Stephen Joseph Cipolla’s Reviews

Stephen Joseph Cipolla

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Executive Director, Global Security

    Posted by Ted, a Health Care client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Health Care matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Woked with Stephen Cipolla for years at Merck. Stephen was always timely, ethical, competent and engaged. I'd strongly recommend him.

  2. Recommendation for Steve Cipolla

    Posted by DAVID, a Partnership client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Partnership matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I worked professionally with Steve for about a decade as the leader of a complex and difficult commercial and research joint venture, as my legal partner. he was excellent in providing timely and relevant support for all our issues requiring legal assessment and resolution. I recommend his work highly.

  3. Support for Merck/Schering-Plough Pharmaceuticals

    Posted by Paul,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.

    I worked very closely with Steve when he was (among other things) the attorney for the Merck/Schering-Plough joint venture. He is an outstanding attorney who not only understood the legal issues around a large and complex joint venture but also the strategic and business issues a new venture faces. A new venture starts from scratch, and Steve was a wonderful guide through all the issues we faced including: interpreting the contract, dealing with our parents/partners, Tax/Partnership structure, and most importantly how to run our business effectively, ethically and for the long term.

  4. One of the best attorneys I've ever worked with

    Posted by Patrick, a Antitrust client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Antitrust / Trade Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve was my in-house counsel at Merck and provided legal counsel on a range of matters, including antitrust, pricing and antikickback issues. He also defended me and the Company in a major lawsuit regarding pharmaceutical pricing. In all these undertakings, Steve was consistently highly able, very well informed, thoughtful and approrpiately aggressive in his decision making and advocacy. He very much understands the business issues at play, and is one of the most business savvy lawyers I've dealt with. He is also highly collaborative and cordial, and a pleasure to deal with.

  5. Highly recommend Steve Cipolla

    Posted by Jerry Wisler, a Antitrust client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Antitrust / Trade Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve is a great guy to work with. He is very knowledgeable, but also provides practical advice and seeks solutions to issues / problems.

  6. Recommendation

    Posted by Wendy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I knew Stephen when he was a lawyer at Merck. I worked with him frequently on projects and always found him to be very responsive, reliable, forthright and knowledgable. Rather than always tell you what you can't do, Stephen would always provide an alternative or suggestions on how to accomplish your objectives in a different way. He was also a good person to know and fun to work with.

  7. Steve Cipolla

    Posted by Jonathan, a Commercial client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Commercial matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I had the privilege to work with Steve for many years while I worked in the managed care division at a Fortune 500 Pharmaceutical Company. Steve has an excellent understanding of the law as well as a firm grasp of the strategic implications for the business. Steve's business acumen and broad skill sets make him an asset to any client.

  8. Stephen Cipolla- Consumate Professional

    Posted by Tony, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I worked directly with Steve on several important issues impacting the pharmaceutical industry. These issues involved complex pricing, Government regulatory and in-house corporate matters where Steve provided valuable decision support. Steve is a pleasure to work with , is very responsive and he always does the homework and research needed for a positive outcome.

  9. Steve Cippolla: An Outstanding Attorney who partners with clients

    Posted by Durga, a Antitrust client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Antitrust / Trade Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I worked with Steve from 1996 to 2010, while at Merck. We worked on a range of projects from pricing to anti-trust to BD deals. In every setting and on every case, Steve was well-prepared, highly motivated and provided an outstanding level of legal support. I would work with Steve without hesitation.

  10. Legal advice on a corporate contract

    Posted by Mario, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Cipolla.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steve helped me review and negotiate a coaching contract with a large company – a veritable David and Goliath situation. His insight and humor made him a pleasure to work with. His explanations and perspective were indispensible in deciding what to pursue and were spot-on in getting equitable contract terms.