking away with a handsome sum. She was very skilled in the mediation, and I was also surprised by how she seemed to know what were important points and what were not in terms of negotiating my settlement

  5. Exceptionally caring, experienced, and very professional

    Posted by Geoff, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    April truly is a lawyer with a heart. She genuinely cares about her clients and did her absolute best for us in a difficult situation. I would not hesitate to highly recommend her. She was my lawyer of choice and will be my lawyer in the future should I have a need. She has heart and experience; a difficult combination to find these days.

  6. April Nelson represented me in a civil case against 2 other lawyers

    Posted by Jack, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Appeals matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    On occassion I provide expert witness work in construction disputes. Over 3 years ago I was hired by a lawyer with a lawyer client. The failed to pay agreed fees. This was the first time I had ever been burned by a lawyer. In a lower court hearing with a different lawyer I was unable to get full restitution. Ms. Nelson is knowledgeable and moves quickly and incisively in a courtroom. She won the appeal and I would certain use her again.

  7. Excellent services

    Posted by Beth,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I recently launched a consulting business with a few full-time employees. To ensure the human resource function of my company was well structured, I engaged Ms. Nelson to lead and guide me in establishing and implementing appropriate policies and practices. Ms. Nelson provided excellent services to my company including guidance in the area of Virgina employment laws, recommendations regarding benefit packages, etc... In addition, Ms Nelson prepared written documents to clearly communicate to the staff the terms of employment and human resource policies and guidelines, including an employee handbook.

    1. April Elaine Nelson

      April Nelson

      Lawyer Comment:

      Note - The service rendered here was consultation on small business development in general, not legal advice or representation. Nelson Law Practice, nor its proprietor April Nelson, is licensed for practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia, however, the firm will be happy to assist with referrals for Virginia-based attorneys.

      Posted over 3 years ago. Flag

  8. Awesome Attorney with heart and soul

    Posted by Jo Ellen, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    April is one of the most compassionate attorneys I have ever known. She cares about you, not just the case. She takes time to look into what really matters to you and she is professional and approachable. At my recent case the other attorney was rude and condescending. April did not react to this and treated the other attorney with respect. April asked great questions of the opposition and knew many cases to cite in order to defend us. April handles herself as a true professional. I highly recommend her.

  9. Contract review

    Posted by a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Nelson has advised me on a number of contract and lease issues recently, as well as assisted me with settling one particular dispute without having to go to court at all. She is very knowledgeable of the law and very upfront when something is not within her expertise. I probably most appreciate that fact that she has always been able help me make informed decisions from a cost-benefit perspective.

  10. Wonderful!

    Posted by Julie, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend April Nelson.
    • I hired April more than 3 years ago.
    • April handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Nelson was very knowledgable and responded quickly to my questions. She was able to guide me through each of the directives and wills. I would like to say I called Ms. Nelson on my way into the hospital and she came to the hospital the next day. When our meeting was finished I felt my affairs were taken care of and my wishes where known should I not make it out of the hospital. This meant a great deal to me.