Michael Ian Werner’s Reviews

Michael Ian Werner

Average Rating

Based on 113 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Property Assessment Legal Services

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Michael is an excellent attorney with a specific expertise in property assessment law. He is knowledgeable about the process in general and experienced with the various details of property assessment law. He successfully and efficiently assisted us to resolve our case.

  2. Absolutely hire Michael Werner!

    Posted by Sue, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted several attorneys to represent me when I received notice the local school district had filed an Assessment Appeal on my property. Three attorneys refused to take the case, telling me they couldn't win, and two attorneys never returned my calls. I represented myself at the initial hearing where I presented relevant information along with several tables disputing the suggested property value increase. Three months later I received notice I had lost and consequently my fixed rate mortgage increased $300.00 per month, due to the escrow portion of the payment. A neighbor used Mr. Werner for his property tax issue and was pleased with the outcome. I called Mr. Werner and found him to be knowlegable and professional. He agreed to take my case and negotiated a property value I am very pleased with. I wish I had received his name prior to my initial hearing. I am very grateful to Mr. Werner and thrilled with the outcome. Seriously, three attorneys turned me down because they didn't believe they could win the case---but Mr. Werner did win the case! That says a lot.

  3. Handled School District's property assessment appeal for us

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We hired Michael to represent us at the school-district-initiated appeal of our property assessment. He was able to keep the damage much lower than we could have on our own; the SD was prepared to argue that our property is worth significantly more than we'd recently purchased it for. Michael capped the damages at a reassessment value equal to purchase price. Then, in a board of viewers appeal, managed to get it further reduced by another 12%. Our assessment value is still much higher than our neighbors with similar homes, but that is a flaw in Allegheny County's property assessments system that punishes anyone that moves. I'd hire Michael again if I were to face another SD-initiated appeal.

  4. Michael Werner, a class act & true professional

    Posted by Michelle, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael Werner lives up to his reputation as a class act and true professional. His skills and expertise are not only outstanding but rare. I would recommend Michael Werner to both my family and friends.

  5. Trust him to represent us in property reassessment cases

    Posted by Chad, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This is second time Mr.Werner helps to represent us in property reassessment cases. The result can not be more pleasure. Great result and very informative

  6. Trustworthy, knowledgable, experienced, and practical

    Posted by Evan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Michael has been my attorney for a number of years. His breadth of knowledge is excellent, yet he knows his limitations. When there is a better resource to assist me, he will share it (not often, but nice to have someone who doesn't claim to be an expert in everything). His practical approach to addressing my needs is cost affective and timely. I would recommend him to anyone.

  7. Would not recommend at all

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.

    I talked with Michael, explained my situation. He would take the case. He sent me an engagement package to retain his services. I filled out the information and mailed the requested $500 check. A couple of months passed. I heard nothing. I spoke with him on an unrelated matter and asked how this case was going. He told me I was on the bottom of the pile since I sent him a copy of a check and not a real check. I assured him that I did send a real check and they cashed it. I copied the cancelled check from the bank showing his company stamp and the name of his bank where deposited. After 3 letters and copies of that cashed check, I still have not heard a word from his office. He stole $500 from me and provided no service what so ever. Extremely poor customer service. I have to say that I have no respect for anyone that would do what he has done. Would NOT even consider doing business with him. To Michael, I gave you more than enough chances and you still weren't man enough to even call or anything so you get the bad review.

  8. Property assessment appeal

    Posted by Tom, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Appeals matter.

    At the initial meeting with attorney Michael Werner he laid out his plan for a successful assessment appeal. He followed the plan as intended and kept us informed. His plan worked and our appeal was successful. The process took longer than we had hoped but we were satisfied.

  9. Highly recommended!

    Posted by Tatum & Andrew, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Michael has been and still is a huge help setting up our personal paperwork for our future including wills, power of attorney, and medical forms! He continues to help with future planning for our child! He is a very patient, trustworthy, and kind man who makes sure you understand what you are signing and is exactly what you want in your documents. We highly recommend him to anyone!

  10. Professional and Helpful

    Posted by Tom, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Werner.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.

    Michael did a fine job representing me in a property matter. Michael worked with me to achieve my desired results. I would definitely use him again!