Gary Hale Gerstenfield’s Reviews

Gary Hale Gerstenfield

Average Rating

Based on 98 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Vindication

    Posted by Niurka,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    Vindication !!!!! I was falsely accused by the father of my children. I am completely innocent.The accusations were completely made up. The parties involved lied on the stand. I was perplexed about how this could be my reality. Mr Gerstenfield walked in to the court room and defended me,my life ,my reputation and my honor. No pleas, no negotiations were on the table for us. For the first time, I felt like my attorney really cared about my situation and what was at stake here. I have worked with many other attorneys in the past but Mr Gerstenfield really cares, and is focused and engaged. I woud highly recommend Mr Gerstenfeld to family, friends or anyone who really needs an attorney that will work hard for your interests. I would also like to add that his office staff are also just as deligent and engaging as he is. The service I received was exceptional. Thank you Mr Gerstenfield!!!!!!!!!!

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Niurka,

      I thank you for your kind words but the truth is my job was pretty easy. You are a great mom and you have wonderful children. My objective was to reveal to the Court your true character and expose the lack of honesty of your accuser. Acquittal was in the bag. Stay well & warm regards, Gary.

      Posted 19 days ago. Flag

  2. Trust Your Lawyer

    Posted by Sam,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    These three words were said to me during a very difficult time for me when I was faced with serious false charges. Ready to consider a potential plea, Gary convinced me to proceed to trial. He knew the facts of the case, and more importantly, knows the law. He presented my case, as if he were present at the time of the event, and defended my case with confidence and, at times, brilliance. "Trust your lawyer" are three words of advice I will confidently offer...if your lawyer is Mr. Gary Gerstenfield.

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Sam, Thank you for your kind words. But, the most important thing is, I believe in my clients. And I believe in you.

      Stay well and warm regards, Gary

      Posted 21 days ago. Flag

  3. je recommanderai cet avocat

    Posted by Francis,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    je recommanderai cet avocat a toute personne ayant des soucis avec la loi dans le Maryland, specialement dans les cas DUI/DWI.
    Quand j'ai ete charge pour DUI je suis arrive au bureau de Gary tout abattu il m'a entendu attentivment et m'a dit avec un sourire: "Ne t'inquiete pas je prend tout en charge. Va tranquille tu as frappe a la bonne porte" Ainsi dit ainsi fait Gary m'as assiste au MVA et au Tribunal. Je m'en sort avec toute les charges contre moi annulees.
    Alors n'hesitez pas courez rapidement ches Gary faire evaluer votre cas je vous assure que Gary vous redonneras le sourire. Cet avocat est juste magnifique.
    Merci une fois de plus Gary pour ce que tu fais.

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Francis, Tu es tres gentil. I thank you for trusting me with your case.
      Please stay well and warm regards, Gary

      Posted 26 days ago. Flag

  4. Thanks!

    Posted by Nia H,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    Gary saved my college career! I was facing a paraphernalia charge along with my boyfriend, which could hurt any chances of obtaining a scholarship or grant. I decided to hire a lawyer, while my boyfriend didn't. This was my first charge and I didn't know of any good lawyers in the Rockville, MD area so i asked a friend. My friend Max recommended Gary to me without hesitation. The moment I walked in his office I knew I was going to be alright. My case was handled very professionally and I was kept informed and clear on everything that would be happening. Gary managed to have the charge completely dropped for me and i walked out without paying a fine, getting a record, or going through any hassles at all! Where as my boyfriend had to pay the fine and keep the charge on his record. I would recommend Gary Gerstenfield to anyone i know who is in need of a lawyer. I T R U S T him and couldn't be happier, he will be my lawyer for anything I need in the future.

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Nia,

      Thank you for your kind comments. I am very happy that your future remains strong. Based on our many discussions I am impressed by the level of commitment towards your goals.

      One aspect of our justice system that you aptly pointed out is that outcomes are often dependent upon the efforts and ability of the defense attorney.

      I wish this was not the case - it points to the sad fact that the system is not always fair and that it could benefit from reform. I wish you well.

      Warm regards, Gary

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  5. 10 STARS!

    Posted by C Booth,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    Since 1999 I have had one of the greatest lawyers represent me with honesty and integrity. From day one Gary welcomed me at sat me down in his Silver Spring office and started to dissect my cases time after time. I have been through trials and tribulations and each this friend, brother, advocate has be there time after time with any questions and judgement just results. My most recent situation in which was really out of my character he brought the truth to light and saved my reputation as well as my name as a contributor to the community.He has always went to battle for myself as well as others I must say he is an A plus individual and will fight to the finish.The staff is well organized and efficient. Gary it's an insult TEN STARS ALL DAY THANKS GARY!!!!!

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Mr. Booth,

      I thank you for your very kind comments. But, the only time I ever saw 10 stars was after a horse threw me off while vacationing in the Dominican Republic - Ouch!

      You have had some challenges in your life but you have grown from them and I definitely see that you are on the right path. Wherever you go, please know that I wish you much success and I am always nearby. Warm regards, Gary

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  6. Thank you so much for everything!

    Posted by Bre,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    I could not have hired a better attorney for my DUI. He handled the case beautifully and I did not end up with any charges. He was referred to me by one of my friends and as it turns out, another one of my friends hired Gary as well. Thank you so much for everything!

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Bre:

      Thank you for comments. I am glad that we were able to get your DUI dropped. But, I am even more proud of the decision that you shared with me that from now and for always you will have a plan before you have anything to drink on how you will get home without having to drive. I know that you have grown from this experience. Good luck and kind regards, Gary

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  7. Good Job from a Lawyer at a reasonable price??

    Posted by Steven,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    Having had bad Lawyers in the past, I found Gary to be the exception! With very little info. on a 40 year old charge on my record. Gary was able to find and resolve my problem in a friendly and affordable fashion.
    I would recommend Gary highly!
    Thank you Gary

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Steven, Thank you for your kind review.

      You should also thank Mary Moffatt, Chief of the Criminal Division and her wonderful staff, including Tina who combed through very old handwritten files from the '70's to find your case.

      The best part in helping you was discovering that handsome picture of you as a teenager.

      Brad Pitt's got nothing on you! Stay well and regards, Gary

      Posted 5 months ago. Flag

  8. Thank You Rebecca!

    Posted by Jay,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    Great team of attorneys! Gary and Rebecca handled a DUI/DWI case for me and did an excellent job. I was always able to get a hold of them and they were always willing to answer any questions I had. On my court date, Rebecca went to trial with me. Before facing the judge she explained to me how she was going to handle my case. In the end Rebecca was able to get all my charges dropped and the judge gave me reckless driving. Rebecca really took care of me and worked hard !

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Jay for your comments. I agree with you that Rebecca does excellent work. But, you are wrong about having a reckless driving conviction. The judge, pursuant to Article 6, Section 220, gave you a PBJ which means that you do not have a conviction.

      Rebecca was successful in getting the prosecutor to amend your DUI charges to reckless driving. Rebecca was further successful in getting the judge to grant a PBJ disposition. Rebecca's two successes resulted in total success for you!

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  9. Had three warrants and was living out of state

    Posted by Patrick,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    Gary is one of the best lawyers I've ever had the pleasure of hiring. I had three warrants that I had for about two years. Two were for possession of marajuana and paraphernalia. And one was an assault charge. All three charges were in warrant status. I had also moved out of the state of Maryland. I called Gary from Washington state and told him my situation. He didn't promise anything but he said he would try. Anyways long story made short.. Gary ended up getting all charges dropped, all warrants squashed, and I didn't even have to come back to the state of Maryland!!! I would defiantly recommend Gary to anyone with criminal charges and needs a outstanding lawyer. Because that's exactly what he is.. OUTSTANDING!! Not only is he an awesome lawyer, but he is reasonably priced. And he is very wise in the ways of the world. I wish I had a father like Gary. He's one of the smartest people I've had the pleasure of talking to. And working with. Thanks again Gary!! Your the best.

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Patrick,

      Thank you for your kind words. I think you made a wise decision to start a new life and get a fresh start in Washington. You were hampered by these 3 legal matters left behind in Maryland. I am glad that, working together, we were able to get them dismissed. I wish you a great future and I am always only a phone call away. Kind regards, Gary

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  10. Does not disappoint and only settles for nothing short of success for his clients!!! Worth every penny and some.

    Posted by Daniel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Gerstenfield.

    Gary is a first class lawyer with working class affordability. He cares about his clients and he cares about WINNING your case. In my experience he could have just accepted the charges with the evidence on hand but having a good relationship with district trial lawyers and a great rapport with most if not all local officers, he was able to bring all parties together to has out the facts and strengthen my case before the judge. Gary did not choose the easy route but took my case all the way to trial without charging me one red-cent extra in legal fees despite the protracted legal proceedings. He has my highest recommendations not only for how hard he fought but how it paid off in drastically reducing the charges I was facing, resulting in a winning most lenient judgement.

    1. Gary Hale Gerstenfield

      Gary Gerstenfield

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Dan,

      The fact is that you had pulled off to the side of the road and had gone to sleep. At this point you were using the vehicle for shelter. This is what we call an "Atkinson" defense (based upon an important Maryland case, Atkinson v. State, 27 A.2d 1019 (Md. 1993)) where the vehicle is being used to shelter in place. Your car had in effect become a mini-winnebago. The fact that you may have been under the influence of alcohol is irrelevant.

      Good luck & regards, Gary

      Posted 7 months ago. Flag

Call now for a free consultation.

301-276-7410