Mildred B. Sweeney’s Reviews

Mildred B. Sweeney

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Simply the best!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred 1-3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Child Custody matter.

    We turned to Mildred to help with a very complex custody matter in Allegheny County. She was not the least expensive attorney we contacted but the most passionate about our case. She was able to help us work a miracle and gain custody in what we thought was a hopeless situation. Thank you Mrs. Sweeney.

  2. Look elsewhere

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred 1-3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Front office staff frequently messed up appointments, sent document out with incorrect information including case numbers. Many times had to wait over a week to get a response to email or call back and when she was running late never got any update or courtesy call. She is knowledgeable however not responsive or proactive in handling a case. Frequently when going in for meetings she was unprepared.

  3. Very Bad Attorney. Very $$$ NO RESULTS

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred more than 3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    She is overpriced and needs to catch up on new and current laws. Half the time she doesn't know why we are at court. She has cost us thousands of dollars and all we got in return was bad advice. You if you hire her, most likely you will pay a ton of money, and only talk her intern Dan. Fyi. If you have Judge Bubash for an upcoming case and Mildrid as your attorney. .... RUN

  4. Review of Sweeney Law Offices

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred 1-3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mrs Sweeney has been very knowledgeable in helping with our case. She seems to have had a great deal of experience in family law.

  5. Excellent Attorney for Fathers

    Posted by Adam Clark Donnelly, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred more than 3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Attorney Sweeney approximately 3 years ago and have retained her as my attorney throughout these past 3 years. In 2010 I became a father for the first time to a woman I had a brief relationship with, I was not married. I wanted to be an equal parent in my son’s life and his mother took that right from me before he was even born. It was an uphill battle and it still is but Attorney Sweeney has carried me every step of the way through this extensive legal journey. She is a very honest and compassionate attorney that has the childs best interest in mind. Attorney Sweeney has extensive knowledge and experience. She is well educated and informative of the law and has a natural drive to fight for her client’s rights as well as putting the well-being of my son first. Attorney Sweeney knows the importance of a father in a child’s life and knows a father is an equal parent just like a mother. Attorney Sweeney will continue to represent me until I am an equal parent in my son’s life.

  6. Execellent Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Erin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred more than 3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I researched and consulted with a handful of local attorneys before I made my decision to hire Mimi Sweeney and her law firm to handle my divorce case. This decision on my part proved to be one of the bright spots in what has been a very dark time in my life. Mimi and her staff make you feel like you really matter to them. Everyone is very kind, yet professional. They keep you up to date as to the status of your case, they are easlily accessible when you have questions or experience issues with the opposing party. In court Mimi has always been extremely preparred and has won every single time that we had to go to court. It seems that she is always 1 step ahead of opposing counsel and this shows in the results the of the courts rulings in my favor to this point. I would suggest taking a moment to visit this law firm's website to see all of the services that they have to offer, as this was one of the things that lead me to identifying them as a potential candidate to handle a matter that is not pleasant for anyone involved. To summarize I must say that having Mimi Sweeney and her firm in your corner in a matter like divorce makes you feel protected and offers hope for the future.

  7. Epitome of a hard-working, knowledgeable, and skillful attorney

    Posted by Sally, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred more than 3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Sweeney is the epitome of a hard-working, knowledgeable, and skillful attorney.

    Her high level of professionalism is reflective in the outstanding rapport she has established over the years with the court administrators, judges, and domestic relations personnel.

    While representing me, Attorney Sweeney displayed extraordinary diligence and perseverance throughout the many facets of my case. Her meticulous approach to all the issues was exceptional. Although Attorney Sweeney's conduct was always professional, she displayed compassion for my circumstances. She cared about me and the welfare of my children.

    Her ability to competently prepare my case was revealed in her perseverance in expending many hours of work in research and writing to ensure a quality product. She displayed excellent public speaking skills while litigating my numerous courtroom proceedings. I feel confident that the positive outcome obtained in my proceedings was the result of her knowledge, skill, and experience.

    Her integrity is beyond reproach. I have the utmost respect for her and can say with assurance that anyone who needs her services would be fortunate to have her represent them.

    I am grateful she was there for me.

  8. A Caring and Aggressive Advocate

    Posted by Andrew, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred 1-3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mildred helped me through a very difficult child custody situation where my ex-wife was being very unreasonable and I had inadvertently given her tremendous power when originally divorced in another state. We worked through the process of correcting this mistake over the next 4 years. Thanks to her my ex understands that our son is OUR son - not just her's. I now have a very strong relationship with my son. This would not have happened without her determination, support and knowledge of the law.

  9. Great Family Lawyer

    Posted by Nate, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred 1-3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mildred assisted me last year with getting more time with my 2 children as a father with limited income this can be very difficult. She was thorough in explaining to me what I needed to do and what she was going to do. She is by far one of the best Family Lawyers I have worked with, I did get more time with my children and alot of other issues worked out that with my previous Lawyer were over looked while he was getting even more $$. I appreciate all of Mildred's time and paitence as it was not an easy case as well as her staff they were always in contact via phone email or regular mail. I am grateful I had her on my side.

  10. Someone I would highly recommend

    Posted by Avonda, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mildred Sweeney.
    • I hired Mildred more than 3 years ago.
    • Mildred handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mildred B. Sweeney is a wonderful Attorney and I would recommend her. She is handling my Divorce for me and I couldn't be happier. She is fair and doesn't waste your time and money. I was not happy with my first Attorney and after I let him go she stepped in and I felt like she understood and cared how I felt. I know that when she goes to Court for me she is going to do her best for me.

724-390-4464