Elaine Smith’s Reviews

Elaine Smith

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. the best Family Court attorney I met

    Posted by Boris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine more than 3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Elaine handled my case since 2007 through 2009.
    She did excellent job.
    I just came back to consult her on a different issue.
    My case was very complicated, and
    she did the best possible in my case.
    You can trust her.
    She has outstanding knowledge and experience in all the areas: divorce, custody, support, alimony.

  2. Poor Custody Lawyer

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine more than 3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Elaine as my attorney for my custody trial. She constantly misplaced information I had given her and never remembered my case each time I met with her. She filed one change of location for my trial and constantly sent me bills each month but she never did anything that was specified on each statement. On the trial date she showed up late and didn't have all the evidence that I had supplied her with over the course of preparation to which I supplied everything from evidence of abuse to school reports. I had to keep feeding her what to say during cross examinations. I feel like I was charged an exuberant amount of money but I was the one doing all the work.

  3. stay at home who was in a dire situation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine 1-3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was a stay at home mom and taking evening classes when my marriage of almost 7 years dissolved. I had no leverage and my ex had no mercy. He wanted me out of the marital house, to offer almost no financial support, and to take my young children to his new girlfriend's because I was the one who asked for an end to a painful relationship. I was in dire situation. Unfortunately, I had to endure a lot of heartache so I could finish my courses, clear my head of the emotional whirlwind, and gather some funds from family before I began an earnest search for a lawyer. It took me over a month of interviewing and meeting different lawyers before I found Elaine. After only a phone conversation about the details of the case, I was convinced she was the one would could represent me with compassion, turn my case around, and do it efficiently. Over the course of a month and a half she prepared me as my ex filed a trumped up PFA and continued to refuse to negotiate. She suggested filing for interim counsel fees and alimony pendite lite. The strategy worked! He settled on the day of the hearing for interim counsel fees and Elaine came prepared to draft a settlement for marital assets, alimony, counsel fees and custody. What a relief! The ordeal is almost over. Thank you Elaine. Your staff was first rate as well. I only wished I had found you earlier! You really can't skimp for a lawyer especially when your future with your children are on the line.

  4. new client custody, support and divorce

    Posted by cathy, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine 1-3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Elaine Smith by a friend, I can say Elaine Smith is a life saver she took all the pressure off of me and I was able to concentrate on work, family and everyday things. I was married for 28 years. The first question Elaine ask" is what do you want her to do?" She has no time for nonsense and is asute in the courtroom. Stern, confident attorney that any female or male would be honored to say she is their attorney.. Elaine I like to thank you and your staff. Thank you!!

  5. Client of 12 years, Divorce, custody and support

    Posted by Alicia, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine more than 3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I just wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for the wonderful service Elaine Smith has provided me. I first met Elaine in 2000 at the recommendation of my personal attorney. As a divorced mom with a highly unreasonable ex with chronic argumentative behavior, I was finding it nearly impossible to resolve certain issues. Elaine truly impressed with her meticulous approach, legal knowledge, attention to detail, and her ability to address complex situations quickly. She consistently offered me the personal attention, straight forward advice, and quality representation that I was looking for. Elaine Smith did an outstanding job representing me and protecting my interests and the well being of my children.

  6. NOT GOOD!!!!!!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine 1-3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She was not responsive, did not remember details of my case, provided improper information, antagonistic towards opposing counsel and her bills are inflated!

  7. Child Cutody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine more than 3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Smith performed with knowledge, expertise, insight and experience, to resolve a difficult child custody dispute. She cared for me as her client, but her primary interest was always the welfare of the child. I am grateful for her integrity and the result of a long, arduous, emotionally draining court experience, which was resolved to my entire satisfaction.

  8. Excellent Lawywer for Divorice and Child Custody From A Very Grateful Man!

    Posted by Frank, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine more than 3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Atty. Smith is extremely knowledgeable, thorough and has excellent negotiating skills. She is extremely capable and she has gotten me excellent results! I truly saw her do things and maneuver her position through the court system as I never thought a lawyer could do. Google her and after 31 pages her name finally tapers off...now that's telling something about her reputation...
    Besides the Child Custody matter she also handled my Divorce...although only one choice was able to be picked from the task bar in the review.

  9. Best lawyer EVER!

    Posted by Aaron, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine more than 3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Elain is amazing. I had three lawyer before her and all of them were the same. Yup, they take your money and then delay to get pay. Elaine is completely different. She accomplished for me in three weeks what my other lawyers couldn't do in three years. She informs, she works, she calls, she's the best! Call her!

  10. NOT GOOD

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Elaine Smith.
    • I hired Elaine more than 3 years ago.
    • Elaine handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    She did not remember the details of my case and did not represent me in court well at all.

215-545-2880