Jason M Kalafat’s Reviews

Jason M Kalafat

Average Rating

Based on 28 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Jason Kalafat is AMAZING!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 1-6 months ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was facing DUI charges and searched the Internet for a laywer, where i found Mr. Kalafat. After meeting with Jason, I was immediately relieved and could tell i was in good hands. He fought for me and after I complete some minor community service, my charge will be completely dismissed. He is the best, and I would recommend him to anyone facing criminal charges. Thanks, Jason!

  2. Jason is the best is the BEST in DC!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jason came highly recommended by a friend of mine who found himself in the same unfortunate scenario in a previous year. He said to go with Jason as he was known as the best in DC.. In addition to my friend, I heard about Jason from other acquaintances who had said that he was the only person to speak to if looking to get the best representation with the highest chance of getting off so to speak. I was not let down and everyone was right.

    He is brilliant and knows his stuff well! Also he is well respected in the Prosecutor's Office and hence commands a level of attention I would imagine no other lawyer gets.

    Having said all that, the best thing about Jason is that he is compassionate and possess a warm personality that will make you feel comfortable and safe the whole time.

    If you don't go with him - you are making a big mistake.

  3. Satisfied Client

    Posted by Robert, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Going through any criminal case is very stressful but Mr. Kalafat, made me feel very comfortable about the situation at hand. He addressed all of my questions and concerns in a timely manner. I would highly recommend Mr. Jason Kalafat!

  4. my experience with Jason Kalafat

    Posted by Kaleab, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    As someone with a third offense DUI charge, I was satisfied with the results of Jason’s work. He was able to get me a great plea deal and I got the minimum mandatory sentence that DC had for my charge. He gave me a great understanding of all potential outcomes throughout the whole process, and told me what all of my options were. He explained all of the steps along the way and I always felt like he had my best interests in mind. He never made me feel like he was making decisions for me, but gave me great advice so that I could make the best decisions for myself. I felt like he always told me what I needed to hear. He responded to all of my emails very quickly and always reminded me when I had court dates. He had a great presence in court and was able to communicate very well about my story and what exactly happened. I would absolutely recommend Jason Kalafat and Price Benowitz LLP to other folks with a DUI charge.

  5. Making the best of a bad situation

    Posted by Scott, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I searched online for firms in the DC area that dealt in cases similar to mine. I contacted Price Benowitz and the intake person put me in touch with Jason Kalafat the next day. This was uncharted territory for me and I was looking for someone who could explain everything to me. Jason was very informative and clear with what he needed from me to proceed. I got the impression that Jason was someone who would tell me like it is. Throughout the process he was very fair in his assessments as to what I could expect and gave me the best and worst case scenarios. Every time we went to court the process was quick and he kept me informed on what I could expect to happen. There were never any surprises. Before each meeting Jason and I were regularly in contact and he would explain what was going on. For the most part, Jason was responsive and would contact me by the next day. I was very satisfied with the end results of my case, as much as anyone in my situation could. I would recommend Jason Kalafat. Everything about this process was something I would never want to experience again, but Jason was considerate, approachable and thoughtful of the situation.

  6. Jason is a great attorney!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I hired Jason recently and do not regret it. He was very knowledgeable and helped guide me through this confusing time. Jason really fought for me and was quick to respond to all my emails. He made sure I understood at all times what was happening. I never walked into court not knowing what to expect. I definitely recommend Jason as an attorney.

  7. The best attorney in DC for DUI's!!!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I’m from California originally so I had no frame of reference for DC attorneys. I did a web search for DC attorneys and found Jason Kalafat. My friend had worked with Shawn Sukumar, another attorney at Price Benowitz LLP. I called into the office and was spoke with the Client Management Team. They were very helpful and they let me know that I was in good hands and really added a personal touch to the process. They set up a time for me to speak to Jason in person. He was very prepared and had a very frank and optimistic assessment of my case. I felt like Jason was very honest and up from with me from the beginning. The office was a very warm and welcoming environment. Throughout the whole process I felt very well taken care of by the office in dealing with Jason and the other attorneys. They also worked with my budget and offered me a payment plan that I could work with. It was worth every penny. I could tell from Jason’s courtroom presence and interactions with other attorneys at court that he’s someone who is very well liked and well respected. I could definitely tell that I was in good hands. I was found not guilty and Jason did a phenomenal job in representing him. I would trust Jason with my mother. He’s someone who is very easy to talk to. This is not an experience I ever want to go through again, but if I ever am in that situation I would definitely go with Price Benowitz and Jason Kalafat. He exceeded my expectations throughout the whole process.

  8. Best Investment

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 6-12 months ago.
    • Jason handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I initially thought that my charges would be either dropped or deferred so I was using a Public Defender. Since I felt the Public Defender wasn’t doing anything and the prosecutor was coming at me aggressively a friend of mine referred me to Jason Kalafat at Price Benowitz so that he could help with my Simple Assault charge. I was able to contact him immediately and meet with him same day. I felt like he really cared and understood how this would impact my life. So I decided to go with his services and he was ready to go by next day. My public defender wanted me plea and it would have caused me a lot of difficulty but Jason walked into court before it even started and came to me with a deferment agreement which I gladly signed. I would highly recommend him to anyone. I was best investment I could have made.

  9. Would hire Jason in a heartbeat

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    In looking for various options when searching for an attorney, online, I stumbled upon Price Benowitz, LLP. I contacted the office and got a call back within minutes and spoke with someone who obtained some information and put me in touch with Jason Kalafat. I meet with Jason within a day. When I walked into the appointment I was scared and unsure with what to expect. My view was totally skewed and he helped me understand what to realistically expect. He explained all the potential scenarios and walked me through the possible outcomes, this was the main reason I hired him and felt secure having him defend my case. I thought that he would be pushy but I genuinely felt he left the option up to me and was definitely there to help.

    He did offer me options and flexibility with payment plans so that the finances would impede on me finding an attorney I was comfortable with. After I hired Jason Kalafat, he also had an associate assist with the MVA process. By explaining every single detail of the process in everyday terms he definitely gained my trust. He was very familiar with the system and everyone within the process. I would definitely hire him again in the future and encourage friends and family to seek his representation.

  10. Class act!

    Posted by MJ, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jason Kalafat.
    • I hired Jason 1-3 years ago.
    • Jason handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jason always had my best interest at heart. You can tell by looking in his eyes that he genuinely cares about his clients. He worked with me on the financing, and after multiple court dates I can honestly say that Jason is an honest, down to earth DUI attorney who puts his heart and soul into his profession.