Sonya A Smith-Valentine’s Reviews

Sonya A Smith-Valentine

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Effective Results

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.
    • I hired Sonya 1-3 years ago.
    • Sonya handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Valentine was very effective in resolving my debt matter out of court. Under short notice before the court appearance, Ms. Valentine was able to negotiate the matter with the opposing attorney to avoid a judgment. As a busy professional, she kept me informed through emails and thoroughly explained legal terms. I was truly impressed with the favorable results achieved. I highly recommend this service to anyone on the road to resolving their debt and improving their credit.

  2. Simply the best!!

    Posted by a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.
    • I hired Sonya 1-3 years ago.
    • Sonya handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I've worked with and hired enough attorneys to know when I need one and to do some research before I choose one. I was fortunate enough to come across Ms. Smith-Valentine's web site which clearly presented her expertise, experience and success. At the strategy meeting she clearly explained the legal aspects of my situation and what my options were. She gave me an honest assessment of potential outcomes and then delivered beyond my expectations. She kept me updated on the details of my case and was accessible whenever I had questions or concerns.
    Hiring Ms. Smith-Valentine to handle my case is the best decision I've made lately. If you have legal issues under the scope of her practice, Sonya Smith-Valentine is the attorney you need.

  3. Total Charlatan!!!!!! Stay away!!!!!!

    Posted by Levy799, a Credit Repair client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.
    • I hired Sonya more than 3 years ago.
    • Sonya handled my Credit Repair matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Do not waste your time with this attorney. You cannot speak to her via phone and everything is done via email. Further, after setting up my appointment and paying in advance, she didn't' show up for the appointment! In fact, she doesn't even have an office - She works out of a community office shared by several attorneys. When sitting and waiting for her to show, I overheard the receptionist call her and tell her "He showed up for his appointment". She hedged her bets that I would not show so she could collect $$ without actually providing a service. Total Charlatan!!!!!! Stay away!!!!!!

    1. Sonya A Smith-Valentine

      Sonya Smith-Valentine

      Lawyer Comment:

      This person's appointment was back in late April. I was running about 1/2 hour late and this person choose not to wait. This person was refunded his consultation fee right away. As the owner of the Valentine Legal Group, I can say that I do have an office and I speak with clients over the phone. While occassionally I am late to an appointment in my office (probably due to a case running late in court), I do show up for my appointments. As someone who represents consumer against big companies everyday, I don't have a reason to scam consumers. All I ask is that before making a decision about my firm and my services, do some research about us on the web. I think you will find that the amount of positive remarks about us will far outweigh this posting.
      - Sonya Smith-Valentine

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

  4. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.
    • I hired Sonya more than 3 years ago.
    • Sonya handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sonya has been very easy to work with. She gets to the point and sets your mind at ease. I came in with a very last minute case and she was able to alleviate my concern and get straight to the matter at hand. With her help, I feel that we have a fighting chance.

  5. client

    Posted by a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.
    • I hired Sonya more than 3 years ago.
    • Sonya handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    after much disappointment for several years I finally found Sonya, she was a great breath of fresh air. she took over my case, explained all the procedures expertly and kept me informed through the whole process. although we had extreme difficulty with the attorney on the other side, she never gave up, and gave us a wonderful conclusion to a many years long problem and finally ended it for us. I cannot recommend her enough, she is a wonderful person, very knowledgeable and absolutely one of the best lawyers in he field today.

  6. Client Review

    Posted by a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.
    • I hired Sonya more than 3 years ago.
    • Sonya handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

  7. Highly Recommended

    Posted by Andre, a Debt Settlement client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.
    • I hired Sonya more than 3 years ago.
    • Sonya handled my Debt Settlement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Sonya Smith-Valentine saved me thousands of dollars on a debt settlement!!! Her attention to my case, as well as her extensive knowledge about the creditor and process, let me know that I had found the right lawyer for my situation. In her initial consultation, she was candid about my predicament and offered several options for resolution. She is pain-stakingly detail oriented and made sure that the company had no room to position themselves for additional profit. She provides expert legal advice and her fees are very competitve. If you find yourself in a financial dilemma and are in need of professional representation, I highly recommend Sonya Smith-Valentine.